We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but overated especially because of the price”
Review of Posada Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Posada Plaza Mayor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

It is definitely worth staying in Colonia for more than one night which is what most people do.

It's a lovely little town but the hotels seem to take advantage by overcharging for what they are delivering.

As other reviewers have said, this is a charming little hotel, with a very pretty central courtyard and it has an excellent location. But for $200 for the night, I think you should expect more than an uncleaned room with faulty aircon when you check in ( the staff did react quickly and just changed our room without a fuss to be fair), a rather tired looking decoration and a positively terrible "breakfast" which hardly deserved the title.

So we have marked this hotel down as we believe there must be better options in Colonia.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Posada Plaza Mayor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

47 - 53 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2013

This is a lovely historic building with a beautiful courtyard in a very good location.

Some of the room facilities are a little odd like the shower control coming away from the wall when turned and the basin tap not flowing into the basin but allowing water to pour onto the floor.

The breakfast was rather basic and not very well presented.

Like most things in Colonia it probably does not represent great value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maguern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Colonia can be a noisy place but this central hotel with its thick walls and inviting courtyards gets you away from it all. Our room was great with a high vaulted ceiling. I'd give it five stars if the prices were better and they added a pool.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulreidny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Colonia del Sacramento is an enchanting place and an oasis of serenity. Although small, it deserves more than the common day-trip rush, so staying a night or two is highly recommended. Posada Plaza Mayor, right at the corner of main square, is part of the scenery, actually a sight in itself. Located in a historical building on the old town, this hotel offers basic clean rooms with comfy beds, decent breakfast and helpful staff. Wonderful setting, charming and very relaxing atmosphere invite to spend some time in the courtyard, surrounded by trees, flowers and a beautiful fountain and just... relax. A must-stay in Colonia.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadySeamaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We've been to Colonia many times, and this hotel certainly offers (literally) central location in a truly historical property -while not necessarily the obvious choice (there a couple of more modern places a few blocks from the main square), staying here definitely gives you the flavour and atmosphere of the old city centre. Most of the rooms open to a central courtyard with a fountain. However, on arrival, we were upgraded to the best room (rancho portugues) as there had been overbooking: the room is in the oldest part of the property, separated from the main building, with a small patio of its own, and you actually sleep in a place from the XVII century. Staff are friendly and very helpful, one welcomes the "old school" way of treating guests. Breakfast is served in an upstairs room with a beautiful riverside view. While on the "pricey" side as far as Colonia goes (rooms are fine, but perhaps a tad basic for the rate, breakfast is OK but could improve in variety), this is a self-recommending option for staying overnight in Colonia (far more enjoyable than just visiting for the day), in the heart of the historical district -the magic is there once you go out the main door in the evening right into the old, lamp-lit cobblestone streets.

Room Tip: While most rooms open onto the central courtyard, a couple of suites have windows overlooking the st...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_and_H_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We had arrived in Colonia late with a booking at Posada Plaza Major for two nights. How lucky were we to land in this gem of a hotel. Right in the heart of the UNESCO World Heritage site of Colonia this hotel was perfect. Cute room with all the facilities, a breakfast room overlooking the mighty River Plata, beautiful garden courtyard complete with fountain and staff willing to help with advice on where to eat and what to see.

Room Tip: We were upstairs and the morning sun coming through the shuttered windows was delightful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Plaza Mayor fits right into the character of the city and keeps you in the spirit of the cobblestone streets and flowering trees. We had a room that opened right onto the garden to the fountain. The interior of the room was basic, yet quaintly and charmingly decorated. Since Colonia is such a day trip destination from Buenos Aires, it was great to wander the streets near and after dusk with few people out. The sunset there is really not to be missed!
Since the walls are made of very thick rock and brick, wifi does have difficulty reaching the room. There is a nice common room off to the side of the lobby which provides internet and when closing the door- protection from the vicious mosquitoes! Breakfast was filling and the location was ideal- right in the center of the old city.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellerLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
925 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
314 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Del Comercio 111 | Barrio Histórico, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £90 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Plaza Mayor 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Posada Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Mayor Hotel
Posada Plaza Mayor Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing