We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, friendly and well located”
Review of Posada del Angel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Posada del Angel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Small hotel on the outskirts of the old city, two blocks from the Porton de Campo, main square, ruins and lighthouse, as well as a range of restaurants. Conveniently close to the bus station and ferry. The hotel building itself was charming and cosy, high ceilings, stained glass, wood fire and views into a well cared for garden with pool for the summer months. Importantly - given we were there on a freezing wet and windy weekend - rooms were well heated, and the beds had down-filled bed covers. The bed was huge and comfortable, bathroom was simple, but very functional. Staff were welcoming and helpful. There was also a good breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice and unlimited coffee.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Based on all the good reviews on Tripadvisor, we decided to make a reservation here. We found a nice offer for only USD 70 at despegar.com for a room with outdoor view (normal price USD 100).

But... when we arrived at the hotel, the lady at the reception said there was no reservation. When we showed our confirmation she said she could only offer us a room in another (related) hotel for USD 85 / night. Before we could say we wanted to check that hotel first on the internet, she was already on the phone arranging our reservation there. When finaly we could make clear that we didn't want to go there without checking the reviews, she asked us what the problem was and why we didn't want to pay the extra money for this nice other hotel...

Then she wanted us the cancel the reservation with Despagar (now at once, they did have a reservation in their system). I tried this, but got the message that we would be charged the full amount, so I declined. Then she called with Despegar and said that WE needed to cancel the reservation because of family problems! I guess she didn't want to admit they made a mistake as Despagar would still charge them in that case...

We don't know exactly what went wrong, but this hotel is not the best in problem resolutions. I think it would at least be fair to offer us the other room for the same price. Also, we didn't really have the idea that she was completely honest about the lost reservation. Maybe someone else wanted to pay the full price for the room? Also, she didn't speak a word English, what didn't really make things easier.

I would not recommend trying to make a reservation here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank jorisbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We really liked this hotel - staff are friendly, the breakfast is tasty and the location is really convenient for the ferry as well as for restaurants and attractions. The room was clean, spacious and had high ceilings, big windows and a comfortable bed. Overall it's a good choice if you want a relaxed and characterful place to stay.

It's worth knowing that they gave a discount for paying in cash and take US dollars as well as Uruguayan pesos.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 622travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We loved this wee hotel. It is in a very handy location, just a couple of minutes walk from the old town, in a quiet street and a few blocks from the ferry terminal.
The whole hotel is decorated with wee angels everywhere (painted, carved, wee statues...) and it has a very relaxing atmosphere. There is a wee garden where you can sit (they clealry stated that you should ask for towels to sit on the chairs) and a wee swimming pool. Of course, it is not a five stars hotel, but if you're looking for a cosy and welcoming place, this is the hotel for you.
The breakfast was ok, with fruits juice, coffee or tea, cakes, toasts ect...it wasn't the biggest breakfast we had during our holidays and yes, there weren't loads of fruits however, I think it was in line with the price we paid (64€ per night for a double room).
We had a room near the reception, we loved the decoration and the room was clean. Ok, it wasn't big, the hair drier was very very slow and there wasn't a fridge in the room, but the air conditioning was working, there was a safe and I think that we can live without wireless connection for a few days ;-)
The staff was also very friendly, when we left we were supposed to catch our ferry in the afternoon and they had no problem at all to store our luggage.
Again, you have to remember that you're not in Paris, you're in beautiful Uruguay. If you're looking for the comforts of a 4 stars hotel, this is not the hotel for you however, if you're looking for a quiet, nice and welcoming place to stay then, I think you should consider it. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: If you can try to get a room on the first floor so that you can view the garden. Our room was near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyukkien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We had read the reviews on trip advisor and chose this hotel based on them. We were disappointed by the quality, which was not worth the 105 us dollars for one night. The breakfast was poor, with no variety. The room was small noisy and dark with a small bed and no fridge . We could not sit in the garden as the chairs were dirty. The only positive was that the staff were very friendly and it was close to the old town.. We know it was a boutique hotel but it was disappointing over all. We don't know how this won a trip advisor award 2013.

Room Tip: Possibly a back rOom upstairs would avoid the road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bren340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Hotel is small, couzy and staff quite nice .
I was there for one night only , therefore the problems encountered were minimized ,but if you would stay more days with a room without a fridge , neither a glass of water , an internet wi fi which does not functionned and a very basic breakfast with only one single fruit , you would be a lilltle bit nervous ..

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maurice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Posada del Angel added to the overall charm of visiting Colonia del Sacramento. It is 5 blocks from the ferry terminal. Please note that as of January 2013, the location is incorrectly marked on Google maps. The posada is not located near Gran Flores, but is closer to Manuel Lobo on Washington Barbot street. It is a few short blocks to the city center with El Cali, the artisanal ice cream shop about 2 blocks away.

Service - as many of the reviews have suggested, the staff are what really makes this place special. Please note that hardly any English is spoken, but nevertheless, they were patient with us and able to answer many of our questions. There is Wi-Fi, but the signal is stronger in the common areas. We very much enjoyed the pool at the end of a long day sightseeing.

Rooms - We had Room 1 with a double bed overlooking the street. Like the common areas of the hotel, it was clean and charming with all of the angel motifs. The posada is located on a quiet street, so even though we were street-level, we were not affected by any traffic noise. Room #1, however, is located right at the entrance of the posada, so you will hear people coming and going. Since it is a small establishment anyways with only so many guests, it wasn't really an issue.

Breakfast is typical of most hotel breakfasts we've come across in the region: ham, cheese, assortment of breads like croissants, coffee, tea, and fresh orange juice.

I would recommend this posada if you're looking for something quaint and reflective of Colonia's old world charm.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
944 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento ...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Posada El Viajero
Posada El Viajero
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
676 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada de la Flor
Posada de la Flor
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada del Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada del Angel

Address: Washington Barbot 59, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £60 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Posada del Angel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Posada del Angel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Angel Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Posada Del Angel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing