We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average stay, good breakfast for hostel”
Review of Sur Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sur Hostel
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The location is great, just a short walk from the old town. The bed in our private room was average; you need to make your own bed and towels are not provided. We did not like the shades in the room; we were on street level and they are metal rolling shutters on the outside of the street.
Breakfast is great, nice fresh bread (with the standard jam & dulce de leche) but also with fresh fruit - great plus. The kitchen is large, but with one stove. If the hostel is busy, there is not much seating in the living room for dinner - if you have nice weather you can sit on the roof terrace though.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Although the staff were lovely and helpful we were left a little disappointed... We are usually happy to pay slightly more for a nice hostel but found it rather overpriced, although this maybe the going rate in colonia. After a warm welcome we were taken to our private room and given our sheets to make the bed, very lazy of the staff/management system. This was not a major problem but there was no mattress protector and plenty of stains on the matress which is not a good start. Secondly the floor couldn't have been sweeped, let alone mopped for days. It was all a liitle run down and dingy. Bathrooms were worse nevertheless. We actually even avoided taking a shower on our last day. Apart from some tidying in the kitchen and a bathroom rota we didn't notice any other cleaning during our 3 days. Having managed hostels around the world this is something we find a little disturbing given the price. With a little maintenance work in rooms and bathrooms this hostel would be ideal but it you are to charge high prices you have got to meet expectations, and we are not the picky traveller. Overall I wouldn't say don't go but would urge the owners to invest in some refurbishments given the price of rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Engo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our night at Sur Hostel is great: comfortable, clean and modern. We were on a 6 bed dorm.
The staff is really nice too, and wifi is fast (which is rare in Colonia). During my stay in Colonia we slept in 3 different hostels, and this was the best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheMetalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

Stayed here on the 9th and 10th March, super friendly and helpful staff, rooms were really clean and good bathrooms and facilities - great to be able to hang your washing outside! Breakfast also good whilst basic the addition of fresh fruit was huge plus. Def stay there again if I was in Colonia.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBlack_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

We really liked our room with a double balcony. Hired bikes and went on a wine tour. Loves the organised BBQ, best of the trip and lots of food.

Had to ask for clean sheets as the first set wasn't. Nice breakfast. Computer access. Very friendly and helpful staff especially Bernado!

Not enough bathrooms and shower heads are often broken.

Although expensive would reccomend.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marthamay222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Have to agree with many other reviewers here. VERY overpriced and extremely poor value for money!!! For $60 a night we had a tatty room, shared jaded bathroom and the breakfast was a joke as already stated. We were given our threadbare sheets and pillow cases and had to even make our own bed!! No towels were provided. However there are not too many options in Colonia as all hotels and hostels seem vastly overpriced. We have found the whole of Uruguay expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinannabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed one night for US60 which is pricey but reflective of Colonia. This was reduced to US50 on solo basis without prompting on checking in. Private basic room with shared bathroom. Bathroom a little dated and shower hose pretty short not allowing you to put it above your head. Needed to hire a towel for $2. Wifi worked fine in lobby but not in room. Service was first class (even offering to print out boat ticket) large kitchen for use and general lobby area. Put on a BBQ the night I was there which looked impressive but can imagine it may have been a little noisy if you were not involved. Short walk to bus station and main street.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJS1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
934 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,150 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel & Suites de Rio
Hostel & Suites de Rio
#6 of 34 in Colonia del Sacramento
235 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suit...
#1 of 34 in Colonia del Sacramento
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sur Hostel

Address: Rivadavia 448, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £20 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hostel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing