We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic and charming oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonia Suite Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rustic and charming oasis”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent a lovely night at the Colonia Suite B&B. Fred the owner greeted us personally and was attentive and happy to give suggestions. The garden at the back and the bungalow room are particularly charming and for anyone who is interested in interesting decor and design, Fred has really put together an eclectic and pleasing experience. Breakfast is OK but nothing special.

Room Tip: We liked the bungalow room as it leads straight on to a charming interior garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teti68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    70
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
75
268
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Echoing previous comments - colonia suites are the perfect blend between private apartment and bed and breakfast. Great location in sleepy colonia. Absolutely gorgeous, individually styled apartments in the home of an owner who clearly loves art, is an artist, and has boutique taste.

Not much more to add really - if you want a peaceful, gorgeous apartment in a great house with attention to detail go at once. We could have stayed longer and in the summer it must be sublime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Titch79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This bed and breakfast combines everything a traveler would want. Fred (owner) is fantastic in making sure you are comfortable and you have what you need. Location is perfect to see all the major attractions in Colonia. We would recommend renting one of the golf carts or scooters to tour the city. We stayed in the upstairs room that was spacious and looks out over a quiet street. The breakfast the next morning was absolutely fantastic and the best we had on our entire trip. Sitting in the courtyard enjoying breakfast is so relaxing.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLbrickey78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had planned on staying three nights but ended up with four. Did not want to leave Colonia, and did not want to leave the Colonia Suite. The rooms all have a very different character, reflecting the diversity of the owner, the very accommodating, extremely knowledgeable and very pleasant Mr. Fred. A great breakfast is served every morning either in the lovely court yard or in the kitchen which oozes character.
As for location: It is perfect. A five minute stroll to Historic Colonia, and blocks away from the locals hangouts like the El Porton Restaurant and others which serve excellent food for better prices than the popular Old Town restaurants. Fred's recommendations for Restaurants is spot on, as is his suggestion for a Tour and tasting at Uruguay's oldest Winery.
Both Senor Fred and the Colonia Suites make one feel like Family once you have stayed a night, wishing you were staying for a month.

Room Tip: All Rooms have great décor, comfortable beds and lots of Mr. Fred's personal Art and personality...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Just stayed two nights in this unexpectedly wonderful, welcoming B&B. Our host Fred attended to whatever we needed. We stayed upstairs in a spacious room with sitting area and kitchenette. The walls are filled with Fred's art and that of others. Browse through his collection of art and travel books and choose from a selection of movies. It's a half block from the main street and a park yet quite tranquil. What a treat!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Just stayed the one night but could go back and spend a whole week there - hope on day we will. Lovely accommodation full of character in a super town. Fred was very hospitable. Breakfast in the garden was a treat. Thoroughly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta del Este, Uruguay
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Fred is a very pleasant host and breakfast in the garden is a highlight. The location is very good as it's easy to park and only 5 minutes walk from the historic district. The living rooms are cool and decorated in a very comfortable bohemian style which makes one feel very much at home. Our room in the garden had the benefit of a small kitchen area and was pleasant for a couple of nights stay. Fred provides good advice on where to go and is also good company. A very good B & B from which to see Colonia.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirt1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,036 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,053 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
299 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
655 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonia Suite Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonia Suite Apartments

Property: Colonia Suite Apartments
Address: Gral Lavalleja 169, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Colonia Suite Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonia Suite is situated on the Colonia center, between the ferry terminal and the historic quarter. The building is an old renovated house from 1900. It has 3 suites and 1 bungalow suite, a garden and a big living room. Equipement: 1 doble bed ,1 lit de repos, cafetera electrica, small refrigerador , dishes, air conditioning, towels, hairdryer, sheets, TV, We offer an excelent breakfast and a brunch service until 7 pm. There are lots of art works, and a art library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Colonia Suite Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colonia Suite Apartments Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing