We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but had problem with reservations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Posada Las Terrazas
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is very nice. Good rooms, with warm floors (if you go in the winter like me it's great!).
The breakfast is ok. They also have tea and "mate" all the time.
Andres, one of the employees, was very attentive.

The only problem we had was: they put us in a bedroom witch was cheaper than the one we had reserved (on booking.com) and charged us with the most expensive one! Absurd!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank julamparelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIguel S, Director de Recepción at Posada Las Terrazas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014
Google Translation

Hola Claudia!, Nos alegra que haya disfrutado de su estancia en nuestra posada, nos complace igualmente su valoracion de la losa radiante, ya que es distintivo pues procede de la energía solar que abastece a la posada. Respecto a su observación en el cambio de habitacion por una de valor más bajo, lamento haya interpretado ésto. El cambio realizado por los recepcionistas tuvo el fin de colocarlos en la habitación contigua al resto de su familia, en un cuarto de la misma categoría pero en otro piso. Sentimos, que usted interprete esto como un cambio de categoría, no dudamos que ésto no empañará su apreciación al respecto.
Los esperamos nuevamente!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,477)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 1,479 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent Staff !!!...specially Andres (met him the day we arrived), and Celia the next day, both extremely knowledgeable of what the city offers, but above everything they made you feel at home, all of the staff very friendly, clean comfortable, Yes we read before lots of reviews and they were right and helpful.
Suggestion to call in advance and check for rooms downstairs if you have any difficulty with going up/down the stairs, or if you are a senior, as they don't have elevators.
Great location!!..Andres and Celia the best!!!...beyond call of duty!!!

Room Tip: Close to the Port, nearby good restaurants, and new city, we felt safe in the Old City of Colonia wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Delia998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Based on other reviews, I expected that this hotel would be good, but it was terrific. Yes, our room was on the small side, but everything else was just right, so much so that we didn't really care about the small-ish room. The location is great--a short walk from the port where the ferries dock and a short walk into the old town and down to the beach. We were glad that we stayed within walking distance of everything--it made our visit that much nicer. The room was very comfortable and clean (the heated floors were so nice--wish I had them at home!), with a comfy bed, nice sheets, and a great bathroom. Breakfast was delicious, with lots of choices.

But what really puts this hotel over the top was the staff. We got great recommendations for dinner the night we stayed, a charger/adapter for our phone (we thought the Argentine plugs would also work in Uruguay), and above-and-beyond service from Alma, who literally (yes, literally) saved us a bunch of cash by helping us locate and print our reciprocity fee documents for Argentina, which we forgot to bring with us. The hotel stored our luggage and let us crash for a while in the lobby while we stayed for a long day in town and waited for our ferry back to Buenos Aires. We would absolutely stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank FussyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Beautiful little Posadas a few steps from the gates of the old town and easy walking distance from the bus and ferry terminal.
Rooms were small but beautifully modern and all the amenities you require. We were in room 2 on the ground floor next to the pool.
Staff were very friendly and the public space was bright and airy.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSkigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you're expecting the amenities of a regular hotel, you will probably be disappointed. This is a small, eco-friendly hotel that makes you feel like you're staying at a townhouse (and that's exactly what we loved about it). From the second we came in, we were astonished with the structure of the building and the respect for the original construction, which makes for an awesome contrast with all the modern details of the hotel. We then saw the fireplace and felt right at home, it was the perfect place to be in a cold autumn in Colonia. The staff was very friendly and hospitable, the breakfast was amazing and the installations were overall very clean. Plus, the location is convenient: close to the central part of town but in a quiet and peaceful street. The only let down was the fact that we only had one key, but this is just a small detail that was compensated with the indulgent and cozy atmosphere. I would love to come back and strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gizmocaca13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The staff is extremely nice and will help you with anything you need!
Breakfast is delicious with typical Uruguayan treats. The room is very big with a super comfy bed. To wrap up the perfect package the location couldn't be better!

I would stay in this hotel again and totally recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

From the word go when Celia gave us the warmest welcome on a cold winters day to the lovely complementary sherry on arrival, this places oozes charm and hospitality. Rooms have underfloor heating and very clean to breakfasts that are far above standard. Friendly staff and does justice to boutique hotels all over the world. Keep it up guys and thank you for a very memorable stay in Colonia del Sacramento.

Room Tip: We had a poolside room and found it perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VanB365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
316 reviews
0.0 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#9 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Las Terrazas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Las Terrazas

Address: Manuel Lobo 281, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Las Terrazas 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a warm Posada Boutique one block from the Historic District, nicely decorated, with spacious common areas, underfloor heating, swimming pool, breakfast buffet. Designed for Responsible Tourism, low standards of environmental protection (with supply solar energy for hot water and underfloor heating) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Posada Las Terrazas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Las Terrazas Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing