We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A first for Colonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Charco

Charco
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We prepare our dishes with fresh and carefully selected raw materials that make our final product a healthy and delicious food.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
691 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 796 helpful votes
“A first for Colonia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have been coming to Colonia regularly for a few years without finding one café or restaurant that we were really happy with… until Charco opened, that is. No more compromising with bad service, tasteless food and dated décor, this place has it all, and the best part is you don’t have to pay more for it. Pricing here is comparable with what you will pay elsewhere, perhaps even a little cheaper.

The position on the river is stunning and the décor is designer chic (see my photos). I ordered lamb chops with cuscus and my partner ordered a smoked salmon salad. Our friend ordered the Teriaki Salmon. All three dishes were exquisite. After the mains we ordered coffee, which came out with an assortment of complimentary cookies and mineral water.

This is a very special place, so much so that it makes it onto my list of world standard special café/restaurants, … need I say anymore?

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,064
    372
    60
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
208 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Almost a five”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is a lovely new place right by the river. It's well appointed and very comfortable. Away from the usual tourist spots on the two squares. Service was excellent. Good seafood appetizer with calamari which was a bit too salty for my taste, excellent smoked salmon on blini, and great fried prawns with a peach salsa. The mains were good, not great. Salmon was slightly over cooked and dry but the vegetables with it were great. And pumpkin and cheese ravioli with a very good mushroom sauce which was a little heavy and overwhelmed the taste of the pasta. Dessert was a fabulous chocolate lava cake with a lovely cream ice cream. 

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank paul f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful romantic dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We had dinner at Charco sitting out on the candle lit terrace overlooking the river. We had the terrace to ourselves which was probably due to eating early at 7.30 pm but very special. The service was outstanding and the food excellent. The menu isn't extensive, but attention to detail for each dish was great. We shared a seafood platter to start and this was plenty for two, the flavours lovely and the squid rings very tender. The beef and salmon mains were tender and juicy- I love it when salmon isn't overdone! We would highly recommend this restaurant for lunch or dinner and feel sure with a view more reviews it will be the number one spot for dining in Colonia having eaten at number 1.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachandMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch, great setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stumbled across this lovely place. Decor inside is crisp and fresh and a nice terrace outside with comfy sofas. Both restaurant and terrace have views over the river. Food was good - we shared the tastes of the sea starter and then I had the smoked salmon salad (very fresh and nicely dressed) and my boyfriend had the pumpkin and goat cheese pasta ravioli which was well made. Relaxed and friendly vibe.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Best food in the best location in Colonia! This is a new bistro connected to a new hotel (opened December 2013). The salads were large, fresh, and flavorful. The caramelized onion pizza was great. The pastries and smoothies looked yummy. We sat outside on comfy, white sofas and watched the sunset. The service was relaxed, but we were planning to spend a while and didn't want to rush. Especially given the prices in Colonia, Charco was a good value.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EugenieFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charco also viewed

Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
Colonia del Sacramento, Colonia Department
 

Been to Charco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing