We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!!”
Review of Charco Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charco Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Newton, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great find!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Fantastic location, great and accommodating staff, best food in Colonia for dinner as well as the included breakfast, and clean modern rooms with all amenities - this is definitely THE PLACE to stay! .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickSimonPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    49
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
43
184
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

It's the second time that I stay in Charco and it keeps its outstanding quality. The hotel is so beautiful and delicate, the bed is gorgeous and the service is the best I've seen in any hotel. Guillermo and Serafin were so nice yet professional with us. There is no other hotel like this in Uruguay, not to say in Colonia. It deserves a full weekend, enjoying it and its restaurant, best in the city as well.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We found the restaurant one stormy March evening and sat at the table up against the window watching the waves crash against the rocks - it was perfect! Then we stayed in the hotel on our return to Colonia - an amazing room set in the remnants of the old building. It really is a magical place to stay!

Room Tip: Book either room 1 or room 2 if you want the large beautiful room set in the remnants of the old bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah_2912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The location is unbeatable, right in the heart of the old city, by the river shore, you can see the lighthouse from the garden.
The rooms are so beautiful and peaceful you wish to stay all day.Keeping the old structure and decorated with modernity and art in every corner.
The breakfast is by far the best I've tried, everything was delicious,
Great attention to details, they have from bicycles to umbrellas to use, and the personel was very attentive and kind.
Will definitly make this my stop in Colonia every time.

Room Tip: Every room is diferent, I bet the best are number 7 and 6 that look to the river, but Number 1, alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lali77BuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My friend and I spent two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it. A tranquil and tasteful mix of old and new. Clean Scandinavian design and whitewashed walls. All very true to its website. What We did find was a team of staff where no request was too much. Reception and restaurant staff were all helpful. In the restaurant the staff laid a table for us wherever We wanted. The outdoor terrace with a view on the lake. After a couple of very expensive and poor quality meals in Colonia, we ended up having all our meals in the hotel. For a few pesos more We had a couple of memorable meals. Thank you Natalia, Edoardo, German and the rest of the staff

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annamaria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

There is no comparison of this delightful, calm, beautiful restaurant to all the other touristy bars/bistros in Colonia. It was superb. What a gem! Such an extraordinary setting right on the Rio de la Plata, just a block off the main square in Colonia. It was very windy when we were there in mid-February 2014, so we elected to eat indoors, but were still able to enjoy the wide open view of the river. It's a bit off the beaten path, but well worth the short walk. We enjoyed the best salads with the freshest ingredients we had had in the 10 days we'd been in South America. I recommend the housemade orange-dijon salad dressing as well as the homemade ravioli with squash. It was so very fresh and flavorful. And, of course, we also enjoyed the wines. We'd go back in a flash - without a doubt. Thank you! (P.S. We did not stay in the hotel. We were day trippers and took the 10pm ferry back to BA.)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 56pamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Champery, Switzerland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Out of the crowd, in font of the Rio de la Plata, Charco is a very nice restaurant (sunny terrace), The staff is friendly, the meals are good (we were there for lunch) and you can use the Wi-Fi while drinking a cocktail ;-) Great place at the entrance of the "old quarter".

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claude S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,037 reviews
1.3 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,053 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
955 reviews
1.3 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#10 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charco Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charco Hotel

Property: Charco Hotel
Address: San Pedro 116, Colonia del Sacramento 1111, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Charco Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its strategic location in the historic town of Colonia del Sacramento, a magnificent view of the river and its warmth, make the experience of visiting a cluster intensity and experiences become. Our White Rooms acclimated under colonial style conducive to calm and arouse the senses of our guests. Brightness, whiteness, space, silence ... An atmosphere that represents a journey in itself. Seven worlds to discover seven unique views, seven elegant bedroom luxury for relaxation and wellness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Charco Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charco Hotel Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing