We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Bad, Mainly Good”
Review of Thien Nga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thien Nga Hotel
Ranked #107 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good and Bad, Mainly Good”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel has an "Our Pick" icon in Lonely Planet, so it does good business and you might want to ring ahead for a room rather than just show up. The LP rating is fairly random though, because Thien Nga is one of perhaps ten cookie-cutter hotels along this road that are all probably largely the same in terms of quality and price.

Let me get the bad out of the way first. It's a mid-price hotel by Hoi An standards, but Thien Nga cuts a lot of corners to keep their costs down. There's no coffee/tea making facilities in your room, no toiletries, a basic hardware-store plastic shower nozzle and breakfast is cook-to-order and not bad but is missing things like cereal, fresh milk and a toaster. The wi-fi is iffy, depending on your device. It's strong on my laptop but fluctuates between one and two bars and sometimes cuts out on my phone.

There are good things to balance that out. The location is great... far enough out of Ancient Town to be away from the beeping traffic and roadside circus but close enough to be just a five minute walk away. There are a couple of rooms on the ground floor with nice balconies overlooking the fields (ask for 202 or 302). The whole hotel including the rooms are spic-and-span spotlessly clean. And prices of all the "additionals" like bicycles, motorbikes, mini-bar and Danang transfer are all sane and reasonable, so you don't have to go looking for other vendors.

You get what you pay for with accommodation in Hoi An. This hotel isn't going to leave you with strong romantic memories, but it won't ruin your trip either. It's a clean, functional hotel in the mid-tier that will serve you well as a base while you're in town.

Room Tip: Facing the fields (back) will be quieter than facing the road. Not all rooms have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreativeSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    119
    43
    14
    12
See reviews for
22
141
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland (Europe)
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This hotel is located 10 minutes from the Old Town. Rooms are 25 US but for 30 US they give you a room overlooking the fields, which makes it much quieter. My room (300) was nice, not small, with a beautiful balcony, a writing desk, a small wardrobe, wi-fi, a new TV set and a telephone. In the bathroom you find only one piece of soap and two towels and that’s it. Certainly no frills at all. The real problem was the shower that I found quite difficult to use because there is no curtain and you can’t bend the shower-head so that the water hits the tiles behind you instead of your body. No hairdryer and no toilet-paper-holder.
Breakfast is nothing exciting. In the lobby there is a row of four nice laptops for the guests to use for free. Staff is kind though, and for my early leave one morning they prepared a bag-breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a well-working shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iguanetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

The Thien Nga Hotel is about a five minute walk from the famous old part of Hoi An. It's actually a good location because it's away from the music that is now played from hidden speakers around the old city.

My room was large, spacious, perfectly clean and looked out over vegetable fields. Wifi, water, etc. all worked just fine but there was a power black out while I was there. Luckily the hotel has a large back-up generator (I guess black outs are a regular problem) to keep the basics running when the power shuts down. Besides the TV there was a DVD player. Since virtually any recent movie is available to purchase in town for, like, $1.50, that could be useful on a rainy day.

Breakfast is made order. The banana pancakes are great. There are computers free to use in the lobby but there is no (despite what it says in some guidebooks) pool. There are free bicycles which are a great way to get around town or out into the countryside.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank budra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

For a walk-in-price of 25-30 § we got a nice big room (without balcony) including a good breakfast. The staff was really helpful: We had a Typhoon warning, we needed a doctor urgently and the city was flooded... All that happend within one week, and they supported us with everything in a very kind and professional way.
In the flooding season it might be better to choose a hotel more in the north, if you don't like to go to out by boat.

Room Tip: Backside rooms are extremly quiet, looking over a field. But the streetside is not very loud, compar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank womenonwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Galera, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Thien Nga is situated within easy walking distance (10 mins) of the Old Town in Hoi An. The rooms are quite large, clean and well appointed and have a balcony either looking over the countryside / garden or the town. The staff were very polite and offered great advice on what to see and do in Hoi An. We had a night train trip after we checked out and the hotel offered us use of the shower and facilities and no extra charge, which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel during our stay in Hoi An. It is walking distance to all attractions (japanese bridge, old town, tailors) but is off the main street so it is quieter.
We had a room with a balcony facing the street and it was very private and I loved sitting outside watching the cafes open of a morning and the characters that make there way up and down the streets.
Our room was basic but comfortable. Big bed, mini bar with drinks (incl beer) and it was quite spacious. Bathroom was ok, shower was not great (bath + shower combo) but all very clean.
Breakfast was decent as well. Service was great in accommodating my iced coffee needs!
As with all hotels in Hoi An, the staff recommended a tailor but did not hassle us after the initial recommendation.
Would definitely recommend as a budget option in Hoi An.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashleigh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

They made our each day with a great breakfast buffet where we could have as much fruit, order as many eggs or pancake. The person at the reception always greeted us with a smile every time we came in or went out. The room is a little small but this is how most rooms close to the center are like. It had a view and a balcony. The location itself is perfect, if you are here you are close to the old town and the major sights.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Empty-Rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.1 mi away
Thien Thanh Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#101 of 147 in Hoi An
190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#43 of 147 in Hoi An
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
#51 of 147 in Hoi An
1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#92 of 147 in Hoi An
116 reviews
0.4 mi away
An Hoi Hotel
An Hoi Hotel
#113 of 147 in Hoi An
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Nga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Nga Hotel

Property: Thien Nga Hotel
Address: 52 Ba Trieu St., Hoi An 51000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thien Nga Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Nga Hotel, located in Hoi An Ancient Town, Hoi An, is a popular choice for travelers. The city center is merely 0.5 Km away and the airport can be reached within 45 minutes. No less exceptional is the hotel's easy access to the city's myriad attractions and landmarks, such as Cao Dai Pagoda, Phac Hat Pagoda, Cam Pho Temple. The facilities and services provided by Thien Nga Hotel ensure a pleasant stay for guests. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in all rooms, Wi-Fi in public areas, airport transfer, car park, bicycle rental to ensure our guests the greatest comfort. Experience high quality room facilities during your stay here. Some rooms include internet access - wireless (complimentary), refrigerator, desk, television, air conditioning, provided to help guests recharge after a long day. The hotel offers wonderful recreational facilities such as garden to make your stay truly unforgettable. Thien Nga Hotel is a smart choice for travelers to Hoi An, offering a relaxed and hassle-free stay every time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thien Nga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thien Nga Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing