We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (378)
Filter reviews
378 results
Traveller rating
124
174
68
11
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
174
68
11
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 378 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We stayed here for one night, and while I agree with the other reviews that this place is quaint, friendly, clean etc. I must say that we had a rather strange experience here. After trying some other hotels that had no vacancies, we walked in here and the lady at the desk first showed us a room that was almost an obstacle course to get to, up different flights of stairs to a nook on the the top floor. We had some heavy suitcases, and she said that there is nobody to help us get them up there, so we declined the room. She then offered us a larger room, on the first floor, right next to the computer in the lobby. It was a huge old room with old 15 foot wooden doors that did not exactly lock all the way. It had a spiral staircase leading up to a loft, a large black jacuzy tub, (that would not drain). And a large cockroach in the middle of the creaking wooden floor. We spent a restless night in this huge old room with antique furniture and unlocked doors that opened into an old garden area in the back. In the morning we asked the front desk lady if she new about the shower/tub not draining properly, and she sheepishly admitted that it does have a problem. The breakfast was not anything great, cheese and bread, rolls etc. Interesting, unique place, not worth $135.00 we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank viajero1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

we stayed one night here and were quite satisfied. The room was comfortable, the AC worked, breakfast was very good with cereals, ham, chees, pastries and the ubiquitous dulce de leche. 5 minute stroll, if that, to the main plaza. Front desk people were very gracious and helpful. Colonia is a charming town which could easily be seen in 2 hours (3 if you have a leisurely espresso at an outdoor cafe near the plaza). We arrived via the ferry from BA and took the bus to Montevideo the next morning. I think that depending on time constraints you could zip thru Colonia in a few hours or stay the night like we did and either way you would get a good feel for the town.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RickNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2008

We stayed a night at the Posada del Virrey. The hotel's location is right in the tourist zone. It was easy to walk to and from the ferries (from Buenos Aires) to the hotel.

The staff had limited English skills, but we we had no problem communicating with them. They are professional.

The room was clean and spacious. The common areas were also clean and charming.

Continental breakfast was fine. Juice, coffee, yogurt, fruit, cheese, ham, croissants, and other bakery goods.

There is a public computer in the common area that you can use to access the internet.

The television set is much too small in the room. That is the only complaint we could think of.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Liquidity_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2008

I stayed at the hotel with my girlfriend for a couple of days. The building in itself is quite a spectacle - the house is very well maintained, and deserves to be seen. Breakfast was not spectacular, but adequate.

Staff is really friendly and accomodating, though foreigners should keep in mind their English speaking skills are pretty basic. We extended our trip for one day, and they were very efficient on the task.

The blankets and towels were all clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and tidy, but neither spacious nor luxurious (bear in mind it was a standard bedroom). The only issue I'd mention is that, at least in the rooms of the ground floor, sometimes the toilets do not flush adequately.

On the other hand, it should be mentioned that our stay there was in most probably the three hottest days of the year (over 40 C - 104 F) and the air conditioner (thank god) worked wonderfully and was almost noiseless.

Although the hotel does not have Internet access or a pool in its building you can use the facilities of a hotel of the same owners that is within walking distance.

Finally, the location is awesome, within the historical part of the city, but a couple of blocks away from the most noisy streets, so it remains totally peaceful.

Definitely worth a try.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank acdisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Three nights at Posada del Virrey did not exhaust its many charms.

Excellent service staff, immediate response to every inquiry.

Clean, antique filled rooms were a delight.

Excellent breakfast, well beyond the standard fare, included
some local delicacies.

Central location made short walks a delight, whether off to the
pier a block away, to good restaurants nearby or to several
nearby "bars".

This was one of the best hotels in a month long South American
trip, in a truly wonderful place - Colonia, a World Heritage site.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank c0metman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews