We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and lovely setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Son Hoian Restaurant

Son Hoian Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 732 Restaurants in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$8
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A small Vietnamese house on the way from ancient town to Cua Dai beach (in between Phuoc An River Hotel and Hoi An Riverside Resort). A stop-by site for you to take a break before heading to the beach or to gain your energy after long hours by the sea. A chill out atmosphere, a simple and elegant interior design, open space to view the Hoian rice field before it would fade out by the invading of rude modernism. Good just with the healthy-concept smoothies, without sugar and condensed milk, or a light sophisticated meal to a romantic dinner with your lovers.Perfected with jazz music collection, from Nat King Cole to Michael Buble...Welcome all of you to come and enjoy the Vietnamese slow food meals as well as enjoy every minutes of an unhurried life.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and lovely setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The food was exceptionally good here, the duck, beef and Papaya salad dishes were of excellent quality. Some people have complained about the dogs on some reviews but we found the 2 little puppies to be very cute and quite entertaining, nothing to worry about here.staff were excellent and friendly and the value was very good for the quality of food, lovely setting aswell. Would highly recommend.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    705
    175
    37
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here for lunch and we were unimpressed. The food was average, pizza pretty basic, however spring rolls were good. There were quite a few dogs hanging around our feet which made us feel uncomfortable. The service was good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Bang for the buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

A real value for money family owned restaurant. We ate here three times during our stay in Hoi An, and the food was delicious every time. The staff is very smily and helpfull.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StianHovda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Really nice view of the river from the porch. The staff here are very friendly. The vietnamese food we ordered was really good. We had spring rolls and fried noodles with veg. Both were fantastic. However the pasta we ordered was not very good. The cook maybe needs to revise the tomato sauce recipe, it was similar in taste to heinz canned. Would reccomend this place to anyone but stick to the vietnamese items. A major plus for us was the puppies they have here! They ran over to greet us, and as animal lovers that was a real treat. Be sure to visit for a relaxing meal if you do the cycle from town to the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Should be #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

All meanings of f****n WOW.

Their smoothies are a joke, haven't had a smoothie anywhere near that good yet in Vietnam.

The fried spring rolls, the cassava salsa and the garlic prawns were all in their own right respectively the best spring roll, best salad and best seafood dishes I've had in Vietnam.

Sadly I had an old Aussie tourist/cow (she was definitely part cow) on a table nearby belittling and criticizing her gorgeous little kids foully for around 25 minutes straight.. Of course that has nothing to do with the restaurant, was just unfortunate for us. Anyway..

The service at this place is great. AND at the end we were treated to a cutely cut watermelon slice and a cup of heaps yum herbal tea. Completely forgot to ask what the tea was as we had kinda food coma'd by that point.

Will be back here lots.

Helpful?
1 Thank reubsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Son Hoian Restaurant also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Son Hoian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing