We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous View, Great Service, Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday weekend and had the best time. Our room was a riverfront one with a HUGE terrace. I almost felt guilty for having so much space outside. I could have turned cartwheels out there. The decor of the room was sleek, modern and very beachy. Extras like robes, dishes and the special birthday wine bottle surprise were great touches. The hotel itself was so fun to enjoy. An indoor and outdoor pool make sure you get to swim year round.

We had lunch by the pool outside and really enjoyed everything. The food, service and view made us glad that we didn't go in town to eat. I can't emphasize how friendly everybody was that weekend.

Some things to keep in mind:
1. If you need anything from town, be sure to get it before you come to the hotel. You won't want to leave once you get there, and even though you can walk it back, it will take quite a bit of your time away from enjoying the hotel.
2. Bring cash. Even though the restaurant accepts cards, the tip must be in cash.
3. Be there for the sunset. There is a tree that blocks the view from a few terraces (including ours) but it's just as fun to walk across the street and sit with the locals that line up to see it set.
4. Book a spa treatment early. You can do this day of, I believe, but there are no walk-ins. They have very affordable options as well.

Overall, great stay. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsyfooted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments. We are glad to know that both of you enjoyed your stay at Costa Colonia and were able to use most of the services available. We hope to receive you once again! Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is a very well maintained, modern and comfortable hotel with friendly staff. Our airconditioned room was bright and spacious with a road and river side outlook. As overnighters we did not use the handy kitchenette facilities but opted for a quick sandwich snack in the on site restobar. While the staff there were very pleasant and helpful we were perplexed at the high prices charged for very, very pedestrian food.
After further scanning of some local restaurant offerings we observed that food purveyors in general in Colonia del Sacremento have a pretty high opinion of their food and price accordingly.
I beg to differ on that point!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pmariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to know that you had an excellent stay at Costa Colonia. For us it was a pleasure receiveing you. We also appreciate your comments about the restaurant and hope the next time you come to Colonia, you see improvements. Hasta la próxima!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This medium size boutique hotel (shaped very much like a cruise ship at the dock) is a lovely oasis of relaxation that is welcome relief if you are coming from hectic Buenos Aires for some relaxation. Very modern minimalist decor and furnishings with appropriately sized pool (indoor and outdoor). The staff are friendly and helpful and we enjoyed having a jug of "Clarica" (sp?) an Argentinian/Uruguayan type of Sangria served by the bar. This wasn't a menu item from the bar so it was nice to see the staff graciously take the order and have a member rush out to get a certain type of jug to mix it all in. Personal touches like that make a lot of difference to seasoned travelers and we appreciated it all the more in this beautiful little hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river that overlook the pool have the best views. Rent a golf cart to get into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BajanZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay at Costa Colonia. We believe that small details count, and we are glad to hear that you were part of that experience. Hope to receive you again soon. Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Costa Colonia is very beautiful. We booked through Cheap Hotels and got a good price. The room itself was large, had a decent, sort of sideways, river view, but had a musty smell to it. The smell was mitigated by air conditioning somewhat, but not completely. More sensitive noses would've complained, but we didn't bother. The bed was firm, wait, did I say firm? Yes, FIRM. Really, really firm. A pillow top mattress would've been really nice, but was not to be. Everything else about the room was quite nice. The pool is pleasant, with teak lounge chairs. Bar service is excruciatingly slow. The hotel is a nice trek from town, which we enjoyed. It takes 20 minutes or so to get to the walled city on foot. A comfortable and pleasant walk. The hotel staff is quite friendly. Overall, despite some modest criticisms in service and comfort, the hotel is worthwhile.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank cperrera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Dear guest, thank you for you comments. It is very important for us to receive your feedback. We will work on those details you mentioned. We are to know that overall you had a good stay at Costa Colonia. Hope to receive you again! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent one night in this hotel and in spite is very comfortable and modern and that was perfect, the main reason to come back is the incredible view of the sunset over the river from our room private balcony. Overall service is only good and as is a new hotel I guess some details could improve in the future but I definitively will come back for the view.

Room Tip: High floor, river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your comment. We are glad to know you enjoyed the river view, it is in fact one of the most extraordinary things in Costa Colonia. Please let us know in wich way we can improve our service. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at the Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel for 2 nights in December 2012. Our general experience was great! Arrived in the morning and since it was before check-in time our lugagge was taken care of and we were offered to use all facilities, especially the pool.
The room we got was spacious and clean, had a little kitchenette which we didn't use and definitely was good value for money (paid roughly $130 usd).
The view from the hotel pool is very nice, good sunset view from the beach just across the street. The walk to the old town is roughly 1.5 km (25min) which may put some people off but was no problem for us.
Breakfast was nice and according to south american standards (toast, ham, cheese, jam, croissants, pastries, yogurt, etc. No eggs although i saw someone ordering eggs at some point).
We had dinner at the hotel as well, good pizzas and also the picada was great. Value for money of the food is also good.
Would stay here again anytime.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clausen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your kind comments. It is great to know that you had an experience according to your expectations. For us it was a pleasure receiveing you. Do not hesitate to contact us in case you are back in Colonia del Sacramento. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We had a great 3 nights at the Costa Colonia. I can't think of a negative thing to say about this hotel. It is a cool, modern, clean place that would get high marks if it were located anywhere in the world. The price (roughly $150 USD) makes it a good value, too. For some people, the 20 minute walk to the historic district could be a turn-off, but we found the location to be great, with great views of the river, and the walk along the Rambla (into town) relaxing.

Room Tip: Try to ensure a room on a high floor with some view of the water. Also, ask for an upgrade-- we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYC5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cecilia S, Gerente at Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2013

Dear guest, thank you for your kind words. We are glad to know that your experience at Costa Colonia was up to your expectations.It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests had a good time. Hope to receive you again if you come back to Colonia del Sacramento. Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
1.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,150 reviews
1.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
934 reviews
0.1 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Dazzler Colonia
Hotel Dazzler Colonia
#15 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
382 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
985 reviews
1.3 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel

Address: Rambla Costanera | Esquina Torres Garcia y Pedro Figari, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#1 Spa Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £29 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Costa Colonia Boutique Hotel is situated in an exceptional setting by Rio de la Plata. Its 60 spacious and cozy rooms offer an ideal blend of modern design, luminosity and stunning river views.The on-site restaurant invites both guests and locals to enjoy an all-day menu and wine bar within a casual and relaxed atmosphere.The hotel Spa features an outdoor pool and a indoor heated swimming pool, wet sauna and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing