We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Mirador Hotel and Spa
Reviewed 8 May 2008

Well... I went with my boyfriend for a romatinc get away....we're from Argentina, so it was very close to us....our principal idea was to go to other hotels... but the only one aviable was this one...(we booked with no time :S)

The hotel has its own combi so they pick you up when you arrive from Buquebus...

The check in was quick and nice...we were given a room with no sight, so we ask for a change, and no problem!

the room es very confortable and warm....the food in the breackfast and dinner, very good, and VERY NICE ATENTION from the personal.....

the pool is nice, but it was cold!

for now, all PROS...the onli CONS....it's a little far away from the historical center, and the main streets....

advisable!!!

-----------

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dafnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for El Mirador Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

21 - 27 of 452 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2007

Our room on the top floor had a great little balcony and panoramic views of the town and river. It was a five-minute walk into historic Colonia, just far enough outside town to avoid any tourist crowds. (Though we were there in winter, so thankfully the crowds were few.)

The room was cozy and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, considering our Spanish skills amounted to very few words. There is also a brand new indoor pool that looked very inviting. And the restaurant is a great option for those nights when you don't feel like leaving the hotel.

The hotel is a five-minute walk from the Buquebus (the high-speed ferry to Buenos Aires). They also have a van that will take you there and pick you up.

As two women traveling alone, we always felt safe in the hotel and walking around Colonia. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2006

My husband and I were in BA last December 05 and wanted to get out of the city for New Years Eve "like most locals" ... we heard some good things about Colonia and decided it was close enough that we made arrangements on the fly through Bouquebus. It was a few hours by boat to Uruguay and sounded like a good way to relax towards the end of our trip. The trip was all inclusive ... boat ride, transportation from the boat to the hotel, meals, and even a city tour in English. Well ... you get what you pay for.
The boat ride was actually kind of fun. The transportation from the bus was a hectic as they weren't very organized, but we managed to get to the hotel. The hotel was a bit frightening.
The facilities are on the older side, the rooms are small and not very nice at all. The bathrooms were as basic as basic gets, with very poor water pressure.
Our room was on the second floor and the hotel didn't have an elevator ... so they had to carry our lugguage on their backs up the stairs. The outdoor pool was large, but also on the older side. The pool chairs were those straight out of the 70's ... if you managed to get one and not sit on the grass.
The meals at the hotel not very good at all. Breakfast was very basic. Dinner was cold and bland ... lot's of cheese on everything. The service was lacking.
The hotel was located close to the town, probably a 15 minute walk, but there was nothing else around ... so bring a book, or two.
Overall, I would say ... if you can get another hotel ... do it. If you're stuck ... it's okay, if you close your eyes to most of the details.
ps. Most of the staff at this hotel does not speak English ... but will struggle to help you out.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saphireinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2006

i actually enjoyed this hotel quite a bit, the indoor swimming pool was pretty big, the staff very friendly, the restaurant way above average, sure, it is not the waldorf or the delano but it is still good

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank peterhelms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2006

We booked this hotel through "Buquebus" (their staff recommended it highly) but I must say it's not for the winter season.

The hotel lacks central heating, there are small and noisy hot/cold air conditioners in every room. As a result, hallways, restaurant and lobby are freezing cold and in our first room we didn't get enough heat from the AC so they had to change us to another.

Also, don´t go for the "Spa". The Spa is actually a very nice indoor pool and a (hallway) separated sauna room, but incredibly there is no changing room near them, just toilets, so I don´t think anyone has ever used the sauna (imagin' yourself going out sweating and back dripping in the open hallway). The hotel is pretty big so walking from your room in a robe to the pool is also painfull in such low temperatures.

The walk to the barrio historico is 20+ minutes long (nice if you like walking and is a fine day) but if it is windy, very cold or rainy you will regret not being in a posada.

Finally, the restaurant is totally overpriced for such small dishes.

This might be a nice place to stay in summer (with the nice grounds, tennis courts and outdoor pool), but in winter I would definitely recommend staying in a downtown posada.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Diego_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galemoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank silvana f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.7 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,125 reviews
0.9 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,102 reviews
0.8 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#6 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
979 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Dazzler Colonia
Hotel Dazzler Colonia
#15 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
348 reviews
0.8 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Mirador Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Mirador Hotel and Spa

Address: Av. Roosevelt 381, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £81 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Mirador Hotel and Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Mirador Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Mirador Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
El Mirador Hotel And Spa Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing