We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough, good location, but somewhat over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2010

This was my 5th visit to Colonia, a charming historic little town which I like very much.
On this occasion I stayed one night in the Beltran and moved just along the road to here because I thought the Beltran had inflated its prices a lot since my previous visit. This one proved to be very much the same story. Admittedly it was high season (Jan/Feb) so if you visit at any other time it will be somewhat more reasonable.

Af first we were shown a small room downstairs in the courtyard but the lady said she had another one with balcony and river-view for the same price - $95, which I thought sounded nice, but I couldnt see it because it wasn´t ready yet. By the time it was ready we had no choice Unfortunately to reach it one had to climb an absurdly steep (imo, quite dangerous) steel staircase that had been bolted onto the exterior. Getting our suitcases up there - and there was no help - was a real struggle, heaving them up in front of me 2 steps at a time.

The balcony, actually a patio, was quite nice (if very hot in afternoon) and at least had a plastic table and chairs. The room was large, had a fridge and the aircon worked well, but basically it was rather plain, certainly not 4-star. The breakfast was average S.America fare, the fruit better than usual with strawberries and kiwis.

Wifi internet was available in the lobby, dining room, but not in our room. There was one guest computer, small screen, in lobby.

There are some apparently much fancier modern rooms upstairs which I didnt see, but they were priced at $120/145 (about 10% less in low season).

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

51 - 57 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2009

We had an opportunity to spend an evening here and you will not be disappointed. The rooms are well maintained with antique furnishings and very large size rooms. They have wireless Internet and a beautiful breakfast set out in their cozy dining area. It is right next to the river and in the center of the hustle and bustle. The service was perfect with all of our questions answered. For those considering others reviews - please note that sometimes travelers except the same type of service as they may receive in their own country and if they don't they assume it is poor service. If you want an authentic experience, a beautiful comfortable stay, and somewhere very affordable then I thoroughly recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kedmab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

The hotel is some kind of old fashion posada with nice terrace but the service is really poor... to say the least. When we arrived we couldn't get the room before 3.00 PM. We finally got it but with no water. This was sorted out in 1 hour, but there was no warm water... the reception gave us the impression that we were very demanding when we mentioned this little "detail". When we came back around 8.00 PM we were told that the problem was sorted... but there was still no warm water. We were "invited" to move to the next hotel at 9.00 PM which had a similar room but was only 3 stars. We were not offer any taxi or assistance, and move by ourselves at night after repacking.

The other hotel (same chain apparently was nice). We were "generously" offer a 10% discount for the inconvenience and downgrade and decided to file a complaint with the local tourist office. They did not manage to spoil our anniversary but their "romantic night offer" (135 USD) was definitively not what we were expecting.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank guruviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Hotel is in a nice zone, close to old town and most restaurants. Colonia is a beatiful town with so many things to see. It was a Portuguese and Spanish settlement so it provides a rare opportunity to understand that presence in South America. And Posada del Virrey makes it easy to tour around the town.

Two of the largest rooms (king size beds) are in the front on the building and that may be noisy for some people.

Breakfast is very complete, with local sweets including dulce de leche and pasta frola. Good way to start the day !

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Mapariopo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2009

This hotel is quite nice. We enjoyed our one night stay. Paid $65 for one night. Colonia is a very nice place to visit. Only issue was that nobody spoke English...not a word. A little Spanish is a necessity in this part of the world!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank craigt3365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2008

We stayed here for one night, and while I agree with the other reviews that this place is quaint, friendly, clean etc. I must say that we had a rather strange experience here. After trying some other hotels that had no vacancies, we walked in here and the lady at the desk first showed us a room that was almost an obstacle course to get to, up different flights of stairs to a nook on the the top floor. We had some heavy suitcases, and she said that there is nobody to help us get them up there, so we declined the room. She then offered us a larger room, on the first floor, right next to the computer in the lobby. It was a huge old room with old 15 foot wooden doors that did not exactly lock all the way. It had a spiral staircase leading up to a loft, a large black jacuzy tub, (that would not drain). And a large cockroach in the middle of the creaking wooden floor. We spent a restless night in this huge old room with antique furniture and unlocked doors that opened into an old garden area in the back. In the morning we asked the front desk lady if she new about the shower/tub not draining properly, and she sheepishly admitted that it does have a problem. The breakfast was not anything great, cheese and bread, rolls etc. Interesting, unique place, not worth $135.00 we won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank viajero1228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

we stayed one night here and were quite satisfied. The room was comfortable, the AC worked, breakfast was very good with cereals, ham, chees, pastries and the ubiquitous dulce de leche. 5 minute stroll, if that, to the main plaza. Front desk people were very gracious and helpful. Colonia is a charming town which could easily be seen in 2 hours (3 if you have a leisurely espresso at an outdoor cafe near the plaza). We arrived via the ferry from BA and took the bus to Montevideo the next morning. I think that depending on time constraints you could zip thru Colonia in a few hours or stay the night like we did and either way you would get a good feel for the town.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RickNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.1 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
950 reviews
1.1 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,143 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento Hotel
Radisson Colonia del Sacramento ...
#4 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Posada Plaza Mayor
Posada Plaza Mayor
#13 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
394 reviews
0.2 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
327 reviews
1 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#8 of 30 in Colonia del Sacramento
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada del Virrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada del Virrey

Address: Calle de Espana 217, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range: £53 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Posada del Virrey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Posada del Virrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Virrey Hotel
Hotel Posada Del Virrey Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing