We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting, not so great food”
Review of Secret Garden

Secret Garden
Ranked #69 of 788 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great setting, not so great food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The walk down an alley way is a novel way to start your evening and it feels like to you have discovered a very magical place when you get there. The garden setting with lights at night is wonderful. The service was very good on the whole although there seemed to be shortage of menus and so we had wait a while then use it one at a time. Not terrible but first time for that! It was the food that we didnt find extraordinary and we love Vietnamese food. It was fine just not as great as I thought it would be and we had that sense that the restaurant might be starting to trade on its name. Maybe we were unlucky with our choices. Worth it for the lovely ambiance there though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    893
    358
    132
    54
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely place for a treat”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This was our most expensive meal in Vietnam but also one of our favourites. The food was really delicious and special. It felt like a very fancy version of the street food which we also enjoyed. The service was good and attentive and the garden it is set in is very pretty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamplemoussepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Secret worth searching for”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I had read many great reviews about this restaurant on trip advisor, so we made it our mission to find it. It was such a relief to get away from the main street plus it is situated under a huge tree which gives relief from the hot weather. The food was so delicious we decided to do the morning cooking class the next day. What a great experience! We went to the markets to source our fresh products, prepared and cooked a mountain of food. My son and husband met us at the restaurant at lunchtime and there was so much food, they did not need to order of the menu! Do yourself a favour and visit the secret garden!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jurina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting and food”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Hidden away and beautiful settings adds to fresh really tasty food well presented. A highlight of Hoi An.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JamesSAtkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All good”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Food here very good. Pleasant gardens and helpful staff. Don't be put off by the walk down the alley to get there, it's worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Secret Garden also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Secret Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing