We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for a proper hotel”
Review of Thien Nga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thien Nga Hotel
Ranked #111 of 157 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good value for a proper hotel”
Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

After arrival in Hoi An, all true budget hotels we checked out were fully booked so we had no choice but taking a 25$ room here. We were pleasantly surprised. The room was huge, had a good bed (I don't like very soft mattresses), was very clean and it even had some furniture. Aircon, wifi, tv, fridge, the room had it all. It was very quiet because it was on the back side the building.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had no negative experience with any of them, like some other reviewers seem to have had. The included breakfast was very good. That was what made this more of a budget stay; we saved saved a lot of money because of the free breakfast.
There no longer is a pool because it was destroyed during the flooding that hit Hoi An a couple of years ago.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathieu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    122
    43
    14
    12
See reviews for
22
143
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

This was exactly what we wanted in Hoi An. For the price, were were not expecting anything extravagant, but it was clean, convenient and had great service. The manager working at all times couldn't have been more helpful and definitely helped the place feel warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We had a very lovely stay at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is a short walk from the old centre. We rented the bicycles each day and headed to the local beach. We were not bothered about "no pool" as we had not expected there to be one, however, when we purchased an updated Lonely Planet from the very fabulous Randy's Bookstore, we noticed there was a pool advertised. i can see how this might have been an issue for those expecting a pool but the beaches were so wonderful and the bike ride so enjoyable I could not imagine lounging around a pool and missing all that Hoi An has to offer. We asked for a room on the ground floor with a porch area and we were given this. In fact we felt the staff were the friendliest and most attentive we experienced in Vietnam. I guess every place can get it wrong sometimes.....if things were bad here then they have recovered well.

Room Tip: Perhaps the 1st floor might have been a better choice as the water channel out back can be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We booked this hotel for three nights, based primarily on good reviews and its location (as described in reviews).

However, I think we were slightly misled in terms of location. While it certainly isn't far from Old Town Hanoi, be prepared to walk. It was roughly a 15 minute walk from our hotel to the Old Town, where we spent most of our time. I'll admit that this is perfectly reasonable for most travelers, but our guidebook and other reviewers have claimed that it's immediately adjacent to Old Town. This was unexpected, and with the weather alternating between 104 degrees F and a torrential downpour, it could have become a bit of an issue.

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. There is no in-room safe, although passports are kept in a safe deposit box.

The room was very simply decorated and provided us with basic amenities (good A/C, hot showers, etc). The bed was a fairly stiff foam mattress that I didn't sleep too well on. It wasn't anything special, but it was clean and relatively cheap. They advertise free wi-fi, but the connection was spotty at best.

We had an attached porch, although it was generally too hot to appreciate it. Our room in the back overlooked a nice little rice paddy and watching the farmers at work was somewhat interesting.

As I mentioned, we had some fairly hard rain during our stay, and our room was not exactly "water tight." Water essentially flowed in (not dripped, flowed) through our door frame. We simply moved our bags to the other side of the room, and I wouldn't say that was really too
problematic, so much as it was entertaining.

Breakfast was also simple - bread, fruit, coffee, tea, etc, plus eggs and other basics made to order (the banana pancakes were good).

In summary, this is a bare bones but clean hotel that is relatively close to Old Town Hanoi. For the price, I can't complain. Average stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anokh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

good hotel. big room, little balcony. 5 min walk from the heart of town. helpful staff. but pool not working whilst i'm here (April 24th) which is a big shame as clearly they didn't mention it when booking. also hot water not working well.
can't grumble, its a good place they just need to keep up the standards. a good choice.

Room Tip: room at the front not a problem with traffic, balcony only gets morning sun, so get up early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rufusbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Do not stay here if you want a nice stay in the lovely Hoi An. Very disappointed, as this hotel is recommended in Lonely Planet and cannot understand others ratings here. There is no pool for starters. They are correct in saying the bathrooms are prosaic and are not nice. The first room we moved into smelled of street food (coming from the bathroom) so we had to change rooms straightaway and staff did not explain where the switch for the hot water was. We had to change from a garden facing balcony room to a street facing room and were charged the same price. Check out the prices in Vietnamese in behind the reception. They range from 25-35 USD. We were of course charged the full 35 USD for the hardest beds in Vietnam. The worst part of our stay is that every day we were asked if we were leaving by the older guy who works there (the lady is very nice).. He couldn't wait to reach for his calculator and receipt book after our 4 nights there. When using the computers the staff watch over you- very big brother here . There is no feeling of hospitality or how the tourism industry should work. Also, we were charged 16 USD for the airport pick up instead of the agreed 15 USD, which we confirmed twice, once via the hotel in Hanoi before we left for Hoi An, elimination any language. Other hotels charge 12 USD for airport transfer. Recommend to stay elsewhere, there are other nicer looking hotels on the same street. Location and breakfast okay. Couldn’t wait to leave

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GregAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 April 2012

At the Thien Nga hotel in Hoi an the accommodation is clean, spacious with airconditioner,TV and a wardrope. The price of the place is reasonable and you get a free breakfast, but the point of this review is the staff. The staff at this hotel are friendly and help in all matters in organisation of transport, etc; this makes continued travel organisation easier and stress free.

The staff member that helped me was Hanh and she was exceptionally helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#96 of 157 in Hoi An
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 157 in Hoi An
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#127 of 157 in Hoi An
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#112 of 157 in Hoi An
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#47 of 157 in Hoi An
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Nga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Nga Hotel

Property: Thien Nga Hotel
Address: 52 Ba Trieu St., Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 157 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thien Nga Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Nga Hotel, located in Hoi An Ancient Town, Hoi An, is a popular choice for travelers. The city center is merely 0.5 Km away and the airport can be reached within 45 minutes. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Cao Dai Pagoda, Phac Hat Pagoda, Cam Pho Temple. The facilities and services provided by Thien Nga Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in all rooms, Wi-Fi in public areas, airport transfer, car park, bicycle rental to ensure our guests the greatest comfort. Experience high quality room facilities during your stay here. Some rooms include internet access - wireless (complimentary), refrigerator, desk, television, air conditioning, provided to help guests recharge after a long day. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as garden to make your stay truly unforgettable. Thien Nga Hotel is a smart choice for travelers to Hoi An, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thien Nga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Nga Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing