We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a lovely town”
Review of Posada Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Posada Plaza Mayor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2008

My girlfriend and I decided to spend 2 days in Colonia. We had heard great reviews from friends and living in Buenos Aires, it seemed a nice option.
In general we try to avoid big chains, trying to blend with the locals and choosing little typical hotels. We booked this little hotel based on reviews here. Once again, we chose well.
The hotel itself is in a great location inside the old city. The setting is lovely.
Pros: Clean. Educated and attentful staff. Good recommendations to travel near Colonia. Incredible patio. Location, location, location. Nice A/C in the room. Veeeery quiet and relaxing.
Cons: No swimming poo (not essential, would be a nice touch). Our room #16 was just ok.
Average: Breakfast.
Internet: available in a room downstairs.
Cable TV: not available in our room (you won´t need it).
Definetely a very nice hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank dr_zito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2008

Colonia is a not to miss place to visit while you are in Buenos Aires or while traveling in Uruguay. This hotel was clean and beautiful with a nice breakfast and a pleasant staff.
We booked the hotel thru Buquebus who charged 10 percent for booking. Our room was 120.00 usdollars and was in the courtyard , close to resturants and in the historical area of Colonia. We were only there 2 nights and would have stayed longer. We took the fast boat back to BA in one hour and it was worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank getofftheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

I have visited Colonia on various occasions, and concluded that the Plaza Mayor is the best accommodation option. The hotel itself is fairly small - about 15 rooms around a courtyard. The rooms aren't that large, but big enough, and nicely decorated with bare stone walls and colonial style furniture. There is a decent buffet breakfast in a cafe overlooking the River Plate, where you can watch the sailing boats heading back to Buenos Aires. But the great advantage is the location - right in the heart of the colonial centre, you can walk out the front door and begin sightseeing. And it isn't noisy either - Colonia tends to quieten down fairly early, and the solid construction keeps out most street noise. There are other hotels in Colonia that offer a 'luxury' experience, but they tend to be well out of town - my advice is don't bother with them, and stay in this clean, comfortable and attractive hotel in an excellent location.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DanSteely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

The hotel is in the main square of the old town of Colonia. The few bars and restaurants are all within 5 minutes walk of the hotel via the lovely cobbled streets of the town. The hotel is set around a courtyard with a fountain which provides a very relaxing setting. The room was very clean and tastefully furnished but with all mod cons. The lady on the front desk spoke perfect english and was very friendly and helpful. I'd recommend a visit to Colonia and a stay in this nice hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2008

My husband and I stayed here on a day getaway from Buenos Aires while on our honeymoon. I cannot say enough about how perfect this little hotel is. First of all, it is so incredibly beautiful and quaint. It's on a little cobblestone street just off of Plaza Mayor. Our room was off of the courtyard which is just incredibly beautiful and peaceful. The location is great for exploring the little town. It's close to restaurants and the water. If you are spending more than a day in Colonia, I definitely suggest renting transportation to see the town. You can rent a golf cart (and drive it on the street), a scooter or a dune buggy (in addition to renting a car of course). We wanted to do the dune buggy but we just weren't there long enough.

The staff at the hotel is great. They are very friendly and helpful with suggestions.

Definitely stay at this hotel - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

We have just returned from a 1 night stay at this hotel. We were a group, so we booked 5 rooms. All were great. The hotel is very clean, offers a buffet breakfast, is conveniently located in the historic area of Colonia. Rooms have DirectTV, A/C, and private bathrooms. It has a nice fountain and a lot of nature.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dimapsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Booked through Buquebus for only one night and wished we had stayed longer. Our room off the courtyard was beautiful with a lovely bathroom. Breakfast was superb. Staff were very helpful. Best location in the town next to Plaza mayor and the lighthouse. Colonia is a great little town and we wish we hadn't bothered moving on to Montevideo which is horrble!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Merseyprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
935 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,152 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#9 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
352 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Del Comercio 111 | Barrio Histórico, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £93 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Plaza Mayor 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Posada Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Mayor Hotel
Posada Plaza Mayor Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing