We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming historical hotel with a very central location ”
Review of Posada Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada Plaza Mayor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful restore and from the minut one enter the charming courtyard with the old Fontain one is mesmoristed by the tranquillty of the place. Very Nice basic rooms - great breakfast and Nice giftshop in the reception. On top the hotels location rigth off the main plaza makes it almost perfekt

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Karpatschof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 40 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

I've stayed in historic hotels before, but never one that combined old world charm with modern plumbing fixtures as well as Posada Plaza Mayor. The inn is lovely, with rooms wrapped around a beautiful courtyard. We slept soundly even though our room overlooked the street, and weren't inconvenienced by the limited reach of the internet. The shower was magnificent, and breakfast was very nice, in a room with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We only stayed here for one night, but it was amazing. La posada is so clean and charming. The rooms are so quaint. The service is excellent. The location is just perfect. I can't wait to come back to Colonia and stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariselnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The room was a bit small but very charming, and with the exception of internet, met our needs (the i'net does not work in the rooms - only in the reception area and breakfast room). The grounds are lovely and the location is excellent but the staff's fluency in English is not great.

Room Tip: More charming around the fountain; better river views in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Excelent hotel in the center of the historic part. Very friendly staff. The interior patio with a fountain is relaxing.
I will stay again in the future.
I stayed in a room in the back separated from the main building locking to the garden , the " portugues Rancho" that is beautifull

Stayed: April 2014
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This hotel has lots of potential but doesn't come close to living up to it. The location is ideal and the building is a nice old one with a lovely garden. The room we had was average, at best, with, as other have noted, a need to up grade. But what really moved this place down was the service. It was the beginning of the off season so the hotel was nearly empty yet they didn't seem at all happy to have us. The attitude of those working there was sullen. The breakfast was below average at baseline but our second morning they forgot to put out the cereals. And despite the hotel being nearly empty they would accommodate a 1 hour late check out. Very poor service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We are just finishing a 6 week trip in Argentina, chile, and Uruguay . I was disappointed in the hotel. We got a room on the newer floor. It was musty, with old, stained carpet. Black mold around the sink. We saw very nice colonial rooms off of the patio. This was not one of them. Service was mediocre. The day we left, the hotel was empty, but a request for a late checkout was denied. This did not happen at any other hotel that we stayed. There was no elevator and no one to help with our bags. The woman at the desk reluctantly helped me get them down. The breakfast was mediocre.the patio is pleasant, but there are very few chairs, and the chairs are not comfortable. The hotel has potential, but needs better management. The town is lovely.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
934 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,150 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#9 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
352 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Del Comercio 111 | Barrio Histórico, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £92 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Plaza Mayor 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Posada Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Mayor Hotel
Posada Plaza Mayor Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing