We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy for the ferry to BA”
Review of Hotel ROMI

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel ROMI
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Its adequate for the price, some rooms are better than others. Breakfast is a bit meager, but you can't expect much more for the price. . Its also very handy for the bus terminus. The breakfast consists of tea or coffee, small Uruguayan croissants with butter and jam. Not a great start to the day

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Davy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Hotel ROMI
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

It is true, it isn't a very original place, but it's clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, the location is good, and nowadays the wifi is everywhere, also in the rooms, and it is very fast. It is basically a lot of value for you money. Our room was a bit small, though.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Yoram V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Hotel Romi was a decent place to stay and certainly amongst the cheapest in Colonia when I visited during the January high season. I found that Colonia hotels were quite pricey. I would recommend Hotel Romi as a decent hotel to stay at, but caution you that you get what you pay for .

The hotel location is actually excellent - true it's not in the old city but it is just a 5 min walk from the ferry terminal, which I felt was more useful. I simply got off the Buquebus boat, walked five minutes to the hotel, dumped my bag and then walked the ten minutes to the old city to check it out - saving on taxi fare and I imagine also on the cost of a more expensive hotel in the old city. The walk from Hotel Romi to the old city is quite lovely with nice old buildings and tree-lined streets. There are also decent cafes and restaurants as well as the town hall and other civic buildings on the main road, if you walk that route.

The hotel itself is fine, I think the bits they need to improve are the TV reception (which in my room at least was terrible, pure static quite often) and their floor cleaning methods. There were a few too many long stray black hairs on the floor for my taste. Everything else was perfectly clean and fresh. I'd be interested in knowing if anyone had a similar issue.

I actually found the staff to be quite nice and helpful, I think they are a serious family and perhaps that could be misinterpreted as being rude - but that really wasn't the case for me.

So I think it is a decent hotel to rest your head for a reasonable price in a great location. Nothing to rave about, but no major negatives.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

The room we stayed (4 beds) didn't have any windows for the outside, but had air conditioner and private bethroom. In Colônia air conditioner is VERY important.
A lot of stairs in the way to the room, not good if you have a knee problem.
The breakfast is very good, with juice, bread, "dulce de leche", butter, crackers and coffee.
Helpful staff.
I recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cássia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Very well located in the hearth of Colonia. The Hotel is clean, with friendly staff and good breakfast. The room was nice, good bed but terrible shower. that was the worst shower in hotels and the reason of the only °average° rating.

Room Tip: Ask for a a good shower.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with an intrepid tour. Awaiting for a ferry to catch to Buenos Aries. You get what you said for. I think there a better hotels out there but okay. WiFi available.............................................................

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rock Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Stayed there one night awaiting Buquebus service to Buenos Aires. Selected their bargain room and it was indeed small, but that's not a surprise. Room was entirely satisfactory. Wi-fi available in the lobby. Next door to a nice restaurant in Colonia del Sacramento. Front desk staff courteous.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert-from-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beltran
Hotel Beltran
#26 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada del Rio
Posada del Rio
#27 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#20 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
416 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel ROMI? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel ROMI

Address: Rivera 236, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £38 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel ROMI 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located very close to the municipal court of Colonia, at 1150 feet of the port and at only 6 blocks from the "Barrio Historico" and many touristic places you might find amusing. It's our honor above all to offer you the quietness, welfare and wormth towards our customers. All of our rooms come with many ammenities such as a private room, air conditioner, tv cable, WiFi and a continental breakfast. The location of our hotel makes it easy for you to enjoy the city walks throught each and every corner, so you can find yourself welcome in the old and memorable streets and also enjoy our lovely avenue with its long walking path next to the Rio de la plata. Since we are in the center of the city, you can find the bus terminal, restaurants and other entertainments. Find at the distance of your feet the local craftmanship made by Uruguayan hands and paints of the city and it sorroundings. A large hotel, warm and welcomes you with our many choices of rooms and ammenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel ROMI reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel ROMI Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing