We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, helpful and good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of An Hoi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
An Hoi Hotel
Ranked #107 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, helpful and good location”
Reviewed 18 August 2012

No construction going on for our stay on 18th August. We turned up and only just got a room, people after us were turned away. We had a door/window balcony combination and paid US$25 per night. Cheap enough, and good value as the rooms were clean and tidy, complete with air con, fan and TV. Nice pool to cool down especially as temperature at the moment is over 32 degrees !! The guy in reception was helpful and spoke very good english.
We turned up off the overnight bus from Nha Trang, and with an hour of arriving at the hotel, were in our hotel room, so great that we got an early check in. used the laundry facility-usual US$1 per kilo.
Location was great. 2 mins to the main area via the bridge you'll see to the right of the hotel. Plenty of bars and restaurants within the same distance.
Overall, good value for money, great location and clean place.

Room Tip: We stayed in 302 if that helps!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    135
    93
    32
    20
See reviews for
35
135
60
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

At first An Hoi seemed lovely, it is on a nice spot near the river and it seems clean and well kept. When I was shown my room I decided I didn't want to stay there however because there was construction going on just outside my window. I told the man this and he said the construction was going to be finished that afternoon. I asked if he was sure, because I didn't want to stay there if construction might be a problem. He said he was sure construction would finish that afternoon, so I booked in. Early the next morning of course I woke to jackhammers outside my window. When I went to reception they said they would talk to them, did, and the noise stopped for 2 minutes. And then started back up, so I went to reception again and told someone else, and said that if it didn't stop that I would have to check out without paying and go to another hotel. She went and talked to them but the noise didn't stop, so I wearily packed my things and went to check out. She kept insisting that this wasn't their fault because it was their neighbors doing the construction. Of course that is true but the problem is that they lied to me to get me to stay there even though they knew I was adamant that I wouldnt stay if the construction continued. She continued to say it's not the hotels fault but employees that lie and deceive with blatant disregard for their guests is absolutely the hotels fault. The experience of her yelling at me and having to leave in such a way ruined the whole hotel stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We paid $20 for a standard double room for one night and it was pretty good for the price. Not as good amenities as other hotels we stayed at in Hoi An, but all the things you need (aircon, tv, basic shower, comfy bed, fridge etc.). Only con about the room we stayed in would be that the window was tiny (hardly a window), but I guess for $20 you can't really complain. Staff were really friendly and keen to help with anything we asked (they all spoke very good english) and the location is perfect (about 2 minutes from the centre of Old Hoi An).

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012 via mobile

We liked this place! Ok so there was a few problems - there was really loud construction going on next door which put a bit of a damper on things but once we said it was a problem they moved us to another room straight away. The staff were nice and helpful and it is a great location! The shower was a bit weird as it faced outwards onto the floor but hey how much time do you spend in the shower. We ended up staying 9 nights and the owner gifted us a Hoi An tshirt to say thank you which I thought was sweet!

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MandyNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We've read the reviews of An Hoi before so we were aware that there might have a staff problem in this place and our stay there in June 2012 just confirms it.
Although we read the reviews before, we've decided to move to this place because it has a very convenient location and afordable prices. And that's the case.
The first impresion were quite bad as they were supposed to pick us up at 10am in our previous hotel (away from the old town). Even if we could arrange our own transport, they insisted so we said yes. In the end, despite the several phone calls our previous hotel made to them (and all the time they said they were coming), no one came. We've waited for more than a 1hour at the reception.
When we arrived, the lady told us there was no room for $18 but the day before, there was one... When we showed her the room that we've seen, she said "oh yes, that one... ok it's $18". That didn't seem honest to me.
Another anoying point, among others, is that they switch off the air con when they think you're not in the room. And when they see you coming back they quiclky and discretly turns it on again so you can't see anything...
In the end, you really have the impression to be treated as a stupid tourist in this place.
That's a shame cause the hotel itself is very good.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bastien S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The hotel is located near the river. It was very easy to walk to the old town. Great! The air con works well. The laundry service of the hotel is not so expensive. Kind staff. They can give you some information about the city.

There was no shower curtain and bath mat in our room. The internet wifi signal did not work well in our room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azidim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Pros:
- great location, you can walk anywhere in Hoi An from there and still the room was very quiet
- my room on the 2nd floor was nice, quite spacious and clean (however, they offer some dark and windowless rooms on the ground floor at the same price - these ones did not look inviting at all)
Cons:
- breakfast wasn't good
- staff was often quite unfriendly
- reception staff told me a wrong price (18 $ for a single room); I realised a bit later that the official price (singposted at the reception desk) was 300.000 Dong which is 15 $, but they insisted on paying the price they told me in advance
- whenever I passed reception they tried to sell me a tour or a taxi ride or whatever, even if I was hurrying past reception they stopped me and tried to sell me some services - almost every single time!
- they were not honest: quite often they tried to sell me a taxi ride (by their own car) to Danang Airport for 400.000-500.000 Dong; when I told them I wanted to take a motorbike instead (cost up to 150.000), they answered there were no mototaxis in Hoi An so I needed to take their car. This was a clear lie, of course there are mototaxis and I got a ride with the "Easy Riders" for 150.000 Dong.
Despite this behaviour of the staff, I liked the clean, bright and quiet room and the location, so I can still recommend the place. But have a look at the room first before you take it! And check the real prices at the reception signpost first before you agree on a price.

Room Tip: not on the ground floor check the room first and compare
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roland_1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.0 mi away
Long Life Riverside Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 142 in Hoi An
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
River Suites Hoi An
River Suites Hoi An
#29 of 142 in Hoi An
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lantana Boutique Hotel Hoi An
0.5 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.3 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#128 of 142 in Hoi An
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to An Hoi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about An Hoi Hotel

Property: An Hoi Hotel
Address: 69 Nguyen Phuc Chu Str., Minh An Ward | 26 La Hoi Str., Minh An, Hoi An ancient city, Quang Nam province., Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — An Hoi Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the 16th and 17th centuries, Hoi An old town was famous known one of the major trading centers of Southeast Asia and was the home of Western businessmen & traders. And a small charming An Hoi islet raised by the silt by the Thu Bon River appeared. This islet combines the peaceful life with superb natural environment in harmony. Although, there are many social economic developments, Hoi An Old Town as well as An Hoi Islet still retains the ancient cultural Chinese- Japanese features with tile-roofed houses, narrow streets, alluring picturesque Hoai river. The An Hoi hotel is in the center of Hoi An ancient city, just 02 minutes from An Hoi Hotel, you can approach along Thu Bon River and visit the World Heritage Site, the unique cultural symbol of Hoi An Old town named Japanese Covered Bridge (Chua Cau). Only 50m to Nguyen Hoang night market and Food market is 100m. The tourist can shopping, buy some souvenir and can enjoy the traditional food of Hoi An. Which "An Hoi hotel" is the nearest place to come there. How can you get the nearest stay to visit Hoi An old town? Please come and stay with An Hoi hotel, you can experience the romantic moment in the sparkling & fanciful light in the full moon lit nights on the restaurant's balcony overlooking the Hoai river. Particularly, you enjoy the floating lanterns down on the Hoai River in the non- fluorescent lights, non-motorbike streets on the 14th day of each lunar month. This is the ideal place to gaze at many traditional or modern festivals in nationwide or worldwide stature. You can enjoy the sunrise in the morning and gentle breezing wind at noon from Thu Bon lower section. Combining with the daily local people activities, you can take the boat trip on Hoai River or a visiting tour in and around Hoi An Ancient Town such as Tra Que Vegetable Village, Fishing Tour, Hoi An City tour as well as My Son Holly Land.... The An Hoi Hotel with modern furniture facilities and equipments, spacious and furnished in 39 Vietnamese style rooms with a colonial house outlook, reasonable prices as well as especially enthusiastic, trained staffs will meet all your demands. We are honor to be served. The front side of hotel have daily activity " Walking and Cycling Street" , forbidden using motobike and car... The tourist go to our hotel by motobike or car can go the back side of hotel ( 26 La Hoi street) to be welcomed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your An Hoi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing