We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique with excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Las Terrazas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Top-notch boutique hotel located one and a half blocks from the old city walls: nice that it's not directly in the old city, and it is right around the corner from the best beer in South America (Barbot). Super friendly staff and nicely appointed, though small, rooms. Very good breakfast, with better than expected coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BarnabyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,453)
There are newer reviews for Posada Las Terrazas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 1,454 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

Posada LAS TERRAZAS has surpassed all our expectations. Great location, fantastic facility and the friendliest and more attentive staff I have ever met in a hotel. They all made our short stay a memorable one.
Rooms are well appointed, with darkl tiled floors and boxspring/ mattress, crip white linens and comforters. The grounds are small but picture perfect with a deep lap pool! Make your stay as memorable as ours, and give yourself a chance to stop by this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank philadlephia19110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We arrived in Colonia late at night after a very long trip and checked into a posada just down the road from this - we were just too tired to look at all possible options. This place turned out to be very noisy, so the morning after we went for a wander and found Las Terrazas... what a find! This posada is located right in the town centre, which makes it super-easy to go anywhere. The bus and ferry terminals are just a short taxi ride or walk away.

The posada itself was very clean (and I'm very funny about hygiene!) and modern, the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and breakfast was yummy. We staid for two nights and on the last day they encouraged us to stay in the pool area, use the facilities etc, until we had to leave at 4pm. This was easily one of the highlights of our 2-week trip through Argentina and Uruguay.

As other people have mentioned, room 3 (which is the one we were given) is designed to be connected with the room next-door if requested - so you might hear a little noise coming from that door. The guests who were staying in the other room were polite and quiet, so this wasn't an issue for us.

As added bonus, some of the stuff spoke excellent English, which isn't common in Uruguay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franci_exeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We found Posada Las Terrazas on TripAdvisor and were so happy with it! The hotel is several blocks from the Buquebus port and about a block from the gate to the old town of Colonia, an easy walk to both places. It's new and clean and comfortable, with a nice little pool, comfortable beds and a good breakfast. Ana at the front desk could not have been more helpful, providing us with information on the old town, dinner recommendations and getting us bus tickets to Montevideo. A delight!

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Meghann42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We had a nice stay in Colonia, the neighbourhood was great (old town). The public spaces in the hotel were great. The pool could be cleaner (when we were there).

The room was small, but clean. We had a room which could be used as a family room with connecting doors, this was a very noisy room, also because our neighbours were speaking very loud, so that didn't help.

Breakfast was great and the fact that you could have free tea and water was great.
Overall a good stay, but stay away from the room with the connecting doors!

Room Tip: Choose a room without connecting doors, because they are more noisy!
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MvD1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

it´s close (really close) to the historical center and also a short walk from the port
the bed is one of best hotel beds that i have slept, quiet, silent and pleasant!
The breakfast is good and the amosfere is very peacefull

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

this gem is close to the port, but located on a quiet street close to the old part of the city. the facility is very new and nicely appointed with great rooms, a wonderful continental breakfast. the staff were very friendly and helpful with directions and information. i had an end room and it was pretty quiet at night. the lobby/lounge was nice to sit in and peruse the books that were there. a nice little swimming pool and lounge chairs to help you relax after a day of sight-seeing was a great amenity.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor at the back of the property and thought this was a good location but there...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jane163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
925 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,129 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
344 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Las Terrazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Las Terrazas

Address: Manuel Lobo 281, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £67 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Las Terrazas 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a warm Posada Boutique one block from the Historic District, nicely decorated, with spacious common areas, underfloor heating, swimming pool, breakfast buffet. Designed for Responsible Tourism, low standards of environmental protection (with supply solar energy for hot water and underfloor heating) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada Las Terrazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Las Terrazas Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing