We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of Don Antonio Posada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Antonio Posada
Certificate of Excellence
Carbondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were treated to an overnight stay at this hotel when visiting friends in Uruguay.
Our room was a wonderful two room suite and very comfortable. We heard no road noise at night and the front desk staff made every effort to ensure our stay was pleasant.
They were very helpful when asked any question and made our stay easier.
Minor down side was no restaurant on premises, but there are plenty of options nearby. That said, a breakfast was included and had a great many options available.
We were a little surprised by having to hand our key off to the front desk when coming and going during our stay! But that was an interesting experience.
We certainly hope to be able to return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    379
    79
    11
    2
See reviews for
157
549
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We booked for one night to stay here the day before we arrived in Colonia. The room we had booked - a double, was "broken" so the staff upgraded us to a better room. It was lovely, high ceiling, a sitting and dining area and a really comfortable bed. The room looked out onto the street and had two small balconies. The room was in the old part of the building. Our daughter had a room in the newer part of the hotel, looking onto the pool area. This too was a lovely light and airy room, which she liked. I though the all white and off white decor was just right and felt very cool and relaxed.

We checked out at 11am but used the facilities on and off all day into the late afternoon until our ferry trip back to BA at 17.45. The staff were all friendly and happy to have us stay on.

I would definitely stay here again and would love to visit in warmer weather to be able to relax around the pool. This is the kind of place, and town, where it is very enjoyable to slow down and relax.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Perfect place for a romantic getaway in magical Colonia. It's wonderful and charming. It has a homely feeling to it and the staff is very attentive. You feel completely pampered in this strategically located posada in the heart of this beautiful Uruguayan colonial town.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angeles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Located on a quiet street, yet close to the main road, this a great place to stay.
The staff is friendly, the breakfast is good and the shower water is hot.
The hotel arranged a bi-lingual walking tour for all interested guests.
If you're there in warm weather, the pool is nice.

The bad = rooms have NO safes and the hotel will NOT hold money for you.

Overall - we're more than happy staying there.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the road - the view was neat and it was NOT loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

After a pretty traumatic experience at Posada el Capullo around the corner, where smelly noisy rooms drove me to cancel my booking, we arrived at Posada Don Antonio in very low spirits.
The lovely Sabrina greeted us with a smile and showed us to a lovely room on the top floor of the new building.
Everything about Don Antonio says Colonia, the location is perfect, the building beautiful and the little swimming pool and courtyard a welcome oasis in the south american summer.
Continental breakfast is very good with plenty of choices and served until quite late which is very nice.
Will definitely be coming back to Don Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogelius77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Beautiful posada on a very good location in Colonia. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, very nice pool area, excelent breakfast.The only negative point at the posada is that there is no safety box in the room and the reception will not take your valuables.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjawim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

spent one night there, on the way to Buenos Aires, not bad place to spend night or two, clean, pool, modest breakfast, air condition, internet, not bad location, not too far from the Old City, very picturesque street, the Old City unbelievably beautiful and very special, enjoined it very much

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
1.0 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#9 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Resort
Sheraton Colonia Golf & Spa Reso...
#5 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Antonio Posada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Antonio Posada

Property: Don Antonio Posada
Address: Ituzaingo 232, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Antonio Posada 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Don Antonio Posada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Antonio Posada Hotel Colonia Del Sacramento
Don Antonio Posada Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing