We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place for relax and enjoy nature and sports.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

An unique resort by the Río de la Plata river, a few minutes away from the lovely and historical Colonia old town, at 2 hours by car from Montevideo and at only one hour by ship to Buenos Aires, that is right in front of Colonia, crossing the river. Excellent restaurants that offer complete breackfast, lunch and dinner services at international level and wonderful outdoor facilities with big swiming pools on a natural environment.

Room Tip: Best rooms are those with view to the river; from rooms on the highest floor you can also see Buenos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RICARDO V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Colonia2014, Director of Sales at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Ricardo V,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon!

Looking forward to your contact.

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,023)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

45 - 51 of 1,023 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Unfortunately I was not able to spend the night at the hotel as me and and my friends stay in Buenos Aires, however, we had a great time during the few hours spent there. Some of us played at the golf course located on property, others decided to have some spa treatments and everything was superb. Our lunch was excellent and the service exceeded our expectation. The hotel is modern, beautifully designed and has a very nice area to relax and the warmth of the staff made everything even better.

I would love to stay at the hotel during my next visit and spend more time to use the facilities ti their potential.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeronicaJacobsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheraton_Colonia2014, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear VeronicaJacobsen,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon and for a couple of nights!

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Family of four, stayed at the Sheraton Colonia in April, 8 nights split in two stays of 3 and 5 nights.

As a family we felt welcome from day one and all our needs were attended to in an efficient but very friendly manner. We arrived very tired after long flights and the staff across areas of the resort helped and really looked after us.

Our rooms were clean and offered best views of the River Plate, golf course and the pool area. The Real de San Carlos views of the river are just spectacular, with unforgettable sunsets.
The big windows take advantage of the great location.

Breakfast buffet style, just what you need to kick start the day, with a good choice of fruit,"bizcochos", breads, jams, cheeses and some cooked little dishes. Waiters and service relaxed but attentive. It gets busy during peak holiday periods and still the staff manage to serve you well and smile all the way.

The mini club is well equipped and run with a varied programme to keep the younger ones moving and active for hours. Our kids had a wonderful time during the Easter week, playing outdoor and indoor games.

The weather was changeable during our stay and that made the Sheraton all the more interesting, with incredible thunder storms developing over the river one night and the most beautiful blue skies with views of Buenos Aires across the estuary on other days. The spa and outdoor pools great. Golf, walks to inspire you with fab views of Colonia. Cycling for those with pedalling in mind... fishing...or just seat down with a book by the pool with nature all around.

Front desk and reservations departments dealt with our ever changing schedule in the most efficient and accommodating way, 5 star service! So grateful.

We certainly look forward to visiting Sheraton Colonia again, a great resort in the beautiful city of Colonia.

We commend the management for the delivery of quality service with charm and no fuss.
Great job. Thank you again.

Any questions? Just ask the friendly and well informed front desk/concierge staff and they will go the extra mile to assist.

Thank you Sheraton for a really pleasant stay!

Room Tip: High floor rooms with River Views are a treat if you are ready for the awesome River Plate, still, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 08Nic008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonCol, Director of Sales at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear 08Nic008,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon!

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent two night in October. The hotel installation are great but the food was a disaster and expensive. We took the "buffet" menu in big restaurante and the food was horrible. In the night we dinner in the lobby bar the children menu was excellent compare with the restaurant. We dinner the two night there with the children's menu.
Is not near to the city of Colonia and they don't have free transportation. We played Golf and the course is very nice. The SPA is the best that the hotel have, but is not cheap. We took classic massage and Vine therapy for couples. The breakfast was poor too, I found a hear in the bread. The food feel that is not from the day. Really very expensive hotel and very bad experience. I don't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yamila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SheratonCol, Director of Sales at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Yamila T,

First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to write these lines about your experience at our hotel.

We regret that our service did not meet your expectations and wanted to ask you to send us to reservas.colonia @ sheraton.com a telephone number where we can contact you with the aim you can tell us more about the problems that occurred during stay.

Again we apologize for not having provided the expected service.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We needed a break and had a great time at sheraton colonia. We went without our child and used both the open and closed pool. The staff were great and very friendly, they were helpful and took care of our needs. We had a room with a pool view. Lovely! There was a pretty decent buffet breakfast, not included in the rate but offered for a decent price. They also have a program for children! We might go back with our son.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrita2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Adrita,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and look forward to your next visit, hopefully very soon!

Looking forward to your contact.

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We came over from Buenos Aires for a quick visit to Colonia and chose the Sheraton based on what appeared to be a beautiful pool and grounds but boy were we disappointed. Not typically being Sheraton brand people we didn't have a lot of options in this area and this stay did not enhance my opinion of Sheratons in general. The hotel is a great design, but the hallway carpets were in need of vacuuming and gave you an immediate perception of a hotel lacking cleanliness. The rooms are typically sized with small bathrooms with two chairs and a decent desk. The room itself appeared to be for the most part clean. The bar area is nice, as is the lobby and adjacent common areas. The room prices are completely out of line with the product provided, with no breakfast included and spa access extra. The staff seem pleasant although few speak English, but what is really disappointing is the pool area. The pool itself was filthy with debris on the bottom of the pool and floating. The well worn wood decking surrounding the pool had weeds growing up through the boards, and in general the pool area was shabby--a far cry from the appearance on the website photos! There are many loungers but only the wood loungers in the covered area have lounger pads with all of the loungers surrounding the pool lacking pads which made for uncomfortable sunning. We also had an issue with flies constantly on us causing us to leave the pool early. The grounds and the golf course are nice other than the pool although we did not play golf. The beach and dunes make for a nice walk but due to the dirty brown color of the water it is not necessarily a beautiful scenic beach. Bottom line is this is a very average hotel with a below average pool area in a not-so-great location off the beaten path that I do not recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottyp2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director of Sales at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Scotty:

First of all, we want to thank you for taking the time to write these lines about your experience at our hotel.

We regret that our service did not meet your expectations and wanted to ask you to send us to reservas.colonia @ sheraton.com a telephone number where we can contact you with the aim you can tell us more about the problems that occurred during stay.

Again we apologize for not having provided the expected service.

Regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I have visited the Sheraton-Colonia on many occasions. This time my overall evaluation is "Average", as they are missing the opportunity to "make a difference" between them and other hotels of the region. The basic staff deliver a pretty good service, with the exception of the Housekeeping Department. In this case, they lack the know-how to ammend mistakes by speaking to the guest(s) and apoligizing. As simple as that. But their problema that is doing a great harm to their reputation is the attitude of their management, who do not apply the most important hotel management practice: "MBWA - Managing by Wandering Around". There was not a single occasion when a manager approached us (or any other guests according to my observations) to introduce her/himself, and discover our feelings about the hotel´s performance by posing 2 or 3 simple questions, such as "Will you return" - "Are you willing to recommend us".
Removing this practice has been an unfortunate decisión. On my part, this was my last visit.

Room Tip: Always make sure to reserve a De Luxe room facing the River Plate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 666Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LauraCelesteMatajurc, Director Comercial at Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Tom,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We are really sorry to read that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we would be grateful if you could send us a telephone number where we can contact you to reservas.sheraton@sheraton.com

Looking forward to your contact.

Kind regards,

Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
2.8 mi away
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento ...
#4 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,231 reviews
2.3 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,166 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Dazzler Colonia
Hotel Dazzler Colonia
#15 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#7 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
727 reviews
2.9 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
963 reviews
3.2 mi away
El Mirador Hotel and Spa
El Mirador Hotel and Spa
#16 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort

Address: Continuacion de la Rambla de Las Americas S/N, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Phone Number:
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
#4 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £140 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort. Our hotel in Colonia Del Sacramento, Uruguay is a looking point over the calm beaches and soft breezes of a destination listed as a World Heritage Site by Unesco, due to its rich history. Nestled in the residential neighbourhood "Real de San Carlos", a peaceful area just 5 minutes from the historic quarter and harbor, our hotel is just 45 minutes from Buenos Aires by ferry, or a 2-hour drive from Montevideo, Uruguay´s capital City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Colonia Golf Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Golf And Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Del Sacramento
Sheraton Colonia Hotel
Colonia Del Sacramento Sheraton
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing