We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem with the extras.”
Review of Hoang Trinh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hoang Trinh Hotel
Ranked #24 of 264 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem with the extras.”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by our warm welcome with tea, fruit and coconut biscuit while we checked in! $22 USD a night and they were already booked out but graciously met us at the airport and arranged alternate accomodation for us. Nothing is a probe,! We returned the following day to a downstairs room, only one left which made me nervous after reading other reviewers reports. YES! It is noisy in the morning but not at night so we slept well. Attention to detail made our stay comfortable, the room has an ensuite, umbrellas for the afternoon showers, air conditioning that is quiet and it was impeccably clean! I organised for our laundry to be taken, inexpensive.
We stayed only overnight as they had a short waiting list for the next 3 nights! We left forgetting our laundry and they delivered it unasked to our next hotel, that afternoon.

Room Tip: Try to book a room upstairs if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    645
    200
    35
    22
    12
See reviews for
74
413
122
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Didn't book before arriving in Hoi An, found this through Lonely Planet, as soon as arrived were welcoming, offered us drinks, and every day had some smoothie or coconut cake to give us on arrival!

Excellent local knowledge, helpful in booking onward trains and taxis, bike rental and laundry right next door. 5 minutes walk into town, felt very friendly and safe, the owners were always there to greet us.

Room was clean, spacious, good air con, powerful shower.

Breakfast was the real highlight on the balcony! Fresh fruit, pancakes, coffee shake or traditional, Vietnamese coffee. .

Overall would thoroughly recommend to anyone wanting a local experience at great value!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FooFighter72MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2013

In the days prior to arriving at the hotel I had been sick with a stomach bug. Upon my arrival and hearing this the staff were quick to organise appropriate medical treatment and ensue my comfort. Once better the brilliant service continued, a particular highlight being the free local food night which they put on. This hotel definitely offers great valued service, in a comfortable rooms and only a short distance from town.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brosi299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

On short notice, we arrived on Christmas Eve at this lovely place. We felt at home right away as we received, to our surprise, a Christmas Dinner. Traditional food was prepared and other guests joined the table. The top floor terrace / balcony offers a nice view during breakfast. The rooms were clean, however there was a somewhat dampy smell in the room we stayed in (bottom floor). It was not too bad as our stay was fairly short. We received great service and advice on what see and where to go.
Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus_Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We will remember this hotel most for the unbelievably friendly service and the excellent breakfasts. Booking via e-mail went fast and was very clear. The staff is most helpful in explaining what's on offer in Hoi An (a.o.the excellent cooking lesson for our family in Cafe 43). Each day when you return to the hotel you are greeted with a drink (tea and cake on arrival, next days soya milk, fresh fruit juice). The choice of breakfast is very big for such a small place (eggs, soup, pancakes, sandwiches), and you get a beautiful fruit platter every morning. The rooms are small-ish but have everything you need (aircon, tea/coffee, wardrobe, bathroom,...). Only 5min walk to the japanese bridge. We rented bicycles next door (usd1/day) and cycled through the rice fields and small villages. They organised our car to Hue and explained to the driver where he had to go. All for USD22/couple/night. Very impressive and highly recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KM250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This is the sort of place you go and then think you've been ripped off elsewhere, because the service and quality of the room is so high for the same price paid elsewhere. $20 a night for a double with bath and shower, space to hang clothes, tea and coffee in room, cable tv, and breakfast on a small terrace on the second floor. Plus a well stocked fridge in the lobby with good sitting areas inside and out. We spent quite a bit of time here as we were waiting for clothes to be made and they really made us feel at home. The service was absolutely first class. I asked them to quote us for an open ticket to Saigon, and asked what company they use. When they told me I found that the company had had terrible reviews on the net (Cuc Tung). I told them that we didn't want to book, and why, and she immediately said she could do it through the Sinh Tourist, who turned out to be brilliant. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and the window looked straight into a wall. Didn't bother us, may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The real highlight here is the staff and their dedication to making you feel at home. When my wife and I arrived, we were offered a seat at one of their tables in the lobby and were treated to complimentary tea, fruits, and a delicious coconut bun. There was one young lady who was always at the front desk and who we mainly interacted with... She was really sweet and helpful, even if we struggled a bit to communicate with her in English at times. Madam An, the owner of the hotel, was also a very sweet lady who really seemed to value her guests, although we only ran into her a couple times.

We happened to stay at the hotel the week of Christmas... The hotel actually held a little party for all the guests on Christmas Eve which involved multi-course meal (I don't even remember how many courses, just that I was ridiculously full by the end) of traditional Vietnamese foods, some or all of which were local to Hoi An specifically. Plus they lavished us with drinks as well as our very own santas who brought little gifts. It was extremely generous, charming, and also allowed us to meet the other guests at the hotel which was a ton of fun. The whole thing was so thoughtful and memorable.

In spite of all this, I agree with a few of the other reviews when I say that it was a little weird seeing the hotel initially. The lobby was dimly lit and there were some guest rooms in not-so-ideal places such as right near the front desk or by the hotel restaurant area (both of which can get noisy). Perhaps these weren't a big deal, though.

Our room, however, was also a little strange at first. We asked for one large bed and what we got were two regular beds, along with their respective bed frames, merely pushed together and with a little cushioning laid in the gap between. I couldn't find the switch for the room fan and so I had to ask the staff to help me (it ended up being behind the bed head board). Lastly, there was a soft but noticeable mechanical noise we could hear coming from a corner of the room at night. It didn't bother us but it would've probably been annoying for somebody who has sleeping issues.

Still, after we understood the quirks, we enjoyed the room just fine. It had tons of natural light due to large windows, which was nice. It should be noted that Hoi An has more of that small and old town feel to it compared to Hanoi and HCMC, and so I think the type of lodging reflects that. Our room didn't have too many bells and whistles (although it did have modern bathroom fixtures) and there were some idiosyncrasies you wouldn't see in a modern western hotel, like having to switch on a water heater 30 min before a shower.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay. The people were wonderful, and, especially for the cost ($20/night), we think we got a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytangents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#42 of 148 in Hoi An
295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Silk Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#53 of 148 in Hoi An
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Orchid Garden Riverside
0.2 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#69 of 148 in Hoi An
643 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tea Garden Homestay
Tea Garden Homestay
#29 of 264 in Hoi An
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoang Trinh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoang Trinh Hotel

Property: Hoang Trinh Hotel
Address: 45 Le Quy Don Hoi An, Hoi An 0510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoang Trinh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
International airport 30 km Da Nang, Hoi An Hotel is located in the position extensively with many trees in the heart of the old town. This is the ideal place for visitors to Hoi An. You can easily visit many cultural heritages in the world, the Cham temples at My Son and Hue trying to do in the surrounding area Hotel with 16 rooms meeting international standards, restaurant, bar, garden cafe, outdoor swimming pool, conference rooms, work, tennis court, badminton court, gym physical, Zen spa, rooms beauty salon... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoang Trinh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing