We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel!!”
Review of Villa Hoa Su

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Hoa Su
Ranked #123 of 209 Speciality Lodging in Hoi An
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic Hotel!!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

As soon as we arrived we fell in love with this little place. The rooms are Immaculate,beds are comfy and pool is heavenly! Bon who runs the Villa Hoa Su is an absolute Gentleman. You can use the bicycles(free of charge) to make the 15 minute journey into Hoi An. If you want a relaxed,peaceful stay in Hoi An then look no further.

When we return to Hoi An the villa Hoa su will 100% be our destination

Can't recommend highly enough!!

Room Tip: For the quality you get, the rooms are stunning!(standard room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimH531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    12
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
199 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Spent three nights with two rooms at Hoa Su. Bad weather was not helpful and I surely don't blame the hotel for it. The grounds are very, very attractive and I'm sure that the pool is wonderful on sunny days. Staff was lovely, helpful and always available, which is not always the case for small properties. Breakfast was good and friends told us that a dinner there was very good.

The rooms were probably great 5 or 10 years ago but they are pretty beat now. They smelled of mildew though the bed was very comfortable. Windows in the shower and loo needed to stay open, not great with mozzies, because the septic system had venting problems.

With a fix-up this will be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank idefixaegean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
307 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Being tucked away on a smaller river, this place is ideally suited for anyone looking for a chilled out experience in Hoi An. With only a handful of rooms, there is a very cozy sense about the place which is complemented by the small friendly staff, but despite the cottage like feel of the place, the rooms are quite modern and make great use of the space.

The first impressions are largely however of the emphasis on water in Villa Hoa Su as both the dining area and the pool are each encircled by fish ponds stuffed full of massive coy fish and beautiful lilies. A real treat, particularly for breakfast when you can share your baguette with all the fish. Similarly, with the beautiful sink basin centered in the room and the awesome marble bathtub outside, there is definitely a wow factor. The only down side I can think of was that the water pump might need replacing as the pressure and hot water supply can be fairly inconsistent, but its a small price to pay for the great outdoor bathroom.

Otherwise, in terms of useful notes, be prepared for a decent but altogether slow breakfast service with limited options. Despite ordering the same thing every morning (after discarding what turned out to be instant noodles on the first day) we were always amazed to find how much time simple requests would take and moreover how positively lethal the coffee can be at the Hoa Su. For transportation though, if you dont feel like taking a bicycle, it only takes around 10 minutes to get to town by taxi and should cost 50,000 vnd for a one way trip with Mailinh Taxi.

In sum, if you dont need a massive resort to fill every small need you have on the road, this is a great option for those travelers looking to get into the chilled out spirit that makes Hoi An so wonderful

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are fairly the same as all the ones downstairs have the same layout and view, howe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2013

staff are very accomodating, the bikes are great, the food was good, the room was clean, the pool was nice to get back to after a hot day, and the people staying there were very friendly. The bike ride into town was OK and you could leave the bike at one of the clothes makers if you wanted to taxi back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mellopersona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I'd been to Hoi An previously and stayed in guesthouses and was looking for a nice relaxing stay that was a little more upmarket. Hoa Su was without a doubt terrific value for money and one of the most relaxing places we visited on our trip. The grounds are immaculate, the staff are exceptionally helpful, both in arranging taxis and navigating around Hoi An, and the breakfast was unreal. We couldn't find a single fault with anything-the room was magnificent complete with bonus outside shower and bath. I wouldn't hesitate for a moment to recommend them.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathonPynsent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2012

This is a lovely very small resort several km away from the tourist center. With free bikes, the enjoyable ride is less than 10 minutes. Rooms are very spacious, bright with nice bathrooms (indoor/outdoor) and quiet patios. Somewhat limited privacy due to the position of the glass double doors directly in front of the beds, but shades can be drawn. The included breakfast is the standard unremarkable fare. The pool area is very small with too few chairs for guests and little sunlight during the day. We enjoyed the serene ambience of the place, but expected a bit more for the price in the seventies. We would have appreciated drinking water, bathroom toiletries, softer beds and more help from staff re. activities and dining in the area. This place really is lovely and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We stayed at Villa Hoa Su in 2011, loved it so much had to come back. We are glad we did, still absolutely love this place. The few little things people had gripes about seem to be fixed, outdoor bath cleaned etc. Loved the relaxed atmosphere, the breakfasts, the pool, the rooms, the service. Everything suites us - relaxing in the outdoor bath on a hot afternoon is bliss. I wouldn't recommend staying here with kids, probably not a lot for them to do. There are now a couple of extra rooms which are beautiful, but hopefully they don't build anymore as part of the charm and beauty of this place is that it is so small and personal. If we went back to Hoi An, we would definitely stay here and we will continue recommending this place as we have done since we stayed in 2011.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LenandCathieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
3.3 mi away
le belhamy resort & spa
le belhamy resort & spa
#81 of 147 in Hoi An
862 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
Villa Hoa Su Frangipani
#109 of 147 in Hoi An
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lady's House 1
Lady's House 1
#154 of 209 in Hoi An
1 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Ancient House Village Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
An Villa
An Villa
#62 of 209 in Hoi An
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Hoa Su? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Hoa Su

Property: Villa Hoa Su
Address: Ward No 5, Cam Thanh Village, Hoi An 84510, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 209 Speciality Lodging in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the outskirt of Hoi An, by the bank of the Co Co River and in the small & tranquil village of Cam Thanh, Villa Hoa Su is a perfect countryside retreat from the hustle & bustle of city life when you are in Hoi An. Villa Hoa Su features 5 elegant rooms, all offering spectacular views of the countryside and Frangipani garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Hoa Su reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Hoa Su Hotel Hoi An

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing