We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The good and the bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“The good and the bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

For Colonia del Sacramento and Uruguay in general, this place deserves an average rating. If I were reviewing a hotel in North America, I'd give this place a poor rating. Truth is, the hotel business in this country is nowhere close to where it should be. Uruguay is a model for the rest of South America, at least in terms of crime, security and health, as well as low government corruption. If you look at the top five rated hotels in Colonia on Trip Advisor, all of them, in my opinion, are overpriced at US$ 100-125 per night on average.
Here's what I can share specifically about my stay at the Real Colonia.
PROS-
Great outdoor lap pool with amazing view of the river
Decent breakfast - included in the room rate
Very good sound proofing (walls and windows)
Great water pressure and lots of hot water
CONS-
My room was not as clean as it should have been
A/C unit blows right onto your bed - a common issue in hotel rooms here in Uruguay
Their free wifi internet is awkward and keeps logging you on and off - really annoying
Room furniture really cheap - the desk was a large a painted sheet of plywood!!!
Lukewarm service
In a nutshell: there are three things that really matter to me in a hotel - 1- staff; 2- cleanliness; and 3- internet connection. This place gets an average mark on all three - but, as I already said, Uruguay is a strange tourist land, and I guess there are a lot of worse places to stay at in Colonia.
My pet peeve is lack of cleanliness, and I wasn't able to find a place to stay in Uruguay that was up to my standards in that regard (and I stayed at three different properties here). People don't seem to know how to clean toilets where I've stayed - and, if you have a shower curtain in the bathroom, please, please, think about cleaning it now and again or (better yet) replacing it after a while.
The icing on the cake? The morning I left, I asked the man at reception to call a cab for me to get me to the bus station (a 15-minute walk or a 3-4 minute drive from the hotel). The car that showed up was not identified as a taxi, had no meter inside, and the driver charged me a flat rate of 120 pesos (about 5-6 USD). I paid 129 pesos for a cab to get me from the Montevideo Tres Cruces Bus Terminal to my hotel in Ciudad Vieja (a 15-20 minute drive), and under 100 pesos for a cab from Pocitos to Tres Cruces (a 10-15 minute drive). Guess I got taken to the cleaners by their front desk attendant. Not the best way to say goodbye to your customers.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    182
    312
    100
    29
    12
See reviews for
240
262
12
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We arrived on a Wednesday evening, and decided to walk to the hotel, it's a lovely 15 minute walk straight forward, and our little get away began! On arrival we were warmly welcome at a beautiful modern lobby, check in super fast, and were in our room in no time.
We stayed in a deluxe room, our was the 123 and faced the park area; very quite, lots of natural light. Lots of space, you have everything that is described on the hotel's web page; but I was surprised how big the room was. Night stands with warm night lights, big drawers. Big enough closet with safe. Suitcase stand and lots of space for extra big luggage.
I really appreciated the full body mirror, great detail!
The bathroom was comfy enough, extremely clean, plenty of towels, good quality toiletries and good size tub, but nothing else matters once you take a shower, OH MY GOD THAT WATER PRESSURE! Taking short showers became very difficult because was an absolute pleasure.
The breakfast was very good. We had dinner two nights, the food was very good and abundant!
Nice amenities all free to use as you like; and on check out we were reminded to use the luggage deposit free of charge, and all the amenities of the hotel as well.
Two little things:
1-Since the hotel is non smoking, all smokers have to go outside, and that's ok; but there is not an ashtray.
2-And it would be nice to have a little electric kettle so one can make a cup of tea in the room. (since there is not room service)

So overall, great place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamnib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed here with my cousins as a last minute night out from Montevideo (we only usually do day trips to Colonia).

Upon walking into the hotel foyer, the place felt modern & simplistic. This continued on walking into the room (apartment 106) – simple yet comfortable.

The main room had the lounge made into a double bed, wide flat screen TV on a table, coffee table, lounge chair, small four chair dining suite, kitchenette with full fridge (with mini bar), sink & very limited crockery (3 glasses, plates & cutlery). The separate main bedroom had a large wardrobe and queen size bed. The bathroom was separate. Both the bedroom & lounge opened onto a balcony.

The room had limited accessible power points, so make sure you bring a power board. The bed in the main bedroom was very comfortable with great quality linen and a doona & separate blanket. Only two pillows provided. The second bed made from the fold out lounge was comfortable and did not feel like a fold out bed. There were air conditioners in the main bedroom & lounge room, however only one remote to operate both units!? And if the units are used during the night, you will be kept awake by the ultra bright light from the head unit. I also found the pipes from the head unit leading outside were uncovered & looked quite tacky – see pics. The outside balcony was tight and pokey but still lovely & furnished with two chairs and table. The view was great: overlooking the grassed area, pool and to the rambla of Colonia.

In the bathroom, the shower recess was large and the water temperature and pressure were great. A toilet and bidet (mind the awkward placed toilet roll holder) were between the shower and modern wash basin. Toiletries provided included shampoo/conditioners/soaps/body lotion and there were plenty of hand towels, bath mats and bath towels (however no face washers).

I had full mobile phone reception and free excellent wifi with great reception throughout the complex – there are computers available in a downstairs separate area if you don’t have your laptop. I am unsure of the cost of the laundry service and of room service. A simple yet filling and delicious buffet breakfast is included in the room tariff. A simple welcome letter/hotel guide is provided on arrival. There are two pools: one inside and outside – unsure if beach towels provided. Car parking provided is on the street verge – with staff assuring me “it’s safe out there”.

The hotel overlooks the rambla – a long, winding walkway along the foreshore which is great to start or end the day with a run or walk. The hotel is a 15min walk to the historic/touristic part of Colonia (along the rambla) or a 10min walk to the main street/business strip of Colonia – there are delicious restaurants and ATMs/cash points in both areas.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussie_shark_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Excellent location, newly constructed a little far from the historical places of Colonia if you don't have a car. he best are the sunsets. Incredible! The swimming pool is close to the river and the sunsets are beautiful. This hotel needs to take care of some issues to improve service, such as: Staff is not enough. Nobody helps you with your luggage when you arrive. Front desk staff is correct. The room is small but comfortable and extremelly clean. The swimming pool (outer) is excellent, very clean but lacks of shadow. And half of the deck chairs are broken. There are installation for a bar next to the swimming pool but is not working. The spa and gym are nice but small, there is no garage, but what mostly bothered me was the lack of staff in the restaurant areas.This area shared the space with the breakfast one. The tables were all set for breakfast the night before but were not cleaned after people finish their breakfast and left. So you can find lots of dirty tables with dirty dishes on them and the staff struggling to clean them and keeping the buffet provided. They could not. They were very few people for the task. I hope this nice and new hotel doesn't become another Colonia tourist trap. They have lots of potential. Anyway the few staff do their best to make your stay comfortable.

Room Tip: Do not select a room facing the street or the river. Choose one facing the swimming pool. Much less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaJoseC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crawlstroke
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

My husband and I stayed a night here between Christmas and New Year's Day. The decor is nice, pool is lovely and we got a great deal to stay here, but we were "upgraded" from a small single to a suite. Unfortunately our "upgrade" was on the third floor on the Avenida Gonzalez Moreno side of the complex. Though it has a nice view of the river and beach, the nighttime noise of los jovenes that party and ride their motorcycles along Rambla Cristobal Colon (and race up and down Avenida Gonzalez. Moreno) was absolutely horrible. At first the staff seemed a bit surprised that I complained about the noise, but when I went down to the lobby at 2 in the morning, the receptionist finally agreed to change our room to a single on the other side of the hotel. Overall, a below average experience here.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the Avenida Gonzales Moreno side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crawlstroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
551 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

I found good review about this hotel before I booked this place. It is not too far from the ferry terminal, and it takes about 15 minutes to walk into the old part of town. I have to say I cannot fault the reception's service, everyone is very friendly. In particularly, a Polish girl whose name I forgot now. However, other service left to be desired. There is no laundry service in this place, we arrived and wanted to do laundry, like most tourist need to from time to time, to my surprise, they provide NO laundry service....... Then the sauna is not switched on all the time, you have to go and tell the reception and then wait for half an hour before it is ready!! I suspect this place may be a weekend retreat to people from Buenos Aires. The whole place is rather quiet. Another pain in the butt is that the wifi is practically non existent if you are up in your room. That is why you see guests hang out in the lobby to use their gaget. The room is ok, but really, no laundry, poor wifi reception, and waiting for the sauna is not exactly what a resort type of hotel should be.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superlegalbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.0 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
1.3 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spa Hotel La Reserve
Spa Hotel La Reserve
#21 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Real Colonia Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Real Colonia Hotel & Suites

Property: Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Address: Gonzalez Moreno 001, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Real Colonia Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Real Colonia Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing