We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Galope Farm & Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Wonderful owners and great antidote to the "work" of being on the road. We had fun visiting the goat farm, riding horses and using the hammocks. We were there during the winter, and with colder facilities and less time to spend outside I'd have to recommend it more for the other three seasons. Breakfast was beautifully set although just bread and butter. We recommend the bike riding!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChangesInAttitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi
Thank you for coment . It was really nice having you here too. The weather now is much nicer and days are longer. We normally have honey and marmalade coffee, tea, milk as well as juice for breakfast appart form bread and butter. Cultures are different and so are breakfasts in different countries. Sorry about the delayed answer
Cheers
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
92
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsey, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

What a fantastic place to stay! During our 10 day trip to BA, we knew we wanted to visit the countryside for a couple of nights. After reading a little about El Galope we booked two nights, which ended up being the highlight of our entire trip. We wish we could have stayed longer. Monica and Miguel were perfect hosts--very warm and attentive and offered lots of information about the local area. The food served at the hostel is hearty and satisfying and the local wine available is also very good. The rooms and common areas are very clean and comfortable with lots of places to sit/lounge outdoors while sipping wine and enjoying the beautiful views. We rode bikes to the goat farm nearby for a short tour and cheese tasting and we ended up buying a small block to take back to enjoy with our wine. Horseback riding wasn't available on site during our stay (due to owner's hand injury), but Miguel arranged a trail ride with a nearby ranch and we still had a great time riding. (We were still able to feed and interact with the horses on site at El Galope.) Overall, we had a great time and would highly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi
Thank you for coment and rating. It was really nice having you here too. Miguel's hand is finally fully recovered and horserides at the farm are possible. Sorry about the delayed answer
Cheers
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights at El Galope and had a fantastic experience. The place is just beautiful and Miguel and Monica are great hosts and very welcoming. I have never rode a horse before and Miguel made me feel like a German gaucho after just one lesson:-) Also, if you don't like horse riding it's a great place to hang out and relax!
We highly recommend El Galope!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jens P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for coment and rating. It was really nice having you here too. Sorry about the delayed answer
Cheers
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I enjoyed a very peaceful, relaxing two days at El Galope. It's a beautiful, intimate farm in the idyllic Uruguayan countryside and a great place to escape to in the summer and winter (thanks to big log fires and a sauna). The owners Monica and Miguel are extremely friendly and hospitable, the rooms clean and cozy and the home-cooked food is delicious, not to mention the organic locally produced red wine. I'd also recommend having a horse riding lesson with Miguel while you're there!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SL16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Sorry about the delayed answer. Thank you for coment and rating. It was really nice having you here too. Now, days are longer and warmer. The nights are veautifula and the countryside is full of bright fireflies. Hope that you can come againd sometime.
Cheers
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We had an amazing weekend stay at El Galope. The hostel is homely, clean and beautifully decorated. For a winter stay there is a cosy fire, a sauna and the rooms are heated at night. Monica and Miguel are lovely, friendly people and went the extra mile to make us feel welcome. We had a beginner riding lesson with Miguel which as very enjoyable - he's a patient teacher who paced the lesson well to our needs and confidence level. The common room is a great place to relax by the fire, drink a glass of wine, chat to other guests or just read a book. The meals and wine are delicious. Don't hesitate, just stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LK12113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for coment and rating. It was really nice having you here too. Sorry about the delayed answer
Cheers
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

First when we arrived, we thought it is really quiet, we might read a lot here. However, we hardly managed to read at all. Just talking to your co-travellers, having long breakfasts and cheese fondue dinners, horse riding adventures, playing with the dogs & cats, made time go by much faster than you think. Monica and Miguel are the most wonderful hosts you can imagine, they are really interested in their guests and are great ambassodors for Uruguay. You start to love the country when you leave.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank poepinnaZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for coment and rating. It was really nice having you here too. We really love what we do and our contry. Thanks for coming! Sorry about the delayed answer
Cheers
Monica and Miguel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

If you want to hang out in the countryside for a while with no distractions and nothing to bother you, this place is perfect.
Monica and Miguel strike the perfect balance between being very friendly and giving guests their privacy. The food was delicious. The rooms are clean and pleasant.
The countryside is filled with colorful birds. I went on a long walk, which was one of the highlights of my time in the Rio de la Plata area. Local people very friendly.
Oh... and the horses are nice (though I chose not to ride myself).
Great place to unwind if you're getting tired of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stazzas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel Z, Manager at El Galope Farm & Hostel, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you for your review. and rating! Hope to see you again sometime. It is colder now but it is very nice by the fire place and in the sauna!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
39.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
663 reviews
38.7 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,088 reviews
39.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.2 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#11 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
365 reviews
39.2 mi away
Hostel & Suites de Rio
Hostel & Suites de Rio
#5 of 32 in Colonia del Sacramento
228 reviews
39.2 mi away
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suit...
#1 of 32 in Colonia del Sacramento
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Galope Farm & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Galope Farm & Hostel

Property: El Galope Farm & Hostel
Address: Camino Concordia, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hostel Horse Farm with green fields and relaxation Get away from it all. A RESTFUL STOPOVER. Small Hostel Farm Located in Colonia. Green fields, peace, tranquility,horses, bikes, books, and good wine. Ecological sun water heaters. In winter fondue, fireplace and sauna. We speak German, French, English and Spanish. Traveling is in our souls! We know how important it is to have a rest in your trip. Monica and Miguel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your El Galope Farm & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Galope Farm & Hostel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing