We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great day in Colonia”

Feeling Uruguay Wine & Sightseeing Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Feeling Uruguay Wine Tours offers high luxury wine and culinary experiences in Colonia, Montevideo and Punta del Este, Uruguay, and also in Mendoza, Argentina. Your friendly and knowlege guide will guide you through the history of South America and it's wines..
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great day in Colonia”
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

We emailed Diego at the last minute, and he arranged a day trip for us around Colonia. He set up a trip to a winery and took us to a wonderful beach (the beach lounge) where we could enjoy the scenery and the sun. He gave us honest answers, and never sugar-coated his responses. We would highly recommend him to our friends who travel.

Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
München
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great day in peaceful Colonia”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Getting away from pollution and noise from Buenos Aires we decided to take the ferry for a day to Colonia. Claudio did a great job showing us around the area creating a schedule which suits our needs. He is very friendly with great knowledge, perfect English and always striving to create a perfect day for us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ralfja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
2 reviews
“excellent!”
Reviewed 4 March 2013

we've spent an incredible beautiful day - friendliness, cooperativeness, organisation, selection of places... everything lived up perfectly well to our expectations!! thank you for showing us a part of uruguay in such a nice way!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank stephanie z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Marino, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect day in Colonia with Claudio!”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

We could not have asked for more from our day in Colonia. Claudio is a great guide, his English is excellent and he took us on a very interesting tour. His suggestion of wine and jam tasting - including a stroll through the Guinness World Record holding collections - was spot on. We loved relaxing at the beach and the casual lunch there. One of my highlights would be that lovely little church. He worked with us to make our day very special - and I cannot thank him enough. He made sure we saw everything possible and got us back to the port in time for our ferry. Thanks so much for a wonderful introduction to Colonia and Uruguay! You're the best Claudio.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio PP P, Owner at Feeling Uruguay Wine & Sightseeing Tours, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
Hi Sheryl, thank you for your nice review!
I also spent a wonderful day with the three of you.
Actually, when I meet some nice people like you, I don’t consider it as working, instead is like spending a day with some good old friends.
I hope to see you again!

Regards from Uruguay,

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great host, overall experience is good”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

My girlfriend and I did the "Wine Road" ( wine tasting tour in Colonia & Carmelo).

Let me begin by saying that it would be extremely difficult to find a nicer host than Claudio. He was not only friendly, but very accommodating and spoke excellent English. We had a couple of special needs on our tour and Claudio was more than happy to help us out, even driving out of the way for us. In addition, he was happy to essentially extend the day as late as we would have liked: We were done (and exhausted) by 5.30pm or so, but he was ready & willing to take us to the beach. A very nice guy and a good host.

The tour itself was good. We went to three wineries and in each we were given at least a small tour of the winery. The first two wineries were the best: We had great "guides" at each, both of which gave us several wines to taste as well as bread & cheese. We had a good experience at the third as well, but were only given one wine to taste, which we thought was a little bit strange for what was technically a wine tasting.

The other thing to be aware of and maybe make sure of ahead of time is lunch: We were told that one of the wineries provided lunch, but there was only cheese and bread provided (both at the first two wineries). It was a long day and we would have prepared differently had we known there wasn't a real lunch.

Overall: Great host, great wines, OK value.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NYC5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudio PP P, Owner at Feeling Uruguay Wine & Sightseeing Tours, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Thank you for your kind words, it was great to accompany you and to share the "Wine road" tour. We have reviewed our description of the tour because, thanks to your comment, we realized it was not correct to call "Lunch" to the very complete snack it is offered when tasting the wines. It is true that some travelers will find they do not need to go to a restaurant after eating what the wineries offer, but this might not be the case for everybody and to call it a "lunch" can be misleading. We are now promoting the tour with an optional Lunch stop with different options of local restaurants. We will not repeat this mistake in the future and we thank you for the constructive critic. We strive to deliver a better service every day. I hope to see you again soon in Uruguay!

Claudio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Feeling Uruguay Wine & Sightseeing Tours also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Feeling Uruguay Wine & Sightseeing Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing