We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for backpackers in Hoi An”
Review of Phuong Duong Hotel

Phuong Duong Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoi An
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phuong Duong Hotel
Ranked #237 of 276 Hoi An B&B and Inns
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good choice for backpackers in Hoi An”
Reviewed 9 May 2013

The staff is nice and friendly but they were so disappointed we didn’t buy train tickets with them but with another agency instead. The night guy doesn’t speak any English. The rooms upstairs have large windows and are more airy. The bathrooms should be scrubbed and the walls washed, but overall, it's safe, quiet and of very good value for Hoi An.

Room Tip: Don’t take the room just following the reception desk, it’s dark, humid and old.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terpsichore514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    10
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
14
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hoi An, null, Vietnam
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Our stay at Phuong Dong was great value for money. We came on a public holiday but they still found us a room and did'nt jack the prices like all the others. Trang the lovely girl that works at the front desk was helpful with everything we needed, ie places to eat, shop, see plus she speaks great english - I'm trying with vietnamese but it's so nice to have someone understand you instead of finishing a conversation with a game of charades! I would recommend Phuong Dong to anyone and definitely recommend the services of Trang - even if you dont stay here she is very helpful! The room was clean with nice BIG towels for the beach, the minibar prices were less than most of the shops in the area - allover a win and we found the place randomly!

Room Tip: Our room was just back off the street. It was quiet all night (and most of the day). It's a fair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngoc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast Hinterland - Queensland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Every year for the past 8 years I have been making my annual pilgrimage to Hoi An..
I always always stay at Phuong dong Hotel in Ba Trieu Street.
Not because it is luxurious, brand new, decadent etc, etc, but because of the service that I receive from the staff every time I return. It feels like coming home to the family.
The receptionists Trang and Hieu will do whatever they can to make your stay a pleasant experience. The rooms are always cleaned spotlessly by the wonderful ladies that work there.
Yes, it is a budget hotel and maybe not a honeymoon spot, but it is incredible value for money and as long as the staff remains the same, I will continue to keep coming back.
Also Sam, that rents the motorbikes and bicycles out the front of the hotel is one of the most genuine, kindest guys you will meet in Vietnam. Stop and say to him and if you want a bike he is your man!!!!
Oh, and of course you must go and sample the incredible cooking at Light Candel Restaurant with Madame Phuong. Trust me, if you arrive before lunchtime you will meet her!!!

Thank you Phuong Dong once again for making my time in Hoi An extra special...

Room Tip: The rooms right at the front have a nice balcony which I love, but a little noisy. For me it is wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsPinky1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

We found it very hard to find a cheap guesthouse in hoi an that did not have lots of reveiws about stealing and dirty rooms.
For $15 we got a double room with a big window onto rice paddies. It is a bit of a walk from the old town but everything is. It is on the main backpacker strip but at the end so fairly quiet. Lots of places to eat. only a 5 min bike ride to the centre.
The rented us bikes and told us about things to do.
the staff were very friendly.
Room was nice.
The best options we found if you are on a budget but don't want a dodgy place where you have to hold onto your valuable. We checked almost everything on this street and around.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flo723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2013

It's out, but very near to the touristcenter. For me a excellent, because I don't like the crowd.
The woman at the reception named Trang is almost always there: very friendly and helpfull.
Our room was perfect; located at the backside and with a few at a ricefield (and that in the middle of a town!). Good airconditioned and quiet.

Address: 42 BA Trieu street in Hoi An. Tel. 05103916477

Marja (the Netherlands)-

Room Tip: Ask a room at the backsid
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjaO755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

After looking at over 10 horrible rooms in hoi an we were considering having to pay way over our budget for a better hotel. Luckily we came across this little place with double rooms for $12 and it was so much better than the rest of the budget places. We got A/c although didn't need it, hot shower, tv and mini bar. We booked to go to my son through the hotel which was only $7 each with a boat trip back which was much cheaper than any tour company. We didn't get bothered about tailors at all nor anything else tbh. I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We paid $12 for a standard double room with aircon in this hotel. There was no real view from the room, but there was plenty of natural light. Wifi was intermittent, but when it was on, it worked well from within the room. Location was nice and good budget restaurants nearby, and not too far to walk to the centre of Hoi An. The only problem was the other guests. The walls/doors are thin, so at times some guests arriving late at night kept us awake as they noisily talked to each other. One guest spent hours talking on Skype at 3am on speakerphone in a room 3 doors down from us, but we could hear every word. We tried knocking on his door but he wouldn't respond, so we finally fell asleep with the aid of earplugs. When we tried telling the owners, the only english speaking member of staff wasn't around so they couldn't understand us. Most of the other guests were considerate, so this wasn't always a problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heygepetto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
3.8 mi away
Sunrise Premium Resort Hoi An
0.6 mi away
Hoi An Silk Marina Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Almanity Hoi An Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Essence Hoi An Hotel & SPA
3.4 mi away
Golden Sand Resort & Spa Hoi An
3.1 mi away
Victoria Hoi An Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phuong Duong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phuong Duong Hotel

Property: Phuong Duong Hotel
Address: 16 Ba Trieu Street, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 276 B&Bs / Inns in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing