We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern boutique hotel with great pool, excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level 6 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Modern boutique hotel with great pool, excellent service”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We braved the incredible Hoi An heat to check out a few hotels recommended by Lonely Planet before picking this one. We felt the price to value ratio was definitely the best after organising a twin room for $27 per night (including breakfast) - and we enjoyed the hotel so much we ended up staying for six nights.

The biggest selling point for us was probably the fantastic rooftop swimming pool area. The water was a bit warm being in the sun all day, but it was still a welcome reprieve from the Hoi An heat - trust me that this is one city where you NEED to book a hotel with a pool.

The hotel is newly refurbished, looks very smart and has a boutique vibe. The rooms are tastefully decorated with modern bathrooms. The only thing you need to be aware of is that most of the rooms look DIRECTLY onto the wall of the building next door so you are unlikely to get natural light, never mind a view. I expected this would bother me (I normally avoid rooms advertised as "windowless") but I must be honest and say that as I only used my room to shower and sleep in, the lack of light was acceptable, and lack of street noise appreciated.

Breakfast was decent - a selection of fruit, cereal, baguettes, toast, jam, boiled eggs, bacon, freshly made omelets, banana pancakes and one or two Vietnamese options. And a special mention must go to the staff who were incredibly friendly and helpful.

There are 3 restaurants directly across the road - the one on the far right as you walk out of the hotel (think it says 114 on a blue plaque on the wall) serves excellent and cheap Cao Lau, white rose (both Hoi An specialties you must try), tasty spring rolls and has LaRue beer at only 15,000 dong for a big bottle. They also make wicked iced coffee (with ice and condensed milk). The restaurant/bar place in the middle is also good for a late night (well before 11pm) drink and decent Pho Bo.

Oh, and for bicycle rental, the lady next to the restaurant on the far right is great - only 15,000 dong per day.

Room Tip: If you want a window with a view, be sure to ask for one as most look onto a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatter08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    710
    353
    96
    21
    5
See reviews for
153
540
123
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel was perfect for my friend and I. We had a fourth floor room that overlooked the front of the hotel and was just steps from the pool.(Note: the hotel does not have an elevator so if you don't like stairs ask for a lower floor.) The staff are incredibly friendly and greet you with a smile every time they see you. The breakfast didn't have much variety, but was quite good and the cook was always ready to fix eggs however you wanted them. We very much enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it gladly.

Room Tip: The hotel is lovely, but has no elevator. If you don't like stairs ask for a room on a lower fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim_Ly612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We loved our stay at Vinh Hung 3, the staff very helpful, friendly and well organised. The breakfast were great with a big selection, with made to order eggs dishes if you wanted. Our air conditioner was noisy which stopped working a couple of times but the staff did all they could to make our stay enjojable. We did a day tour to My Son (which Hotel staff organised for us) which was excellent. The hotel is close to town centre only a few streets away and to the old town and port. There are plenty of Taylor and shoe shops. The markets at the wharf in the old town have plenty to offer.

Room Tip: Hotel has a rooftop pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanGJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We booked here at the last minute and hoped it would be okay.We were quite happy with our choice and didn't wish we were anywhere else. We had a room right at the top at the front for 3 nights and then had to move for one night to the ground floor level at the back. The back room had a really big window, and apart from a bit of noise in the afternoon from staff I think we liked it more as there were no steps and it had a lovely cool tiled floor and very high ceilings. The room at the top of the stairs was near the pool, but had a lower ceiling and more street noise- and those steps.
The rooms we had were very clean with good beds and bathrooms and an inroom computer and all other necessities. The hotel is situated close to the Old Town which is handy as well as close to many nice restaurants and amongst cafe's and shops. You could hail a cab back after dinner for next to nothing..
We found the staff to be helpful and the younger girls were all very sweet, including the breakfast staff who went out of their way to meet our needs. I asked re banana pancakes, which they didn't appear to have on the first morning, but I was told yes tomorrow, and after that they whipped up banana pancakes everyday. There was no pressure re tours, which was good as we didn't want to do much and already had plans for want we did want to do.
We had a very early plane from Danang to Dalat and they arranged a car and gave us takeaway b'fast as we had to leave at 4 am, and farewelled us at that hour.

Room Tip: You will pay more for a window and an inroom computer if that's what you want- but make sure you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank havaholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandurah
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

We loved our stay at the Vinh Hung 3 the staff were so welcoming the rooms are clean and comfortable every morning we were greeted with good morning how did you sleep, the breakfast was a mix of western and local food your eggs were cooked in front of you to your liking would recommend this hotel and would stay here again when in Hoi An

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are quite and face a field
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allanatMandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

This is a good, clean hotel in Hoi An, just 5 minutes walking from old town.
Very good breakfast, compaired to other small hotels we stayed and nice swimming pool.
I think the Vinh Hung family is doing well in Hoi an and thats why they instruct their staff to inform tourists about their own restaurant and contacts.
Nice restaurants are Secret Garden and the Indian restaurant, Red Bridge cooking class is a must!
The elderly lady at the reception was not so nice, she did not want to assist us with a local phone call...other staff ok!

Room Tip: Pay a little more for room with balcony, preferably in back side of hotel.
See more room tips
Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paulina1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

In order to have a window in our room, we booked a deluxe suite which faced the street. Bad idea, the restaurant in front of the hotel was not quiet at all.
Breakfast are tasteless.
Staff is friendly but you catch immediately that they are over business-oriented. The first recommendation they gave us was the Blue handmade tailor (very expensive), then their 5h organized tour to My Son by bus (we prefer to go by moto in order to avoid mandatory stops these kind of tours used to do and to avoid the rush hour on site) and finally the Vinh Hung restaurant was presented as the only good restaurant in Hoi An...
If you keep in mind that the delux room rate per night is nearly half the monthly average wage of Vietnamese people, you should prefer any other cheaper but better place.
Maybe this place was a good one few years ago but time has changed.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j0ach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dzung-VH3, Owner at Vinh Hung Library Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Hi Sir,

my name Dzung, owner of vinh hung 3 hotel. Your review is very good for us to enhance the customer care more better. Because we have 3 rooms in front stayed at the same time with you, so please give us the room number and time for your check-in and check-out. And please give your passport name because we can not check your nick name on trip advisor with the guest listing stayed at our hotel.

By the way, as you mentioned about the recommendation about tailor shop, can you give us more in detail your order and price they charged you there. Our hotel don't do any business from this but the receptionists there they recommend to customer if they ask. Today I issued the company document for a say no to any recommendation for any shopping in hoi an that affected to us for back comment but not our service and out of control.

For the tour bus to my son, we sell and have a cooperation with open bus company in hoi an, sometime we got the back feedback from our customer although we had a good selection from some suppliers here.

For vinh hung restaurant, this is our sister business in the town. Please give us your ideal for food there, also the price.

We hope to get back your information soon.

All the best to you!

Pham Vu Dzung
Owner of Vinh Hung 3 hotel



How much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#45 of 153 in Hoi An
303 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sun Boat Hotel
Sun Boat Hotel
#54 of 153 in Hoi An
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Sincerity Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Muca Hoi An Boutique Resort & Spa
1.0 mi away
Phu Thinh Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Library Hotel

Property: Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Address: 96 Ba Trieu St., Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 3 Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 153 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vinh Hung Library Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vinh Hung Library Hotel is proud to offer 26 spacious, elegant and contemporary Asian designed rooms, artfully decorated with dark woods and local craftwork. Renovated in 2014, our hotel now incorporates a library of books our guests can relax with and enjoy. Each of our delightful rooms offer air conditioning, complimentary in room WIFI, flat screen cable TV and a marble tiled bathroom complete with monsoon shower! Some rooms have balconies. Located in the heart of beautiful Hoi An, a mere 5 minute stroll from the old town and the famous Ancient Japanese Covered Bridge. Relax by the only roof top swimming pool and sundeck in town and take a refreshing dip overlooking the rooftops of Hoi An. If you want to escape the town for the day, Cua Dai and An Bang Beaches are within easy reach, a 10 minute ride away, just ask at reception to arrange a taxi (car or motorbike!). Bicycle rental is available at the hotel. A buffet style breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Airport transfers and tours can be arranged by the hotel, and the travel desk can advise you of onward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Vinh Hung Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing