We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B and B”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rivera

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Rivera
Certificate of Excellence
Steinbach, Canada
Level Contributor
290 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Lovely B and B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Quick walking distance from the seaport, which is very convenient to drop off your luggage after arriving. No need to take a cab, less than 5 minute walk. Given that Colonia is so small it's also a reasonable walk to the old city. Nice facilities, quaint, clean, friendly service. A recommended place in Colonia.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank northropfrye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    132
    54
    7
    1
See reviews for
105
132
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
133 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel is a small, boutique and picturesque place with a warm environment. Staff was very friendly, kind and helpful. We arrived from Buenos Aires by Buquebus and that day was raining. We walked just 5 minutes and we were already at the hotel. Was great! Excellent location!

Excelente lugar en relación precio-calidad. Vale la pena y además es un lugar amigable, limpio, con un staff muy amable.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margarita Island, Venezuela
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I didn't plan to sleep in Colonia but when I got there I said "is impossible came to this city just for 2 or 3 hour" easy and close to the ferrys I get this small and comfortable hotel! It's really nice, the relations between price an quality is good!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank JosePonte2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chongqing, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

good and quiet place,convenient for transport.
Boss is very kind man.
Wifi signal is weak in the second floor room.
two persons stay triangle room,they charge same with three persons.Actually tringle room is same with standard room.Because triangle room is one big bed and one small bed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dennis2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

My boyfriend and I just returned from a weekend in Hotel Rivera, happy to have stayed there and already thinking of returning.

It's a little hotel with a bed and breakfast feeling. No luxury, but nicely decorated, with a homey feeling and, moreover, their own bakery in the front!

We arrived Friday night and were greeted by the receptionist, who checked us in and took us to our room. After reading online advice, we chose a room in the 1st floor in the back, so we needed to cross a little colonial patio and climb stairs to reach the upper open corridor where our room and 2 more were located.

The room was not big, but enough for the two of us. Quite nicely decorated, with a comfy bed, a welcoming moquette and a clean bathroom. The hotel did a nice job renovating in recent years it seems; which is great as compared to many old and run down little hotels in Colonia in a similar price range. You leave your key in the reception when you go out, and there is 24hr reception available.

Breakfast was simple but very good, with homemade bread and 'bizcochos' (pastries) from their own bakery, some butter, jam, coffee, milk and juice. It is not a buffet, but they very nicely service your table, and always offer you if you want more coffee, bread, etc. We enjoyed sitting for breakfast in the patio in the back, between the shade of the umbrella and the morning sun. We didn't use room service, but costs seemed very convenient.

The day we left, they let us keep our bags in the reception. Very handy, as the hotel is just some 100-150 meters from the bus station and the ferry harbor; making it ideal for those travelling by those means of transport. Moreover, taking the Lobo street, the hotel is just 4 blocks from the historical center. A great place to be!

Oh, for going farther around Colonia, to the beaches or Real de San Carlos, you have an inexpensive motorcycle rental a couple of houses up the same street. Not one of the famous car rental places, one just for motorcycles at good rates.

Only 2 details to bear in mind (but nothing too bad, nor would it prevent us from returning):

1. the walls are very thin, so it can be noisy if your neighbors are. Luckily this didn't happen to us. Nevertheless in the morning we were a bit bothered by the conversations of those having an early breakfast in the patio. This is the only reason why we rated the rest quality as normal. Beds are great, light is not a problem, noise can be around breakfast time... but that's the case in most houses with a Colonial patio when this is used by guests.

2. breakfast until 10.30 am and check out 10.30am, even when normal for many Colonia hotels, is still not great for those who are not early birds. The first morning we got up for breakfast and went back to the room for a nap right after :-) the 2nd morning we had to check out, so no way to nap after. Still we napped on the bus back to Montevideo in the evening. There is a late check out available, but only if you want to spend half a day more there, paying 50% of the fare. No option for a noon check out n brunch, which would have been perfect :-) Maybe they can add this option in the future?

Great hotel, will be back!

Room Tip: We followed other advice here and in booking.com and asked for a room upstairs and in the back (ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifervf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

nothing good about the place except proximity to ferry location: small rooms, mouldy AC units, no windows in bathrooms, flaky wifi, terrible breakfast, cash only payments accepted despite Visa/MC logos displayed. Avoid unless you really need to be close to the port.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KlausMaus139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

We stayed there several times as it is close to the bus station, the buquebus and the old part of the lovely town. The staff is helpful and very friendly, one of the reasons why we booked this place again. The rooms are very clean and have private bathroom, TV, air condition, wifi (which really works!). I can really recommend this place, that's why I will stay there again myself next week.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Johannes S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
1.2 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rivera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rivera

Property: Hotel Rivera
Address: Calle Rivera 131 | Calle Rivera 131, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rivera 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rivera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rivera Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing