We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a night or two”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sacramento Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sacramento Hostel
London
Level Contributor
141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good for a night or two”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

Stayed one night here in January 2013 in the 6 bed dorm at the back. It's quite a small and cramped dorm, but it has aircon and we slept quite well. We were there on a Wednesday night and it was quite quiet, but our room was next to the outside bar, so it could get noisy at busier times or on weekends.

The garden was a nice place to sit and relax, the breakfast was OK and most of the hostel facilities were quite good e.g. the shared toilets/bathrooms were quite new and modern and clean - however they ran out of toilet paper in one of the mens cubicles and ran out of hand towels by the washbasins and didn't check and restock them during our stay.

The hostel is in a very handy location for both the bus station and the ferry port, just two blocks away from both and only a short walk to the historic old town.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choccy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    15
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2012

We stayed two nights in Colonia - only one of which was with Sacramento Hostel. The staff super friendly, kitchen nice, rooms while not having a bathroom was well appointed so normally a review would warrant a very good or excellent... but its just too small a property. You are literally climbing over people to get past as the public computer is in the main hallway and then at 3am people are still chatting and laughing smoking and drinking which is cool but its only about 3 metres from your head... it is a real shame as its got everything else going for it.

My advice - stay here midweek or when its a quiet time but otherwise find somewhere else.

Room Tip: tough call - near reception you get reception noise, out back you get smoking and laughing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HanamiPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitoria, ES
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We were there off season in a private room with shared bath. We had no problems but guess it would be very noisy when the place is full as the bedroom door is right by the reception desk, computer and phone. Remember it is a hostel :) This is the only bad thing.

it was clean, friendly, good wifi, great home made bread for breakfast, good location, nice kitchen and the bathrooms were good enough.

Room Tip: The two downstairs private rooms are quite public and liable to be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaphod_es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

This place will probably do for a night or two, but it's not an ideal hostel in any way. We stayed in the private double room for a night and it was a dark dingy airless space right next to the cramped reception and computer room. All night the phone rang, people had conversations, and doors opened and shut as if they were right next to us. The backyard of the hostel would be kind of a nice space if it were a little tidier--- it looked like a storage space for old furniture and empty beer bottles. The bathrooms, each with two toilets and two showers, are shared by approximately 30 people.

However this does have a really kind and friendly staff, and they have rock bottom prices, and that makes staying here tolerable for a short time. They also served tasty fresh bread for breakfast, and their coffee was good. Just be sure and bring bug spray for the backyard... It is FULL of misquitos!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Province of Cuenca, Spain
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

This backpackers' hostel with collective rooms also has private rooms-- with shared bath. The place is kept very clean, including the baths. The owner is present and very helpful. There is a wonderful old world family feeling to the place. There is a nice garden for sitting around in the evening out the back door. Even as older travelers we felt very at ease. The breakfast has some nice home-made dishes ina ddition to the more normal stuff.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiii-Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medellín, Magdalena, Colombia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Colonia is a small town (village) with ferries to Buenos Aires (1 hour) and close to Montevevio (2.5 hrs). Safe and friendly town. Hostel was close to grocery, bus, restaurants...everything in this town is walkable or you can rent a 4 wheeler golf cart to putt around in. The owner, Felipe, is a chef, and there is a fabulous Parilla (BBQ) in the garden, which is profusive with flowers and shade trees. The beds were the best!!! So comfy! Clean bathrooms with endless hot water. Kitchen is a pullman style, so cooking was best accomplished by 2 people at a time. Wifi worked from every room. Construction is underway to add a second story...in the old Colonial style. This is the best Hostel in Colonia...we looked around!

Room Tip: Loved the private room...didn't mind shared bath at all...so clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferEnright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
102 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this small hostel and this is what we thought about it:

Good:
- Location: very near bus and ferry terminals and all the sights.
- Breakfast: pretty nice with cereal and homemade bread.
- Acceptable wifi connection
- Clean
- A nice garden which must be perfect in the summer.
- Hot showers but not much pressure
- Bunk beds were comfortable

Not so good:
- We where here in low season which meant that there was just us and another guy staying at the hostel so there was plenty of space for us. But it must get really crowded in high season becuz there isnt really any common areas to be in... Just the hall with a fireplace but there are just space for a few people and no tables for instance to put the laptop etc.. Also this area was nearly always full of people (family members of the staff we guessed). So the only option is to sit in the dorm.
- Our 6 bed dorm was chilly
- Not much security, but maybe Colonia is really safe?? More then once we found the door, that opens to the road, open, and right behind it was the door to our dorm, which was also always open too. So anyone could just have walked in and grabbed anything. There where no "lockers", just ordinary cupboards which were impossible to padlock. So we were a bit reluctant leaving our stuff the first day when going out. Nothing happened of course but still, wasnt nice.The second day we were offered a chain to lock it, so dont forget to ask for it when you check in.
- Not very friendly staff, they didnt seem to bother that much about anything, maybe there having some time off now when it was low season.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannaF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Posada del Rio
Posada del Rio
#27 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beltran
Hotel Beltran
#24 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Viajero Hostel & Suites
El Viajero Hostel & Suites
#3 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sacramento Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sacramento Hostel

Property: Sacramento Hostel
Address: 18 de Julio 487, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 30 Speciality Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sacramento Hostel is a beautiful IXX century house with all the comforts of the XXI century: Beautiful windows, high ceilings, wood stove, barbecue, beverages, air conditioning and heating in all rooms, cable TV, DVD with a variety of films.The sun, the silence and the green of our plants in the afternoon makes our backyard an invitation to reading a good book or chatting with friends ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Sacramento Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sacramento Hostel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing