We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonia Suite

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colonia Suite
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights in late November and were absolutely thrilled with this relaxed but perfectly appointed b&b. Centrally located near all the restaurants and attractions of the old city but off the main drag and very quiet at night. The Argentinian owner and his partner are friendly and helpful without being intrusive. Breakfast was simple and wonderful- served out in the garden if the sun is shining. The rooms were huge and comfortable, with the plushest towels I experienced in our three weeks in Uruguay, two couches and a super snuggly bed. Very much wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CerezaYo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    68
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
74
261
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We recently rented two of the three suites in this B&B during a four day family holiday over New Year's. All of us were extremely pleased with our accommodations: both rooms were spacious and included sitting areas, a small sink and frig. The rooms were quiet and comfortable and well appointed. There is also a pretty communal area for reading or conversation. Fred was an especially patient, helpful and charming host and his lovely B&B made our terrific stay in Colonia all the better. We enjoyed breakfast in a walled garden in the morning and often returned there later in the day to read and enjoy a glass of wine. Not to be missed if you are spending any time in this charming town!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2012

From the greeting we got from Fred when we walked in, to the beautiful room we stayed in, to the great breakfast in the morning, they really know how to do it at Colonia Suite.

Its a quick walk from the port, another few blocks to old town, and very peaceful.

Room Tip: Large room, upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicF964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and loved it. Fred and Jackie were very welcoming and friendly and made every effort to make sure we enjoyed our stay. Our room was spacious and well appointed and the breakfasts were amazing! Our two children (4 and 5 years of age) were well looked after too, even though they were not the quietest of guests! I would definitely recommend staying here when you are in Colonia.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank KateG100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Very stylish, great breakfast in the garden, very good location, very friendly staff. We had great weather but my only fear would be it could get cold in the room on cold nights as the place isn't the most airtight. Overall very good place

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Absolutely loved Colonia Suite. The owner, Fred, was a fantastic host and the property is beatiful.

The room was huge and well appointed, even had a little kitchenette area. Breakfast was great with croissants, jams, and of course all of the fixings for a chivita.

Fred was extremely helpful, he even offered to give us some money as we were having trouble with some of the ATM machines in town! (we ended up getting some though).

I would definitely return, but would stay longer next time!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VilniusSchoolmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

Some weeks ago I went to Colonia with my girlfriend in order to fly away from Buenos Aires and relax some days. We spent are ally awesome time (not literally; it basically rained the three days we stayed there!) and mainly thanks to Fred and Jackie. Since the very first moment we entered into this lovely hotel, we felt as we were at home. Excellent hospitality + incredible decoration + oustanding breakfast + good location (just 5 minutes away from the old town) is the perfect combination!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomasGRuegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
0.4 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonia Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Suite

Property: Colonia Suite
Address: Gral Lavalleja 169, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonia Suite 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Suite is situated on the Colonia center, between the ferry terminal and the historic quarter. The building is an old renovated house from 1900. It has 3 suites and 1 bungalow suite, a garden and a big living room. Equipement: 1 doble bed ,1 lit de repos, cafetera electrica, small refrigerador , dishes, air conditioning, towels, hairdryer, sheets, TV, We offer an excelent breakfast and a brunch service until 7 pm. There are lots of art works, and a art library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Colonia Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Suite Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing