We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A functional and fun place to stay in Colonia.”
Review of Sur Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sur Hostel
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A functional and fun place to stay in Colonia.”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed here for three nights, and overall I have no real complaints about the place. When one considers the price/value, location, etc. it really is not bad at all. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming (honestly that was the best part of my stay here), and went out of their way to make sure that I was comfortable. The place is a converted house, and is actually quite nice, with a terrace, and a courtyard with a parilla. The location is great as well, within easy walking distance of everything in town. The place had a definite party atmosphere (at least while I was there), but I suppose that would depend on the crowd who was staying there at the time. I was there in the off season, and as such the place was half-empty. I could see it being a bit crowded with full occupancy. The only negative thing I’ll say is that the place wasn’t the cleanest. Was it filthy? No. But I wouldn’t call it “immaculate” either. The bathrooms were cleaned daily, but my room’s floor appeared to not have been mopped for a while, and the room had a definite musty “grandma’s house” sort of smell. Be that as it may, I can’t really fault the place. For the price I paid, I have no complaints. It’s definitely not the Ritz Carlton, but I’d stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a private room on the second floor which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyinFoodieGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    68
    31
    14
    6
See reviews for
11
73
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trujillo, Peru
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Colonia is only a small town, but nonetheless, Sur Hostel was very conveniently located, being close to the main shopping strip, and only a short walk to the beach, the old town and the bus/ferry terminal.

The room had heating which made it very comfortable. The twin bunk beds had no safety rail or access ladder, so the top mattresses on the floor made a bed for the adults, and the kids slept on the lower bunks, which did compromise space. Lockers were provided but padlocks were required.

The kitchen was large and equipped for cooking; the breakfast was basic but welcome. The bathrooms were clean, and the showers were hot and strong.

The staff were always friendly and helpful.

An added bonus was the very welcoming log fire in the lounge room making it a great place to socialise and chat with new found friends.

Our brief stay in Colonia was made all the more pleasant by our stay at Sur Hostel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnAEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

A hostel with welcoming staff, a nice open hearth and a big kitchen for guests to use. There is a slooow computer and okay wifi. Hostel was clean, our bed was comfy. Location is good, but Colonia is very small so everything is close to the historic centre here.

You have to put the linnen on the bed yourself, and towels are for hire for 2usd. These things are quite sad for this price. Down stairs one of the toilets had a toilet seat that was too small, which is pretty much very stupid. We were the first to have breakfast and there were 5 (!) pieces of bread in a basket. That's not very much for a hostel. Breakfast came with fruit and free tea / coffee.

All in all not bad but neither it is great value for money.

We paid 720 for a matrimonial room, price on arrival, breakfast included.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jelmer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fortaleza, CE
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Excellent location in Colonia and helpful and welcoming staff at hostel. You can find restaurants, groceries, banks some blocks away and you can rent a bike at hostel or in some places that rent bicycles by the hour. Cycling around Colonia was an amazing experience! It's beautiful riding though the coastline.
The hostel offers a great breakfast and the staff organizes a welcoming and classic "asado uruguayo" (you pay a modest sum and eat your fill). This is a special moment to meet others guests from anywhere in the world. It's worth it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

The location is great, just a short walk from the old town. The bed in our private room was average; you need to make your own bed and towels are not provided. We did not like the shades in the room; we were on street level and they are metal rolling shutters on the outside of the street.
Breakfast is great, nice fresh bread (with the standard jam & dulce de leche) but also with fresh fruit - great plus. The kitchen is large, but with one stove. If the hostel is busy, there is not much seating in the living room for dinner - if you have nice weather you can sit on the roof terrace though.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013 via mobile

Although the staff were lovely and helpful we were left a little disappointed... We are usually happy to pay slightly more for a nice hostel but found it rather overpriced, although this maybe the going rate in colonia. After a warm welcome we were taken to our private room and given our sheets to make the bed, very lazy of the staff/management system. This was not a major problem but there was no mattress protector and plenty of stains on the matress which is not a good start. Secondly the floor couldn't have been sweeped, let alone mopped for days. It was all a liitle run down and dingy. Bathrooms were worse nevertheless. We actually even avoided taking a shower on our last day. Apart from some tidying in the kitchen and a bathroom rota we didn't notice any other cleaning during our 3 days. Having managed hostels around the world this is something we find a little disturbing given the price. With a little maintenance work in rooms and bathrooms this hostel would be ideal but it you are to charge high prices you have got to meet expectations, and we are not the picky traveller. Overall I wouldn't say don't go but would urge the owners to invest in some refurbishments given the price of rooms.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Engo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Our night at Sur Hostel is great: comfortable, clean and modern. We were on a 6 bed dorm.
The staff is really nice too, and wifi is fast (which is rare in Colonia). During my stay in Colonia we slept in 3 different hostels, and this was the best.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMetalTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
913 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
662 reviews
1.0 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada del Angel
Posada del Angel
#11 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel ROMI
Hotel ROMI
#20 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suit...
#1 of 32 in Colonia del Sacramento
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sur Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sur Hostel

Property: Sur Hostel
Address: Rivadavia 448, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sur Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Sur Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sur Hostel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing