We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely, Clean well-Run Hotel with Great Location”
Review of Hotel Italiano

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Italiano
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Lovely, Clean well-Run Hotel with Great Location”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We spent only one night at the Italiano and wish we had spent more time there. The hotel is clean, orderly, modern with smallish but comfortable rooms. The hotel is a five-minute walk to Colonia's lovely attractions. Its staff is efficient and professional. The desk people are helpful both about the hotel's many offerings but for the city, too. The food is excellent. The rates were very good also. We are happy to recommend the Hotel Italiano. You will like it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluefoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    236
    97
    23
    22
See reviews for
120
251
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Our room was basic wooden furniture, an old TV and tiny. The small hot water heater in the bathroom (need quick showers!) obscured my 6'3" husband's view in the mirror. The room was clean.
The hotel is in the midst of a renovation with a brand new stainless steel and marble elevator that was mostly turned off. (It's OK. We were only on the 2nd floor and they turned it on when we brought up our suitcase.) The breakfast room is new and spacious but also very basic with little decoration. They are buiding new rooms but I don't know if anyone is staying in them yet.
Breakfast was only cold food, not particularly interesting.
The hotel is located about 3 blocks from the old town area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenfromChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaford
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here as part of a package deal with return ferry tix to buenos aires.
The location is ideal, tucked down a street between the river and the main street (Flores).
Such is the size of colonia that anywhere is within walking distance.
The double room was two single beds pushed together but there was a decent shower and mini bar. Breakfast was exceptional if you are fond of bread and jam and horrible coffee but next time I'd think to venture out.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant, id stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandolfQuaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

When we arrived we protested the quality and the size of the room. We just came her from same price Dazzler Tower Recoleta, that offered uncomparible comfort to this dump. We were told that it 's the high season and this was it. Since we only booked the Italiano for two nights and were tired from our trip and the heat, we decided to stay. The breakfast was ok, but served only till 10 and when we showed up at 9:45 there was almost nothing left to eat. Aparently this place have been added on a few times so its looks like a maze. Lots of long hallways. The pool area i nice.
They adding on again so there is a noise since 8am. The WiFi in the room doesn't work. Here are some of the facts: the room size 12'x8', bathroom 3' 2"x6' 4" , shower 3' 2" x 2' 10", the bed is 6' 6" x 4' 6" and the attached pictures speak for ti self. $120 USD a night? Are You kidding?

Room Tip: There is quiet a few hotels and posadas that can't be booked on line. If you walk around the tow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laddiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

They are undergoing a significant expansion, and facilities are clean if a little thorn out. It's a nice option just a few steps from both the harbor and the old town center.

They mention parking on the website, but when we got there it was full, so we parked outside just by the main door. Since we didn't use the car during our short stay, it remained there for the whole 3 nights without incidents - as I suspect it would be the case anywhere in Colonia.

Reasonable continental breakfast.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ElGrandT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

It was a short ferry ride from Buenos Aires, and booked hotel through ferry company tourist office Boquebus, for one night (very good) and stayed a second night, but felt like i was price gouged the second night.

upon arrival was greeted by friendly staff and was very pleased with room and reception. was told i will be able to check out as late a 5PM and could book another night if disired.

the next morning decided to stay the second night, was showed a dingy, dark room, with no windows. wanted to remain inthe same room that i was in the first night, but for some reason that was too complicated in this nearly empty hotel..additionaly owners wanted and charged me 35% more for the second night and insisted we check out by 11:00am...HUH?

this hotel has a great indoor heated swimming pool, good food, nice location and friendly staff (except for owners or manager) just a heads up!

  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank deadheadtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2008

Hotel Italiano is a lovely hotel situated between the ferry and the old part of Colonia. From the entrance you see the river at the end of the street, which is filled with leafy trees.
Our plan was to stay there for two nights but it turned out to be such a nice place so we stayed for four nights instead.
The first room we looked at was pretty small and dark so we went for the larger one and that one was really nice, so it was worth the extra money.
They have two pools; one indoor with mosaic and a waterfall; the one outside has a barbecue area and lots of green plants. Both are really well kept and tastefully decorated. So are the common areas like the TV room and entrance.
The breakfast was a typical southamerican one with lots of sweets and few healthy alternatives but the restaurant we ate in was very nice.
The staff was really friendly and helpful so we felt at home right from the beginning.
I can really recommend Hotel Italiano if you want a peaceful and nice stay in the pretty city of Colonia.

  • Liked — that it was cozy and clean
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MadeleneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Colonia del Sacramento hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacramento
Radisson Hotel Colonia del Sacra...
#4 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
2,090 reviews
1.2 mi away
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique Hotel
Costa Colonia Riverside Boutique...
#2 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
1,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Don Antonio Posada
Don Antonio Posada
#3 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
Real Colonia Hotel & Suites
#7 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Posada del Virrey
Hotel Posada del Virrey
#11 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Charco Hotel
Charco Hotel
#1 of 31 in Colonia del Sacramento
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italiano

Property: Hotel Italiano
Address: Intendente Suarez 105 | esq. Manuel Lobo, Colonia del Sacramento 70000, Uruguay
Region: Uruguay > Colonia Department > Colonia del Sacramento
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Colonia del Sacramento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Italiano 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Otel and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Italiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Italiano Uruguay/Colonia Del Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing