We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was not what i thought it would be for the price, simple substandard - no la recomiendo, no es lo que aparenta ser”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada del Gobernador
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“was not what i thought it would be for the price, simple substandard - no la recomiendo, no es lo que aparenta ser”
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My first trip to Colonia, and was greatly disappointed on the lodging, amenities, it's old and not kept up. Right next door, and incredible property called Posada El Capullo, a single went for ten dollars less than Posada del Gobernador. El Capullo was recently remodeled to the standards of a " boutique hotel " with all it's amenities. Good to know for next time. Many other great properties in the historic Colonia. Posada del Gobernador by far is the worst.
Safe journey !

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ucla75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    70
    43
    11
    10
See reviews for
40
83
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

The hotel is lovely. My biggest gripe is that the lighting in the rooms is dismal. Our room on the first floor had a queen size bed and could have easily fit four queen size beds. The furniture is antique looking. The bathroom in our room was modern, however the design of the shower door (swinging inward) was awkward. Our room door locked with an old fashioned skeleton key, which added to the charm.

The hotel offers free continental breakfast, will offerings like croissants, other small pastries, yogurt, cereal, juice, coffee, mate, tea, milk, and more. Delicious breakfast.

The location is amazing, right next to a lovely plaza. Each night a group of people get together and drum in the plaza and then march down the street. Interesting, and we worried that they would keep us up, but the had marched away by 8:00pm. There is a historic church right next to the hotel, and you may be woken up by the church bells.

Overall this is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeepscreeps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

Hotel is centrally located in the historical town and staff are very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a very large and comfortable double room/suite on the ground floor (i believe rooms on the first floor are smaller). Hotel was clean and quiet. Laundry rates are very reasonable and clothing returned within 12 hours! Recommended.

  • Liked — Staff on reception were very helpful
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N-J0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2006

We really enjoyed our three night stay at this little hotel. Fantastic location, right on the old town village square and only a few minutes walk to te water and modern town centre.
We booked a spacious family room, with shuttered windows and a quiet aspect. The rooftop terrace overlooks the old square and an ancient church with bell towers, as well as the scattering of cafes and restaurants. Although we were there in cooler months, it looked just the place for a drink on warm summer day or night.
One restaurant has old cars that are set up for dining on the cobbled street by the alfresco tables - a big hit with our children.
We engaged an English-speaking guide for a walking tour of the old town - highly recommended! There are a number of small museums, local craft and tourist shops, art galleries, a lighthouse and picturesque local streets and archtecture.
The main town has other shops, bars and restaurants that are less expensive and more mainstream.
We found it a welcome break from the bustle of Buenos Aires, but book your ferry through Buquebus early, as the ferries fill up well in advance.
We loved Colonia and hope to stay longer next time.

  • Liked — Location, outdoor terraces, pool, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Lack of consistent hot water, breakfast very average
  • Tips/Secrets — Take the walking tour of the old town
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pearler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2006

We stayed here for two nights for our trip to Colonia. It is a nice bed and breakfast, with a helpful staff. Our rooms were average, clean, warm, nice. There was some construction that started early in the morning our first night, so they switched rooms for us for the second night and it was much better. The bathrooms were clean and had hot water, though not a lot of hot water. Each room had its own small water heater, so there wasn't enough for my husband and I to take back to back showers (10-15 minutes of hot water at a time.) Breakfast was included and was average. It is in great location, walking distance to just about everything (including the bus/boat station, we walked to catch the boat back to BA)

We loved this town, although things were more expensive than we were expecting (except the pizza, go to Candela's if you get the chance!) They had great shops, we bought some art there. We also went to Casa Bernardi, a great, small winery a little bit outside of town (take the bus, it is cheap and stops right at the winery.)

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank spartanvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whidbey Island, Washington
Level Contributor
291 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 556 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2004

After thinking about it for many years, we made the hour crossing of the Rio de la Plata from Buenos Aires to Colonia. The Posada del Gobernador is a lovely inn located on the main plaza. Room 16 is the best in the house.

The trip is worth the effort as both the charming town and the Posada are tops for relaxing and walking around a local recognized by UNESCO as part of Human Patrimony. You won't be sorry to have visited Colonia and spent at least one night in the former home of the governor, if you like quiet places off season.

Helpful?
10 Thank FromBrazil71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,036 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#9 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Posada Plaza Mayor
Posada Plaza Mayor
#13 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Gobernador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Gobernador

Property: Posada del Gobernador
Address: 18 de Julio 205 | Historic District, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Posada del Gobernador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Gobernador Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing