We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cooking school”
Review of Thuan Tinh Island

Thuan Tinh Island
Ranked #7 of 126 things to do in Hoi An
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best cooking school”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went here on the cooking school trip best ever firstly we went to the markets and a group of 6 of us had baskets and bought all the ingredients fresh just an amazing experience we then had a boat trip climbed into canoes for a short journey to the cooking school. Unlimited passion fruit juice all day made fresh from the passion fruit we collected from the markets. The chef who was an older lady was amazing we each had our own food and equipment she would show us how to cook it and then would walk around and make sure we cooked it correctly the food was better than any restaurant we went to. We made prawn and pork Vietnamese rolls crispy pancakes stir fried beef and noodles and pho soup where we had made our own stock can't wait to get home and make it myself. Lots of laughs and exceptional hospitality a must do when visiting

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janny1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    516
    74
    19
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cool cookery class”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This was a great experience. Picked up at hotel by taxi. Went to the market to buy ingredients for class. Then lovely boat trip for 40mins. Fantastic class with great demos. Then we had to cook each dish ( and eat it too) ourselves.we made 4 traditional vietnamese dishes and got printouts of the recipes too. We also got a pair of long cooking chopsticks to keep as a souvenir. Endless glasses of passion fruit juice too. And then a taxi back to our hotels. Great value for 30 US dollars.. Highly recommend

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent recovery”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

My girlfriend booked this tour as a birthday activity for us after reading positive reviews, so we were initially very disappointed when the taxi to pick us up from the hotel did not show up, despite having confirmed our place on the tour only the previous day. However, shortly after ringing the school, we were picked up by Mo (who was called in on her day off!) and taken in a taxi to the market. We were too late to meet the rest of the party at this stage, but Mo ensured that we got the full market experience - showing us the different herbs, the best things to buy and explaining what everything was for.

Once we had joined the rest of the party, we were treated to a limitless source of passion fruit juice, a friendly service from all the staff and personal attention when cooking. Compared to a previous cookery course we have done, this was a smaller group size and better organised. The dishes were delicious, and gave us a genuine taste of Vietnamese cookery, and the fresh pineapple at the end was welcome. As it was my birthday, the staff came out with a huge personalised birthday cake - a really nice gesture, as they must have prepared it whilst we were cooking.

As we had missed the boat trip to the island, Mo accompanied us on a boat back to Hoi An Old Town and arranged a taxi back to our hotel. She went out of her way to ensure we had a pleasant experience after the mix-up. Whilst our experience was not typical, we would definitely recommend the course for the excellent food, personal service and great experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TomSwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic cooking class! ”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Myself, my husband and my parents thoroughly enjoyed the half day cooking class. We were picked up from our hotel in a taxi and taken to meet 6 other people in our group before taking a walk around the market which was fascinating. The guide was very good at explaining what ingredients we needed as well as other interesting items at the market. We then took a 30 minute boat trip and a five minute narrow boat to the island - this was a really nice and relaxing part of the day. At the cooking school we were given some time to relax and have a few glasses of passion fruit juice. The chef was wonderful and we cooked four amazing dishes - they catered very well for vegetarians and non fish eaters too which was great. The class was very well organised and I liked that you ate each dish after it was made before making the next dish. We would thoroughly recommend this whilst in hoi an!

Helpful?
Thank MonkeyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cooking class in Hoi Ann”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Hi

We recently did the cooking class. Fantastic, well organised interesting dishes to cook small class 10 of us.

Markets were great then a 30 minute boat ride to the school. The last 5 min of the boat trip you transfer to a small banana boat which was fun.
As a chef by trade I was impressed. Only suggestion would be that they incorporate cooking school into their name as Thuan Than island doesn't reflect this.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JeskeK73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thuan Tinh Island also viewed

Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 
Hoi An, Quang Nam Province
 

Been to Thuan Tinh Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing