We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tan Phuong

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tan Phuong
Ranked #117 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not as bad as expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

The rooms were tidy and clean for the price we paid. After reading other reviews in regards to the manager we were very wary of him however he only tried to take us to his brother or cousins tailor shop once and there was no further talk of tailoring and pushing us into tours during our stay.

Breakfast was greasy, however was included in the room. But if able to get the room cheaper with no breakfast we would highly recommend this and go to the lady two doors down for yum pancakes.

All in all not a bad place considering the location and price. A reasonable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    14
    6
    12
See reviews for
4
16
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The staff are very pushy...constantly trying to sell you tours.
The manager is manipulative and nosy and often acts in an inappropriate way.

The food is greasy and dull.

Be careful what you tell the staff here..they are very indiscreet and will use it to embarass you.
Avoid this place like the plague!

Room Tip: Don't stay here...you'll regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alfred D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I am currently staying at Tan Phuong Hotel. Arrived there because my driver convienently dropped me there. I imagine there is some comission involved there. Even though I explained to them that I was looking for a room cheaper than $10 they wouldnt let me go. After 30 minutes, they decided to finally show me a $7 room, that's probably worth about 3. I am a backpacker so I don't mind too much, but the shower-toilet (understand squat toilet cubicle with shower on top, so you shower at the same place where you relieve yourself) is quite interesting. There was also a problem with the lights and instead of fixing it straight away, they tried again to sell me the $10 one. When I accepted the room, they harassed me at least 7 times in 10 minutes for me to give them my passport. Other annoying details including them charging me for using their phone even though the call lasted a minute, them advertising the free computers at the reception when only one works. When mentionned, they did not even care. And when I bought my bus through them, they tried to charge me more (when converting from dollars to dong, they nicely added a few mysterious thousands), but thankfully, I realised in time. The cleaners scream in the corridor at 7am. Finally only one plug socket works in the room (one completely comes off the wall!) so you have to choose between watching tv or using the fan. They are desperate and they dont even try to be nice to their customers. I think when I leave tomorrow, I will advise them to go and read their review on Trip Advisor

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froggyfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2012 via mobile

Well, accommodation is really expensive in Hoi An normally cause there are no real hostels. I found this place and they gave me a single room (big!) with a fan, private bathroom and a huge bed for 5 dollars. What was more to expect than a mouldy and dirty room? And that's what I got.
The man (the owner) is always trying to sell you trips and tickets, and he can hardly accept if you buy tickets anywhere else though you've got it cheaper. The woman and the girl speak really bad English, and when the owner is not at the hotel most of the day it gets difficult to communicate which is why I didn't buy my tickets from them. They use a bus company with bad ratings and many accidents in their scrapbook, and the girl told me that the internet lied, because it was the best company... That made her seem to be a really untrue person to me, so I didn't book anything.
They close the door outside at 10-11 pm so every night I came back home I had to yell and knock the door to wake up another old man who is working there and sleep in the reception every single night...
Well! If you don't mind to sleep in a mouldy place, a staff that's ALWAYS trying to get your money and never let you relax so that you have to wake up the angry receptionist every night to enter the hotel, this is a good hotel for a cheap price.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasper-Hz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orford, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012 via mobile

Rooms smell really bad and evrything is humid and full of mold... Even the head lamp and cushions were rotten!!

The bad room is very small and the rooms are on the small side also.

There is a fridge, TV and wifi in the room but go on Ba Trieu street just 5 minute walk from there closer to town and you'll find better hotels at same price (10$/night).

Don't let them charge you more for AC and stuff like this just pretend you leave and they will include it right away.

AVOID IT!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathlitalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2012

When we arrived 2 of our friends had booked in and were told $8 per night for the room. We asked for the same deal but were told due to them only having a big room available ( 3 double beds) that it would be $13. We managed to slightly bargain to pay $21 for 2 nights. At first the staff seemed friendly, however this changed when the next day we were told we had to move rooms or pay an extra $5. After numerous arguments with the manager and the lady working there trying to tell them we had agreed a price and that is what we are paying for the same room we didn't get anywhere. Normally I wouldn't mind changing rooms but I had a stomach bug which they showed no sympathy for . We found the staff severely lacking good customer service. This is the worst place we have stayed in since arriving in Asia 2 months ago.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RachandDan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

they have 1 key for the rooms on the left side of the hotel and another key for right side of the hotel, so any guest can open with same key half of the rooms in the hotel!!!!
we found out when we wanted to go to the room for which we paid in advance with the window. She gave us a key from the room next door without window, after asking her why later on she said: "I thought you will be ok with that!" not even asking us.
So thats how we found out that the same key fits in both rooms and after we tried on more rooms on different floors and it fitted too!!!!! Horrible!! No respect for guest at all. And also there is a regulation that they do not guarantee any loss or damage of ur staff and that if there some damage in the room u pay for it!! so if someone else with any key come to ur room and break tv in ur room, u pay for it!
When we showed her that they all played surprised but after all they said they wanted to fix it, but manager is in HCMC and other blabing.
after 20 mins they changed our room downstairs which is allegedly safer, bcs there is higher circulation of staff. we agreed and there was like tousand of mosquitos. Aweful!!! at least we had a 3D mosquito repellent spray so we could survive.
At the end like it was not enough they coloured my clothes, event though I told them to be carefull on my orange pants, they said yes but that was it, i got instead of white underwear, orange!
And I am still not done. we booked sleeping bus from Hoi An to Hanoi with specified beds. First of all, first bus was sitting bus, not sleeping, very bad one and in Hue we had to change for sleeping bus without any booked beds!!! I asked her 5 times to make sure!!! She lied 5 times to us!!!
NO other commment for that. Pls spend ur time somewhere else u will just get angry there....
Aweful, aweful, aweful!!!!!

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zubejda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
0.3 mi away
Thanh Binh I Hotel
Thanh Binh I Hotel
#124 of 140 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thanh Binh II Hotel
Thanh Binh II Hotel
#127 of 140 in Hoi An
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hoi An TNT Villa
Hoi An TNT Villa
#35 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#82 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoi An Travel Lodge Hotel
Hoi An Travel Lodge Hotel
#29 of 140 in Hoi An
4.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tan Phuong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tan Phuong

Property: Tan Phuong
Address: 209 Ly Thuong Kiet, Hoi An, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 140 Hotels in Hoi An
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Tan Phuong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing