We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a lot of small inconveniences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Ranked #49 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a lot of small inconveniences”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Ok,check in is ok, the receptionist lady doesn't give you much information.So on my question when's the breakfast she says "I'll tell you when you go down".Then after my second ask she says its at 7 but doesn't say when does it finish. o_O They don't give you much info, I was badly surprised when found out the swimming pool was working only until 9pm(( so when I came at the hotel after dinner wanting to have a nice evening swim the same woman(I think she's a senior) said "too late, go to sleep". So her attitude is a big minus.
Other thing is we got a room with no window which was kind of depressing and we never knew what was the weather like.
The try to rip you off if you want to book a bus ticket with them, when in other travel agencies its double less.

The amenities weren't great, just a little soap and the shampoo. So for the travelers who didn't take much staff is quite uncomfortable.
I will definitely choose another hotel next time, I think you don't quite get what you pay for.
The breakfast and the breakfast staff is nice though.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nika_BYHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dzung-VH3, Owner at Vinh Hung Library Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Mr/Mrs Veron Limon,

Many thanks for your review about the attitude from our staff brough a not good sense to you during the time at my hotel.

Because some members of trip advisor don't use the right name for a nick name so it is very hard to us for a double check the name of traveller who stayed at our hotel.

Please five us your name with the time stayed and room number impossible. I checked for all and will send the feedback to you soon.

With best regards,

Dzung/Mr.

Owner of Vinh Hung 3 hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    685
    348
    95
    21
    5
See reviews for
146
523
122
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We usually stayed at more basic hotels during our travels in Vietnam, so for us this was a splurge. It was great to have a proper, clean, bathroom and an actual showercabin for a change. The room was lovely, spacious and clean, and there even was a computer with free internet in the room.
Nobody seems to use the pool, maybe cause the hotel is not that far (about 5km) from the sea. The pool was really nice, however, and we liked going in for a swim after a day of sightseeing. We were always the only ones there, which made it even better.
The only downside was the noise. Our room overlooked what must have been a popular street, because every night, we were kept awake by drunk tourists passing by, and by Vietnamese restaurant/hotel staff talking to each other (they wouldn't run up to each other though, they stayed in front of their respective hotel/restaurant and conversed by shouting). It really was impossible to get a good night's sleep. I've read other reviews where people write it was a quiet hotel, so I guess our room was just unfortunately located. But all in all, you get good value for money and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voornaam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012 via mobile

On first arrival the staff at this hotel didn't seem amazingly friendly however as our stay continued we found them to be very helpful and polite.

Our room was in the first floor and at the back, the room was plenty big enough and the room facilities and bathroom were both more than acceptable.

The mattresses appear to be made of foam, we slept fine but some fellow guests I think would have preferred something a little softer.

The breakfast has the usual stuff and was fine for our needs.

The hotel has a roof top pool which at first might seem a little unnecessary but given the heat and humidity of Hoi An's compact streets it's excellent for a post sight seeing swim! The pool is cleaned daily and there are a few sun loungers dotted about.

The hotel has a great location it is at the top of the town but less than 5 minutes from the "old town". Early one morning there was a band and a person talking through a loud speaker which was very annoying but I think it was a one off and other than that we had soundless sleeps every night.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone heading to Hoi An as it's right by the touristy places but not actually on the busy and sometimes noisy old town streets.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tervuren
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2012

I stayed 5 nights and booked Agoda. Room (deluxe) was large and very clean. Swimming pool is small but ok.
Breakfast: JOHN and VICKY did a wonderfull job. Always very friendly an smiling.Offer is limited.
Don' book a trip to My Lai by the hotel. I asked the young receptionist how much it would cost for a 1day trip to My Lai. She answered 2.750.000 dong. This is very expensive, so I walked in the streets and asked again in booking offices. Well, I paid 1.000.000 dong for car and driver! When I was back in my hotel I told her that what she offered was 1.750.000 dong more expensive. "Oh, she said, but than you don't have lunch and a guide."
Well, I think she was not honest. So, it was a good hotel but I was really disappointed about the behaviour of this woman.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jurgje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dzung-VH3, Owner at Vinh Hung Library Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear Mr/mrs Jurgje,

Many thanks for your review about our tour service at Vinh Hung 3 hotel.

I am very sad to read your review about the trip to My Lai that you didn't use our service due to the mis-understanding and the staff did not explain in detail to you for what included in the tour. She is a new commer to our hotel just for a month but we missed this information to provide to you for a sympathy for her.

On behalf of the owner, I would like to explain to you as follow:

- tour to my lai: we combine with the other stop at My Son holly land, listed by unesco as the world heritage. Therefore, the distance is more longer than the direct transfer to my lai, we have to charge more so the price is higher about 400.000 vnd (20 usd) but the staff did not mentioned for your understanding this. As you said you can book out site to direct My lai about 1.000.000 vnd, but we make sure the vehicle is old and not comfortable than us. You book us, you can make a complaint about the provided service easy than from them. So I would like to explain.
- the tour also includes guide, lunch and entrance fee, for example: entrance fee for my son site is 60.000 vnd + my lai: 20.000 vnd. = 4 usd. Lunch is 200.000 vnd/ meal/ pax = 10 usd. And guide fee: 500.000 for a trip.

If we make the total fee I mentioned above, maybe it is not fix with the number you wrote, anyway we are very sorry for not explain in detail and not take care you during the time stayed at our hotel.

We hope our message here helps you know about our service and on behalf of the new staff, I would like to say "sorry" to you again.

Hope you have a good health and see you back to our hotel in the next time.

With best regards,

Dzung/mr
Owner of vinh hung 3 hotel 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Vinh Hung 3 was a very nice hotel. Beautiful rooftop pool, spacious room, welcome towel and drink. The beds were comfortable, everything was clean. Excellent showers. Good breakfast. There was nothing I can think of to complain about or criticise. 
The staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive but not desperately trying to sell us tours or anything (which has happened elsewhere).
Would happily stay here again and would happily recommend the hotel to anyone I know that is fully mobile (there are stairs, but no elevators). 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YomperLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Very helpful staff, lovely rooms and located about 5/10 minutes to where everything happens, still it is in a quiter side street off one of the main roads so that you can chill down after your trips from here. Also the the Swimming pool on the top terrace is a plus. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarPsycho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
178 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Location was great - a little bit of a walk from the riverfront, but it was a good way to get to know the town. Bike rental was cheap. Pool was nice. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were a little unfomfortable, but fine. Laundry was a little slow and breakfast was pretty good, but nothing special.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.6 mi away
Hai Au Boutique hotel and spa
0.0 mi away
Thanh Van Hotel
Thanh Van Hotel
#63 of 142 in Hoi An
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#40 of 142 in Hoi An
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Nhi Nhi Hotel
Nhi Nhi Hotel
#45 of 142 in Hoi An
854 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riverside Oasis Villa
Riverside Oasis Villa
#16 of 142 in Hoi An
601 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ha An Hotel
Ha An Hotel
#38 of 142 in Hoi An
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Hung Library Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Hung Library Hotel

Property: Vinh Hung Library Hotel
Address: 96 Ba Trieu St., Hoi An 560000, Vietnam (Formerly Vinh Hung 3 Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 142 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Vinh Hung Library Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vinh Hung Library Hotel is proud to offer 26 spacious, elegant and contemporary Asian designed rooms, artfully decorated with dark woods and local craftwork. Renovated in 2014, our hotel now incorporates a library of books our guests can relax with and enjoy. Each of our delightful rooms offer air conditioning, complimentary in room WIFI, flat screen cable TV and a marble tiled bathroom complete with monsoon shower! Some rooms have balconies. Located in the heart of beautiful Hoi An, a mere 5 minute stroll from the old town and the famous Ancient Japanese Covered Bridge. Relax by the only roof top swimming pool and sundeck in town and take a refreshing dip overlooking the rooftops of Hoi An. If you want to escape the town for the day, Cua Dai and An Bang Beaches are within easy reach, a 10 minute ride away, just ask at reception to arrange a taxi (car or motorbike!). Bicycle rental is available at the hotel. A buffet style breakfast is served daily in the dining room. Airport transfers and tours can be arranged by the hotel, and the travel desk can advise you of onward travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vinh Hung Library Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing