We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem...An Oasis”
Review of Don Antonio Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Don Antonio Posada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 February 2013

If you want to esacpe book into this hotel. Located in central Colonia this coudl not be a better location. The rooms are no sumptious but more than adequate. The setting is tranquil and superb. All rooms face inward onto the courtyard/pool. The staff is extemely friendly and very accomodating. If you want to escape this is the place to come to!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2013

First things first: if you´re going to stay in Colonia, stay near the old part of town (where all the posadas are). That way you can walk to and from anywhere. I´d also recommend renting a scooter or a golf cart for your stay (there´s several companies that provide the service on the town´s main street), so you can head out to the beaches for an afternoon without having to bail a cab.

Now on to Don Antonio: it´s, by far, the nicest posada in town. It´s only 1 block away from the old part of town and it´s absolutely charming. The service is wonderful, it has a nice pool (which is important during the hot summer months....you´ll feel like taking a break from the sightseeing to take a dip mid-afternoon, and with the posada so close by, you can!), free WIFI throughout the property, A/C and ceiling fans in every room, and the architecture is beautiful.

I´d recommend the "superior" rooms, which are a tad more expensive than the standards, but face the indoor patio where the pool is.

I´ll be back. It was absolutely worth it.

Room Tip: The junior suite has a jacuzzi in it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzalo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and me were this past weekend in Colonia , Uruguay. This is my 4th time to Colonia. This time we lodge in Posada Don Antonio. I have to say that this posada is really a greta option!
I think it´s the best if you compare price & quality. All the staff members are so nice and they have a good education in customer service knowledge. The breakfast is great! Fruits, croissants, toasts, muffins, yogurth, juice everything you like is there on the table. We spent 2 nights in one of the best rooms Junior Suite. It was really a big room with good space, queen size bed, big bathroom & jacuzzi! When we arrived we had a bottle of champagne for free whenever we want to take it. It has a good pool. Not so big but really comfortable to refresh yourself! Everything was excellent and the location is the best. It´s half a block Flores Ave. and really near the Barrio Histórico. We stayed Friday and Saturday night. As on Sunday our room was not rented, the staff let us stay with a late check out for same price. I only have to say thanks to all the staff for everything!!! For sure we will come back to POsada Don Antonio.

From Argentina,
Roman.

Room Tip: If you want to spend some money, try to book a Junior Suite. Specially room 318, you will sleep easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The location of this lovingly restored Posada is simply great, right on the edge of the Barrio historico, yet fairly quiet. Our light and airy room was small, but adequately furnished, all in white, and overlooking the patio with the small,clean pool and pretty fountain. The wardrobe was tiny, the TV ancient,and no in room safe, but the bathroom was large, with a nice, powerful walk in shower.
Upon check in, we received a nice,personal welcome from the owner, and ,in general, all staff we encountered were personable,friendly,and exceedingly polite.The excellent breakfast was served in a small, tastefully decorated breakfast room, and consisted of a small, but delicious buffet. The nice fruit basket was complemented by a lovely bowl of strawberries. A good selection of juices,cereals and yoghurt. The bread was very good,as was the selection of cheeses (you don't get that often in Argentina/Uruguay), salamis and hams, and pastries, and very strong coffee!
This hotel is within walking distance of all the sights in Colonia, as well as the restaurants. It is a great place to stay, however, as everywhere in this beautiful little town, is overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ullabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This was our second stay at Don Antonio. It was still the best place to stay in Colonia. Close to the old City, fantastic courtyard with pool and good breakfast. The hotel has a very good vibe. We will comeback back sometime again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms, often they can be booked in advance with a discount on the internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Esben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We spent one night at Posada Don Antonio. It is a simple, but lovely hotel with a great location to walk anywhere and it is extremely quiet. The room was small, but very clean and more than enough space for a night or two. It really is in a beautiful spot of Colonia and we found the breakfast to be very good , large and lots of variety of food. Colonia itself is a gem, truly well worth the visit and we wished we had stayed for a couple of days. We would certainly go back to the Posada Don Antonia if we were to return to Colonia.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Posada Don Antonio was located on one of the most beautiful streets in Downtown Colonia. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms and inner courtyard with the pool are quiet, pretty, quaint and classy. One of the highlights was the huge, delicious breakfast buffet in the morning. You cannot beat the price, location and style of Don Antonio Posada!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benandsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento ...
#4 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,203 reviews
1 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#12 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Posada Plaza Mayor
Posada Plaza Mayor
#13 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Antonio Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Antonio Posada

Address: Ituzaingo 232, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £58 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Antonio Posada 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Don Antonio Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Antonio Posada Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Don Antonio Posada Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing