We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, good vibes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sur Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sur Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place, good vibes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

We really liked our room with a double balcony. Hired bikes and went on a wine tour. Loves the organised BBQ, best of the trip and lots of food.

Had to ask for clean sheets as the first set wasn't. Nice breakfast. Computer access. Very friendly and helpful staff especially Bernado!

Not enough bathrooms and shower heads are often broken.

Although expensive would reccomend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marthamay222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    66
    28
    14
    6
See reviews for
11
71
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Have to agree with many other reviewers here. VERY overpriced and extremely poor value for money!!! For $60 a night we had a tatty room, shared jaded bathroom and the breakfast was a joke as already stated. We were given our threadbare sheets and pillow cases and had to even make our own bed!! No towels were provided. However there are not too many options in Colonia as all hotels and hostels seem vastly overpriced. We have found the whole of Uruguay expensive.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alinannabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
326 reviews
214 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed one night for US60 which is pricey but reflective of Colonia. This was reduced to US50 on solo basis without prompting on checking in. Private basic room with shared bathroom. Bathroom a little dated and shower hose pretty short not allowing you to put it above your head. Needed to hire a towel for $2. Wifi worked fine in lobby but not in room. Service was first class (even offering to print out boat ticket) large kitchen for use and general lobby area. Put on a BBQ the night I was there which looked impressive but can imagine it may have been a little noisy if you were not involved. Short walk to bus station and main street.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2013

OK - this is a hostel and not a hotel - but for the price, it is pretty awful value. The bedroom was plain and small and the floor hadn't been swept in a long time, the bed was soft, and the shared bathroom worn and dirty. Every sound from outside penetrated into the (ground floor) room. The breakfast was a joke, and althrough the staff were pleasant, you don't sleep with them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2013

We stayed on New Year's Eve. The place was pretty full, so at one point there was a line for the bathroom, but most of the time there were enough that only one or two (of the four shared) were occupied. Bathrooms were kept clean. Six-person dorm we stayed in was huge. Lockers weren't big enough to fit your entire backpack, but were definitely big enough to store anything of real value you brought (same size as you may have had in middle or high school). Had a big party on New Year's Eve with some delicious lamb. Beds were comfortable. Rooms were clean. Wifi only worked in common areas. A bit expensive for a dorm, but we're used to Bolivia prices. It seemed like one of the better deals in town for getting good reviews. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Good location within a couple blocks of the main plaza.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

The staff was great - very welcoming and helpful. They seem like they like their jobs and make conversation with the clients.
The hostel is wonderfully clean!!!! After traveling around South America for months and staying at different hostels you come to really appreciate a clean shower and bathroom! I think the ones on the first floor are the cleanest but still all are clean! :)
They have a big kitchen with great possibilities for cooking and as well as barbecue and rooftop.
It is only 5 min from the old center and 15 min from the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mettefr89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

We had a great stay in Colonia. Sur Hostel was great, but nothing too special. My two friends and I went during the down season so it was very quiet. The prices were listed online and when we went to pay them, it ended up being more than we were told because they failed to tell us that they did not include the conversion rate if were paying in Argentine Pesos. That was a little upsetting. However, besides that nice and helpful staff. Very chill hostel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
1.0 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Viajero Hostel Suites Colonia
El Viajero Hostel Suites Colonia
#2 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sur Hostel

Property: Sur Hostel
Address: Rivadavia 448, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hostel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing