We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Encantador”
Review of Posada Plaza Mayor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Posada Plaza Mayor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2010

Charming boutique hotel (posada) right in the middle of the historic town. Location is perfect but you should try to get a room facing the beautiful courtyard, since the rooms facing the streets are extremely noisy from the restaurant just across the street.
Our room was facing the street, but that is the only con I can mention. Otherwise it was just perfect. It was a huge room, with very high ceilings, old furniture, perfectly preseved and a fully-equiped bathroom with good water preasure.
The air conditionig was already on when we checked inn (2pm), wich was a very nice tuch since it was an extremely hot and humid day.
The staff were very nice and polite, and the happily kept our luggage for the day after we chequed out.
Breakfast is served up stairs in a nice room decorated with antiques and a very peacefull riverview. It was great, very complete continental brakfast included in our $155 room rate.
Last but not least, I´d like to mention the stunning little courtyard centering the hotel. It is a magical place to relax with no noise but the one of the water coming out of the small fountain.
I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BApit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

105 - 111 of 397 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2009

I was really looking forward to staying at the Plaza Mayor based on the reviews on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, we did not have a great experience. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, yet, our room smelled like mildew and was extremely overpriced for what we got (we payed 115 USD). The courtyard was beautiful and the hotel is in a good location but we walked past many hotels that also seemed to have great locations. Also, we booked online through what looked like the hotel's website, but it was actually a third party vendor. Beware of this, as they charge a fee for their services. If you book via the hotel directly (by calling them ONLY) you will get a lower rate (maybe 10-15% less).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Islandhopper14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

charming, well located hotel, great breakfast with a view and delicious orange juice.

the room featured stonework (perhaps newly pointed as smelt a little damp) and a high ceiling. as our room was immediately adjacent to the street it was a bit noisy as we were still jet lagged from our long haul flight.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank reins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

The Posada Plaza Mayor is a small inn with a very central location in the historic section of Colonia (and note to Trip Advisor--it is referred to as Posada Plaza Mayor, not Hotel Plaza Mayor, on all signage, etc. . .) Given that it is housed in a landmark building, and is centered on a courtyard with a lovely fountain, it is worth a wander into, if you are walking by.

It is not, however, worth a stay. My room, over $100 a night for a single, was tiny--the sort you have to leave in order to change your mind. Just enough room for a double bed. The walls are original exposed brick, and the ceiling height exceeds the dimensions of the floor area. I asked the agent if there were any bigger rooms, and they were nearly $140 a night. All was clean, and the water pressure was good.

The challenge here is that Colonia and Uruguay in general is not expensive. I stopped into the Mansion del Virrey, another historic hotel with a Uruguay four star rating, and a much larger room was available for $75 a night. I wish I had stayed there.

Breakfast is in a riverview room on the second floor. Nice continental set-up, even if the large sign prohibits you from taking any food out of the room.

There is a guest internet terminal--good connection, but the keys stick.

The staff was polite, but when I asked to extend my checkout 15 minutes--11:15 rather than 11a--I was given considerable attitude.

My trip to Argentina and Uruguay included stays at 6 hotels. . .and this was my least favorite. Stop by to see the courtyard. . .then stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelBeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2009

We spent one night in Colonia and stayed at Posada Plaza Mayor. It is situated right on the main plaza of town - can't ask for a more central or convenient location. Several restaurants are literally within steps of the hotel; the pulperia across the cobbled road was particularly good. In addition to the central courtyard, there is a pleasant patio/backyard in the rear with comfy chairs and shade trees, for those seeking more peace and privacy. The buffet breakfast consisted of pastries, croissants, fresh orange juice and coffee.

We stayed in the suite, which has a large sitting area, decent-sized bathroom and a big window that opens onto the street. (It got a little noisy during the day with the occasional scooter passing by, but it wasn't too bad.) The king-sized bed and linens were just OK.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Concha15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2009

I visited Colonia del Sacramento with a friend and enjoyed the stay very much at the Posada Plaza Mayor. It is in the perfect location - within walking distance to most of the downtown area (restaurants, shops, parks/plazas, museums, coast). The staff was incredibly friendly, and assisted us with arranging a tour of the town/phone calls/laundry service. The rooms are spacious (with high ceilings) and very clean. It was nice to be able to open our room doors to the beautiful courtyard/fountain on the ground floor. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone for a nice weekend getaway!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIJ-Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

By far the best place I've ever stayed in. The rooms are stunning, the location is breathtaking, the breakfasts are fabulous, the hotel is beautiful and the service is second to none.

I booked this after it appeared in a book "1000 places to see and things to do before you die". Now I know why. Amazing!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boydus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
961 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,166 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento ...
#4 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,022 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Plaza Mayor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Plaza Mayor

Address: Calle Del Comercio 111 | Barrio Histórico, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £89 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada Plaza Mayor 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Posada Plaza Mayor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Mayor Hotel
Posada Plaza Mayor Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing