We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostel Oriental

Hostel Oriental
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Oriental
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed with 2 friends at this hostel - we were the only guests in the hostel at the time. We arrived earlier than check in time and wanted to leave our luggage there, but the hostel was locked. We tried to ring the doorbell but no one opened. When we returned later in the day, the receptionist assured us that the hostel was not locked and had been attended earlier in the day, which was not true.

The rooms are dark and the hostel is cold in the winter months. There is no heating, and there is a warning sign in the bathroom that the hot water may run out after a 5 minute shower.

The good things about the hostel are the cleanliness and location. This is a decent choice for a short stay, but don't expect luggage store before or after your stay

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iva_wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    9
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

A friend of mine recommended Ël Oriental for a one night stay. I went with 2 friends. I should point out that this is a hostel, and not a hotel, like some of the previous comments suggest. There are 3 bunk beds in each room. There were 3 of us in one room, the price is unbeatable. The beds, as well as the lockers and the keys are labeled with the name of a famours uruguayan person, it´s really cool.
The beds were comfortable and very clean. We were there in July and they had a heating system and extra blankets. We were not cold. We had a very pleasant time.
The Oriental is a very simple, yet charming place that I strongly recommend, it´s a great place for its value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marielas2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

This is a really lovely hostel and I cannot recommend it enough. It small hostel - with only 17 beds, in a great location - only 10 mins walk to the centre of Colonia, 5 mins to a small beach, and with extremely friendly staff. It is clean with comfy beds and a delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AMC060677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bariloche
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

It was not the first time that I've visited Colonia del Sacramento, but being for the first time at the Hostel Oriental, made my stay amazingly renewed. The place is comfy and warm, with lovely music in the background and friendly owners ready to guide or assist the guests. I had the chance to share a tasty home-made pudding for breakfast and delightful pasta for dinner. Bathrooms are clean and bedrooms are spacious enough to host the amount of people settled. Lovely Hostel!
My piece of advice for every guest is " just relax....and enjoy ". Cheers!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

$60 US is way too expensive for a double room with no heating and a shared bathroom. We got caught out and should have paid a bit extra for a hotel room. Lesson learned for next time. It's a nice enough place but not good value for money.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank robyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Here's what I liked most about this hostel: They created a fun and easy environment to meet other travelers. We made empanadas together in the evening, and then everyone sat together around a big table and ate and drank for the next few hours. While I've met a lot of travelers at hostels (hostels tend to be social places at night), the folks at this place really created a uniquely community-like experience.

Beyond that...the place was clean, the beds were comfy, and the staff was really friendly. If staying in a dorm room, you get assigned a spacious locker (I was able to fit my hiking backpack in it and have extra space) and you're given a key (you'll pay a small deposit for the key, which you get back upon check-out). Location was a short walking distance from the historic neighborhood. The one downside is that there are only two bathrooms, yet there never seemed to be much of a wait to get one.

I'd definitely stay here again and recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank shelleyisgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Well, South America, Uruguay and especially Colonia have become expensive places now. You can get a nice hotel double in world cities like Prague or Rome for 45 EUR/60 USD, and you have places like this, where you get a dark hostel room with shared bathroom ...

The building is actually very nice and characterful. The owners are also pleasant people. The hostel is not too far away from the historic center of Colonia. And the rooms were somehow spacious and had stylish wooden interior. Besides being overpriced, other downsides are the key deposit (10 USD), that they don't allow luggage storage as it is common in any other location, and two bathrooms are definitely not enough for the whole hostel.

Room Tip: Choose a room close to the door, they have at least a window that the others inside do not have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schusswaffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel
Ayres Hotel
#11 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Perla del Plata Hotel
Perla del Plata Hotel
#20 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sur Hostel
Sur Hostel
#10 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Viajero Hostel & Suites
El Viajero Hostel & Suites
#2 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Oriental

Property: Hostel Oriental
Address: Lavalleja 277, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hostel ORIENTAL gives you lodging in a warm refurbished house from the beginning of the XX century. Located in 277 Lavalleja Street, near the port, the bus station, the historical town as well as the beach it is the ideal beginning point to contact the magical essence of the City.Is an interesting option to have warm and relaxing days in Colonia del Sacramento, enjoy the surroundings, know the beaches, the history and the culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hostel Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Oriental Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing