We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't waste your time or money”
Review of Lo de Renata - CLOSED

Lo de Renata
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
east greenwich, rhode island
Level Contributor
799 reviews
514 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

Buquebus sold us a voucher for this restaurant as part of our tour of Colonia. Not sure what was worse---wasting time in Colonia or eating inedible crappy ravioli in unidentifiable sauce. The restaurant is a disgrace and the food is worse. The waitress could have cared less and was very inhospitable. The only positive was the half bottle of Tannat wine. My advice.... Pass on this worthless trip-- it is a MUST MISS... And do not patronize Buquebus either!

Helpful?
Thank dermgoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    11
    14
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“My first review”
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

Only ate here as it was included in the tour from buenos aires on buquebus ferry. I have only 2 questions. Why go to Colonia in the first place (not too quaint or interesting) and why eat here? At least the wine was good.

Helpful?
Thank Nora K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Do Rio Preto, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply got stressed in Colonia, a paradox!”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Poor service, worst food! What was supposed to be "a luxury day" in Colonia (yes, the way the Buquebus package is sold!) simply made me yelling several times to the staff. In a day trip, we get a plenty of time and can not waste more than 15 min to wait for a dessert, and the pasta was much worst than instant noodle.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank baritori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Dreadful Experience”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Avoid at all costs- our tour voucher was for a meal in this restaurant.Inauspicious from the start -the place smelt of damp and something else awful.and indescribable. Staff not at all welcoming (language was a barrier, but that should not prevent thembeing friendly and pleasant). Starter -salads etc from a buffet -were OK. I ordered a mixed grill -simply inedible-steak like leather, other things on plate unidentifiable and inedible. My wife's meal was likewise poor , and also very badly presented.Really annoyed at this stage, just couldn't eat the meal and we didn't bother with desserts. Shame on them and the tour company for choosing this place -if this happened in Ireland, they would be shut down.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welford54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food, very nice staff.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Although the food was not great, I enjoyed a decent nice meal. No expensive, neither cheap. The service was very good, nice people running the place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bárbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lo de Renata also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing