We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food subpar and bad service”
Review of Mercosur

Mercosur
Price range: US$4 - US$20
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food subpar and bad service”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The restaurant said that they take credit cards, reason my friends and I ate there. When it came time to pay the bill they only would take cash. The woman who said they take credit cards, conveniently disappeared. The food was subpar and the service was slow. WHen requesting to talk to the manager they were not of any help.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,793 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    642
    480
    179
    186
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I don't recommend”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I don't recommend this place!
The food was ok, but isn't worth the money you pay. And they have some illogical policy about card payment....
Really made us feel like stupid tourists....

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
restaurantemercosur, Gerente at Mercosur, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Google Translation
Hola Elo 001 lamento mucho que tu experiencia en nuestro local no haya sido positiva, sin embargo cabe destacar que todas las políticas de la empresas sobre las distintas formas de pago están debidamente informadas en las puertas de acceso y menús del local permitiendo esto que quienes nos eligen puedan elegir la opción mas cómoda para ellos dentro de la variedad que brindamos.
Muchas gracias por tu visita y esperamos puedas volver.
Saludos,
restaurante Mercosur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't believe them if they tell you they take Visa”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A word to the wise: do not eat here if you don't have cash. The hostess told us they took Visa, then when our bill came, they refused our cards.
I got stuck paying for another tourist, who joined us, because he didn't have cash. I barely had enough of their money, which meant I had none left for souvenirs.
Literally, after we told them we wanted to talk to the manager - or the hostess who said we could use a Visa - the server started to ignore us and would walk quickly by our table, not making eye contact.
I was furious and would have just walked away, had I not been worried about being arrested in a foreign country.
Not only that, but the food is just mediocre.
With no money left to shop with, my friend and I caught the ferry back to Buenos Aires 4 hours early. Thanks to this restaurant, we have a very bad taste in our mouth for Colonia Del Sacramento.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE WORST EATING OUT EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Everything at "Mercosur" is below average. Badly prepared food, shoddy service, filthy bathrooms.The Price? Whatever you are asked to pay is too much.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 666Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Decent food, decent prices”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We ate here several times during our stay in Colonia, because it was perfectly fine, although nothing spectacular.

The food is decent, the prices are fair, the service is pretty quick and friendly. The pizza is good, chips are good, and we tried the platter for two. The house wine is also perfectly palatable.

I would recommend this as a 'need something reliable, quickly', but if you're after something special there are plenty of other options.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RawlingStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mercosur also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Mercosur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing