We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our kids' favourits”
Review of Banana Leaf

Banana Leaf
Ranked #379 of 808 Restaurants in Hoi An
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Hanoi/vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Our kids' favourits”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We keep coming back here since our children like the staff so much. We keep visiting them since 2007, yearly.

Best from this shop is the drink BANANA LEAF, a kind of passion fruit caprioska, one of the best cocktail around. 95000 VND for a bucket for 2 ( 4.5$ for 600 ml !)
ask for 1 shot extra, 2 buckets and you are dead for sure ! nice experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MacHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    98
    61
    29
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 262 helpful votes
“Reasonable food at OK price right on the River in the old town”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Pleasant surroundings - restaurant situated on the riverside in the heart of the old town of Hoi An.

Good Vietnamese food - freshly prepared & very tasty.

Good view of the river with all it's comings & goings.

You get a decent meal for about $10 per person

Staff pleasant but English poor do they're unable to explain anything on the menu & some items are not self-explanatory........

All in all Banana Leaf is a pleasant dining experience in the heart of the old quarter of this stunning old town.....

Helpful?
Thank Marguerite W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pho Ba the worst we had in Vietnam”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The fresh spring rolls were excellent and the atmosphere and location a great too.

But, the Pho Ba was both the most expensive we had in Vietnam and at the same time the worst. It was totally flavourless.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jack Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food Glorious Food”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

I have travelled around South East Asia for five weeks and this is by far my favourite restaurant! I had three dishes: white rose dumplings (yum), prawns served on a banana leaf, and a multi cheese pancake! I could of gone a fourth plate! Wanted to taste everything on their menu. Cocktails were great too. On the contrary their service was a little slow. Well worth the wait.

Helpful?
Thank Meaghanlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, good food and well priced.”
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

This restaurant has become a favourite of mine in Hoi An. Get a table on the first floor balcony overlooking the river. The view is awesome in the evening. I have found the wait staff to be attentive and helpful, however their English skills could be better. Some here complain that it takes too long for the meals to come. That hasn't been my experience, but I'm also very much into absorbing the amazing atmosphere of this magical town and maybe not so sensitive to such things. The coconut lassi is an absolute winner. If you dine on the balcony you not only get a great view, you also don't get hassled by street hawkers.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bblea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banana Leaf also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Banana Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing