We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice if you are coming by bus or buquebus!”
Review of Posada Le Vrero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Posada Le Vrero
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Its is very close to the bus station and to the harbour. So if you are coming by bus or buquebus it is a very good option. We went from Montevideo to Colonia by car. Colonia is a nice place to explore walking trough the old streets. The hotel isn't so far from the historical center, but if you have children (like us) with you, you are going to need the car all the time to get closer to the historical places so that the children aren't tired by getting there and can enjoy the day walk.
I would choose another place next time for this reason, so that I can forget the car for a couple of days and enjoy the charm of the city on foot.
My room was at the first floor, close to the reception and to the street. I have read comments about noise at the street and at the reception, but I really didn't hear it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Posada Le Vrero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

This very well situated posada was a big surprise for us. We just popped in and liked it straight away. The house is nicely renovated, clean rooms and luxury bathrooms.We also very much appreciated the patio.For a small B&B, the breakfast was very good with a good choice of pastries.
Staff very nice and helpfull.
A pitty we could only stay for 1 night but we'll certainly come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Posada LeVrero is situated about 2 minutes by foot from the ferry terminal and from the buis station, so it has a perfect location for tourists. It is not far from the old town either (a walk of about 5 minutes) which is okay as one would not want to stay right in the old town that is completely deserted except for tourists.
The building seems to be newly refurbished, the rooms are properly sized and very clean. There is no elevator but the receptionist was very helpful and carried our suitcases before we could even think about doing it ourselves. The brekfast is standard fare but nicely presented. The WiFi was fast and worked without interruptions.
Prices in Colónia del Sacrmento are generally inflated due to the masses of tourists but he value for money was okay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meduniv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Everything about this B&B was perfect. the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. the building and rooms are beautiful and peaceful - I wish we had had more time to spend enjoying the back patio as it was so relaxing and lovely. The breakfast was very good as well. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: we stayed in room #9 which is upstairs with it's own terrace with a table, chairs and umbrella...
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank SarahfromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santiagouruguay C, Director Comercial at Posada Le Vrero, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013
Google Translation

Gracias.-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

About 150 yards from the buquebus terminal. Something that is really nice, given the cobblestone streets of CDS. It is about a 10 minute walk to the historic district and about 5 minutes to a good selection of restaurants. It is close to several car, scooter, buggy and bike rental places including Puntacar which is kitty corner from it. (By the way, Puntacar is a great choice for buggy rental, especially if you pay in US$cash).
The primary innkeeper Luciano is a warm and friendly host, who is very helpful in offering tourist advice and recommendations.

Rooms are very clean and the wifi is solid, fast and free. The rooms are named after books of a famous Uruguayan author who was the former owner of the house. The room with the terrace is really nice. We did not get that room, but wished we did.

The breakfast could use some improvement, especially with the addition of some fresh items and decent coffee.

Overall rating is relative to other properties in this class.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Kat&John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This was a fantastic little hotel. Here is what I loved about it:

1. The staff was friendly and helpful. They were quick to give advice about fun things to do and good places to eat.

2. My room. I stayed in room 9 (superior room with terrace). It had its own deck over the garden which was really nice in the morning and evening before heading out to explore Colonia or head out to dinner. The room was not very big but it was really comfortable.

3. Location. It was only a couple blocks from the bus station and BuqueBus terminal (and that's not a scary thing in Colonia). And only 5-10 min walk from the historic district.

4. Breakfast. Was pretty typical for South America, breads, ham, cheese, cereal, etc. It was all really good.

The internet was pretty good. If too many people were on at once or were trying to do too much it would get a bit shaky.

Room Tip: Room 9 (superior with terrace) is a little more... but awesome.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank als03c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Le Vrero was such a great pick. This was our second time in Colonia Del Sacramento, and if when I return, this is where I'll stay. We picked it mostly because it is a block away from the ferry terminal and we had big suitcases to roll there. However, it is really only a few more blocks away from the main center (as Colonia is fairly small).

The two gentlemen running the front desk were so friendly and hospitable, with loads of recommendations. I never felt like an inconvenience for asking a million questions, and he was even more helpful for our future travel plans in BA. The room was SPOTLESS and the decor is funky and sweet. The room we stayed in had a fan and a coffee maker as well. There is also a beautiful little courtyard where we sipped wine and told stories. Just remember to grab a bottle on the way home! :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennaBrody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santiagouruguay C, Gerente at Posada Le Vrero, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013
Google Translation

Nos alegramos muchísimo que haya disfrutado tanto.

Es un placer leer su comentario.

Esperamos en algún momento poder volver a reencontrarnos.-
Saludos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
921 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,099 reviews
0.3 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,120 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Le Vrero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Le Vrero

Address: Av. 18 de Julio 521, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £46 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Le Vrero 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Here lived the Uruguayan writer Mario Levrero.It has Nine exclusive rooms, all with their tv 32" led, safe, air conditioning, free WiFi.She was appointed by the Mayor of Colonia del Sacramento, of cultural interest.Selected by the prestigious newspaper as one of the Five places to keep track of meeting on a trip to Colonia del Sacramento.Today Posada "Le Vrero" is a landmark on the itinerary of any traveler passing through colony.Currently admirarores come from different places of the writer looking to take a picture in the house where he lived, being a place of cultural pilgrimage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada Le Vrero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Le Vrero Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing