We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, very clean and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hostel & Suites de Rio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I do not really understand the critics of other users.

For us the hostel was very nice! At the check-in you get linen and even a towel for free, which is not common for South America or Uruguay! The staff is friendly and speaks spanish and english, so there is no need to misunderstand anything. The hostel seems to be quite new und is very modern designed. The dorms and the bathrooms were perfectly clean. Nice and hot showers with perfect pressure. Each bed has a reading LED-lamp (also not common for SA). The beds are good and stable. Each room has a modern and silent air conditioning. The breakfast was delicious and uruguayan standard. Breakfast outside in the garden!

We can`t really say something about the atmosphere because there were less people (low season). Offering activities is not necessary because Colonia is too small. Other hostels don't offer either.
Just the computer was veeery slow.

If you get to know other south american hostels you will love this one ;)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heckmeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmajanet, Gerente at Hostel & Suites de Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014
Google Translation

Muchas gracias por resaltar las cualidades de nuestro establcimiento, sabemos que somos unicos ya que contamos con un equipamiento de ultima generacion y lo mas importante que cada pasajero cuente con lo necesario para que su estadia, sea amena y agradable.
saludos cordiales
Janet Grass

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (235)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 235 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

This place is just a very basic hostel. On check in, you are given you sheets and a towel, and told your room number. I don't speak Spanish, but understood the word 4, so took a stab that I was in room 4. The rooms are comfy enough, with a bed light for each bunk. I had a power point at my bottom bunk as well. The bathrooms were a bit gross. They weren't cleaned often enough, and ran out of toilet paper. There was a leak in the main bathroom which meant the floor was really wet most of the time. The kitchen (once I figured out where it was - it's in a completely separate building out the back) is a joke. Do not stay here thinking you will cook. And the breakfast was pitiful. It is also not a social type of hostel. No organised events or anything. The location was good - but the old town of Colonia is so small that anywhere is a good location. The wi fi was really good, and the rooms are air conditioned, which was a saving grace, as I was there on a couple of really hot days/nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Misty3272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmajanet, Gerente at Hostel & Suites de Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014
Google Translation

Estimada pasajera
Lamentamos los inconvenientes es su estadia
No era nuestra intencion que su experiencia fuera tan mala
saludos cordiales
Janet Grass

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Just a so-so hostel. It looked good when I first arrived, but I found over the six days I stayed there that much of its bathroom and dorm room hardware was flimsy and fell apart and just plain did not work. Toilets did not flush, faucets did not turn off, shower bolts fell off. There were no coffee cups or mugs in the kitchen; I had to use the one and only wine glass to drink hot coffee from.

The under dorm bed lockers were a joke. Do not store valuables there. Anyone can just lift the bed and reach underneath and help themselves.

I found the staff mostly bored and unfriendly and with few exceptions unhelpful. I received no orientation to the hostel. There were no social events organized, little info on anything to do around Colonia. It is a a basic hostel, nothing more. The daily breakfast was rationed out — two slices of plain toast, two small pieces of sugary pastry or croissants. Two mornings the bread basket was set before me with ants crawling over it. The coffee was dreadful. There was a TV in both the lounge and dining area that blared away 24/7 even though no one watched it. The place was not conducive to restorative living, just chaos and boredom.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmajanet, Gerente at Hostel & Suites de Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014
Google Translation

Estimado James
Lamentamos su mala experiencia en nuestro establecimiendo
esperamos poder tener una segunda oportunidad
saludos cordiale
Janet Grasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

I booked on line to stay in this hostel. On arrival I was greeted warmly by the reception staff. I was in a four share room. Upon entry to the room with a share with three teenage boys I discovered the room covered in their clothing and Wet gear and the associated odour.
Two of the residents were present and showed no inclination to make room or move any of the material in the room. It was raining I was wet not a good scene so I went to the hotel Beltran for my stay instead.
The hostel was well presented in the common areas and appeared well kept. Based on my experience I can only rate as fair due to the lack of supervision of the shared rooms prior to the introduction of new guests.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
Thank Cjbcjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in January and it is a brilliant place. It is quite a new hostel, and travellers' needs have been well thought-through.

Arrival and check-in:
- On arrival you receive a towel and soap free of charge

The bedrooms:
- There is a small, lockable safe on the wall by each bed
- Each bed has its own night-light which can be angled to avoid disturbing others
- The rooms have air-con - amazing!
- There are lockable sections under the bed for keeping bags and larger items

The bathrooms:
- The bathrooms are well designed with lockable shower cubicles that have a dry-change space as well as the shower space
- Everything is kept very clean and tidy

Outside:
- There are two pleasant outside seating areas

Breakfast:
- The breakfast is well presented (croissants and toast) with coffee and orange juice

Communal areas:
- The downstairs area is well laid out for travellers to use during the day and evening, and it doubles as the breakfast area
- There is a well equipped kitchen with a barbeque
- There is a nice sofa area with games and books and information leaflets

The staff:
- The staff are helpful and provide information when required

All in all, this is one of the best hostels I have stayed in (and I've stayed in a lot over the last year!). I would not hesitate to spend more time there if I am ever in Colonia again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RawlingStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I've stayed in few places worldwide and this hostel is without a doubt one of the best, especially in terms of value (approx 720 pesos per night - booked online).

- cheap / good value
- clean and tidy
- very spacious downstairs area - communal, dining area
- helpful staff (however not much spoken English)
- good breakfast
- 2 kitchens (1 for guests, 1 for the staff to make breakfast)
- free wifi (although one of the access points is a bit unreliable)
- two outside seating areas
- clean dorms with air-con
- miniature 'safes' on the wall of each bed
- lockable drawers (padlock required) but not very sturdy
- Clean and functional showers and toilets
- Towel and soap bar provided on arrival

There isn't really much to complain about and the management have clearly understood what makes a good hostel; it is run almost like a hotel. I've stayed here two nights in total and would definitely stay here again if back in Colonia in the future.

Room Tip: Couples may be separated into male-only and female only-dorms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmajanet, Gerente at Hostel & Suites de Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014
Google Translation

Estimado Steve
Muchas Gracias por tus comentarios, la idea es estar acordes a las necesidades del mercado.
Esperamos puedas venir en otra oportunidad
saludos cordiales
janet grasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is really one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in. Its as cheap as the worse hostels, but it is brand new, clean, has a good location and very fashionable.

I will definitively recommend this to anyone

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Hege N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irmajanet, Gerente at Hostel & Suites de Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013
Google Translation

Muchas gracias, la idea desde un principio fue dar un mejor servicio en el mercado como asi el mejor precio
Saludos cordiales
Janet Grasso

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.0 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
669 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,111 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#20 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suites
El Viajero Colonia Hostel & Suit...
#1 of 34 in Colonia del Sacramento
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel & Suites de Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel & Suites de Rio

Address: Rivadavia 288 | Rivadavia 288, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 34 Speciality Lodging in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £8 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostel & Suites de Rio 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Colonia del Sacramento, Hostel & Suites del Rio has rooms with air conditioning, continental breakfast included and free WiFi throughout the property. Flat-screen TV in common areas. You can enjoy 24-hour reception on the property. The hostel also offers bicycle rental. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hostel & Suites de Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel & Suites De Rio Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing