We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once the sale is done the smile is gone!”
Review of Vinh Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vinh Huy Hotel
Ranked #139 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Once the sale is done the smile is gone!”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel is really far out. They say they offer a free shuttle from the bus station as the town is "too far to walk" and take you to their hotel. This hotel was actually in the other direction and ever further. The bus stop they point to on their map was different. But i was tired and need sleep after a long journey. It's an ok hotel and they do have a pool. And initially they are nice and helpful but once they've made their sale they are rude and done even look you in the eye.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyclaire80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    37
    31
    43
    95
See reviews for
8
81
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were walk in guests and then only stayed one night. The room was small and still ok but the bathroom was poor, looked dirty and broken. Moreover, there was a large Vent hole between ours and the bathroom next door and you could hear each other . The mini bar was locked closed, but we were asked several times if we've taken something and was not allowed to even leave the hotel until after that was reviewed by the staff. The tone is friendly, as long as there is the prospect of more money. The dollar exchange rate was devised so that it is better to pay in dollars. There are definitely better places for the money and less!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

After having been to this hotel we really start questioning the recommendations on lonely planet! Okay, the room was quite spacious and clean (except for the bathroom). It was cleaned up every day. The shower always had warm water, the water pressure was nice and the beds were really comfortable. So much for the good stuff.
The staff is the worst however! We totally agree with the other reviews below - you cannot get in or out of the hotel without being pestered by the receptionist. There are several ones who speak okay English, as soon as you ask a question which is not related to a trip they just pretend not to understand and will try to sell you their trips over and over again. Furthermore the tours they sell are more expensive then anywhere else! Do not buy anything from them! The bus ticket to Hue is 4$, which is the same price you pay elsewhere - however we would rather not like to even see the bus you would be put on for this price. There are great sleeper buses by the Sinh Tourist we would rather recommend. We did the My Son Sunrise (5am) tour by bus which they first tried to sell us for 10$. After we told her we found the same tour in a tourist office for just 8$ she first said that's impossible for her to do but then sold us the tour for 8$ after all. Later, when we had the breakfast (which was included) in the old town, we saw that this place sold the exact same tour for only 120,000 VND. Not quite the price she wanted us to pay.. As soon as we told her we would leave the next day and booked the ticket already, we were no longer of interest to her.. Customers are treated like cashcows, not "friends" as she likes to call everybody.

After this experience we will no longer rely on any hotel recommendations in the lonely planet (this was not our first disappointing experience with these recommendations, but still the worst of them all).

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street in the front (we stayed in 307) will have to deal with very loud music u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanuel_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

This is amongst the cheapest hotel u can find, but u will need a motorbike /bicycle to get around :)
however because Hoi An is such a beautiful place, you will forget the rotting room that u will go back to late at night ater a great time at the city....

Forgive and forget

otherwise, walk down to the next cheapest hotel

Room Tip: ask to view rooms first
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishaThow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
corringham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This hotel was the cheapest that we found after walking into around four in the town.
We have a big room with two double beds for $12. It has a basic TV, air con, fridge and fan, and has two windows so it's nice and light (room 307).
It looks far from the water and Japanese bridge, but the tow is only small and you can walk there in 10 mins, or hire a push bike for $1 right a cross the street and ride around the town, we did it everyday. The town is so nice with the ancient buildings!
We also got a good price from the hotel for our onward bus to Hue ($4).
I would stay here again.
Oh yeah, the hotel has a pool, it's inside buy the stairs, didn't look that clean but saw a couple of people in their and they seemed happy enough.
Also visit Cafe 43 around the corner, nice food, and dirt cheap beer!

Room Tip: 307 was nice, pretty quiet and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ha Noi, Ha Noi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I was a walk-in guest and stayed for 1 night. I have to say that the only good thing about the hotel is its staffs. They're quite helpful but not really professional.
However, the service is poor. Food are not really good. My room is quite small but that doesn't really matter. The thing that matters most is the AC was not working. I even had to sleep at my friend's room which was at the same hotel. I will not come back. The price is quite reasonable, but i'd rather spend more money to stay in a better hotel.
Also, it's quite far from the very center.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruongComga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is my first review on a hotel, but I feel an intense need to do it! We paid 14 dollars for a tiny room that smelled like it didn`t see a cleaner for a looong time (I really can`t see, where these fancy pictures above come from!). Furthermore we had loads of pubic hair on the reading lamp and in the messy fridge!!!
So much for the rooms, but the staff really beats it all. They were lying (told us wrong bus arrival so we would have to spend another night in case we missed it) and making up their own exchange rates. In the end we didn`t even trust them to leave our luggage in their storage after check out.
We were not alone with our troubles: On the morning of our check out we heard 3 different guests complaining about there rooms. one of them had six cockroaches in his room!
Altogether they seem to benefit from an excellent yet totally inexplicable lonely planet review which immediately has to be rewritten!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scherabon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#100 of 147 in Hoi An
190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#116 of 147 in Hoi An
185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuoc An Hotel
Phuoc An Hotel
#101 of 147 in Hoi An
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#91 of 147 in Hoi An
116 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trust Villa
Trust Villa
#95 of 147 in Hoi An
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hai Yen
Hotel Hai Yen
#110 of 147 in Hoi An
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Huy Hotel

Property: Vinh Huy Hotel
Address: 203 Ly Thuong Kiet, Hoi An 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 147 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
locates in the heart of hoi an city center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vinh Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing