We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing value, amazing service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoang Trinh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hoang Trinh Hotel
Ranked #23 of 244 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing value, amazing service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

This is the sort of place you go and then think you've been ripped off elsewhere, because the service and quality of the room is so high for the same price paid elsewhere. $20 a night for a double with bath and shower, space to hang clothes, tea and coffee in room, cable tv, and breakfast on a small terrace on the second floor. Plus a well stocked fridge in the lobby with good sitting areas inside and out. We spent quite a bit of time here as we were waiting for clothes to be made and they really made us feel at home. The service was absolutely first class. I asked them to quote us for an open ticket to Saigon, and asked what company they use. When they told me I found that the company had had terrible reviews on the net (Cuc Tung). I told them that we didn't want to book, and why, and she immediately said she could do it through the Sinh Tourist, who turned out to be brilliant. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and the window looked straight into a wall. Didn't bother us, may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    634
    197
    35
    21
    11
See reviews for
71
407
116
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

The real highlight here is the staff and their dedication to making you feel at home. When my wife and I arrived, we were offered a seat at one of their tables in the lobby and were treated to complimentary tea, fruits, and a delicious coconut bun. There was one young lady who was always at the front desk and who we mainly interacted with... She was really sweet and helpful, even if we struggled a bit to communicate with her in English at times. Madam An, the owner of the hotel, was also a very sweet lady who really seemed to value her guests, although we only ran into her a couple times.

We happened to stay at the hotel the week of Christmas... The hotel actually held a little party for all the guests on Christmas Eve which involved multi-course meal (I don't even remember how many courses, just that I was ridiculously full by the end) of traditional Vietnamese foods, some or all of which were local to Hoi An specifically. Plus they lavished us with drinks as well as our very own santas who brought little gifts. It was extremely generous, charming, and also allowed us to meet the other guests at the hotel which was a ton of fun. The whole thing was so thoughtful and memorable.

In spite of all this, I agree with a few of the other reviews when I say that it was a little weird seeing the hotel initially. The lobby was dimly lit and there were some guest rooms in not-so-ideal places such as right near the front desk or by the hotel restaurant area (both of which can get noisy). Perhaps these weren't a big deal, though.

Our room, however, was also a little strange at first. We asked for one large bed and what we got were two regular beds, along with their respective bed frames, merely pushed together and with a little cushioning laid in the gap between. I couldn't find the switch for the room fan and so I had to ask the staff to help me (it ended up being behind the bed head board). Lastly, there was a soft but noticeable mechanical noise we could hear coming from a corner of the room at night. It didn't bother us but it would've probably been annoying for somebody who has sleeping issues.

Still, after we understood the quirks, we enjoyed the room just fine. It had tons of natural light due to large windows, which was nice. It should be noted that Hoi An has more of that small and old town feel to it compared to Hanoi and HCMC, and so I think the type of lodging reflects that. Our room didn't have too many bells and whistles (although it did have modern bathroom fixtures) and there were some idiosyncrasies you wouldn't see in a modern western hotel, like having to switch on a water heater 30 min before a shower.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. The people were wonderful, and, especially for the cost ($20/night), we think we got a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytangents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

Definitely The best hotel we have been in our trip. the room was fully equipped with everything that you may need, include hot water for making tea (-: the stuff is amazing and give you the feeling that you coming back home every time you enter the hotel, the breakfast totally worth the extra pay. We planned to stay only one night but stayed three because the hotel was amazing, So if you in hoy an don't think twice and go to hoang trinh.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotem84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2012 via mobile

This hotel looks a little tawdry from the outside and it's in a strange location in an alley, however, the service was impeccable and the price is great. I payed sixteen dollars a night for myself, and the girls at the front desk were extremely helpful. A girl named Thuy at the front desk is a total sweet heart and she was especially helpful. She planned my trip to Mui Né for me and made sure I was comfortable with the trip. She went out of her way to do some research on Mui Né for me as well. I left the Hoang Trinh Hotel feeling very satisfied, except for that I did not get Thuy's number;)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SlappyBottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beijing
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

This hotel is a gem. It is nicely located, with a super friendly staff, and very nice accommodation for a reasonable price. An is wonderful. They gave us free water as we were leaving just to thank us, as well as some other gifts - so nice! What more could you ask for?!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank acoupletravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denham, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

When we arrived in Hoi an, we had quite a hard time finding a good hotel. But as we found this pearl, I was very happy. The staff are extremely nice and helpfull, the price is definately good and a lovely breakfast is included. The room was actually the first room with a little ambience we found in this pricerange sofar. So if you'd like a cozy room, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeroenV161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012

This hotel is amazing. The staff are the most welcoming and helpful staff I've ever met in the industry! Breakfast is great. Room was spacious. Very clean and tidy. Location good- bike hire right next door! Willing to organize day trips and tickets for trains etc. would recommend for almost anyone- from backpackers to couples!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZjessd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#35 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#44 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#43 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#61 of 140 in Hoi An
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Trinh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Trinh Hotel

Property: Hoang Trinh Hotel
Address: 45 Le Quy Don Hoi An, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 244 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoang Trinh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International airport 30 km Da Nang, Hoi An Hotel is located in the position extensively with many trees in the heart of the old town. This is the ideal place for visitors to Hoi An. You can easily visit many cultural heritages in the world, the Cham temples at My Son and Hue trying to do in the surrounding area Hotel with 16 rooms meeting international standards, restaurant, bar, garden cafe, outdoor swimming pool, conference rooms, work, tennis court, badminton court, gym physical, Zen spa, rooms beauty salon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hoang Trinh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing