We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO MANNY BETTER PLACES IN HOI AN!!!”
Review of Vinh Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vinh Huy Hotel
Ranked #142 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
celje
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“SO MANNY BETTER PLACES IN HOI AN!!!”
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Folowing Lonely planet recommandation was realy not a good decision in this case. The room was dirty, the sheets not changed, in the rainy night the water was comming into the room. The stuff of the hotel was kind just the first day and when after the first trip that we've bought in the hotel we didn't show any more interest, they radicaly changed their attitude. After 3 nights they directly said that they have no more room for us, so we have to find another hotel, wich was the best conclusion for us!! Their price wich is claimed as the cheapest in the town is far away from it. As soon as you take the breakfast which is not ioncluded in the price, you get to the price 21-22 $ for 2 persons - but there is plenty of other hotels for 18 $ per night, brerakfast included (for ex. Tranh Binh 1, Le Loi 1), or hotels with the same price of the room (15$) and incomparably better service - I would recomend Thien Trung Hotel (129 Tran Huang Dao) where the cheapest rooms are of this price, the beautiful self service breakfast is 2$ per person, there is a charming swiming pool and the staf is far away of the poushy attitude from Vinh Huy. Both hotels that I mention are closer to the town and much much better. So better avoid Vinh Huy!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jana040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    37
    31
    43
    97
See reviews for
8
82
29
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days. Cheap. Good service and advise very friendly staff. Hotel is small has i nice swimming pool. Good place in city. Rooms are big beds is soft. Staff gives adivse on where to shop

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Svendborg, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

Well! The hotel was a cheap choice for me, cause I wanted to relax in a single room without spending a lot of money. Yes they have a swimming pool, yes the cheapest single room is 11 dollars, yes it's close to the center, yes they try to sell their trips every single time.... But no it's not worth it, they have no service, they don't speak English very well which makes communication difficult. The problem is - they try to make it look like a pro hotel, but they haven't realized the importance of a computer system for bookings. Every time you make a deal about extending etc., they just write a note and throw it randomly on the table. I extended in that way and they didn't look at it before they booked my room for another traveller and told me to leave immidiately - unprofessional! I was a bad customer and didn't book their tours which was probably why I wasn't welcome...
The pool is nice though, but the rooms suck. A good friend of mine stayed here and told me the same about his room - what's else to expect of 11 dollars per night? Dust everywhere, room service only set your blankets right on the bed, but never dare to clean the room! Don't think they have ever heard about dust under a bed before!
Well, I stayed here two nights with a feeling of unknowing! I felt that no matter what I told them I would never be sure if they understood me.

A two star hotel is a two star hotel, but the service is definitely non existent!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasper-Hz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hoi An hotels

Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Havin travelled staying in very budget rooms I don't expect a lot but this place was a disappointment. Tiny room, unable to turn off the loud fan, very very damp, towels dirty, filthy floors, bedding had bird poo on, one dirty blanket as a cover, broken plug sockets and light switches, leaking sagging bathroom roof and the smell of the water out of the taps was awful, would rather spend a few more dollars staying somewhere else if I had known.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniellejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This hotel is really far out. They say they offer a free shuttle from the bus station as the town is "too far to walk" and take you to their hotel. This hotel was actually in the other direction and ever further. The bus stop they point to on their map was different. But i was tired and need sleep after a long journey. It's an ok hotel and they do have a pool. And initially they are nice and helpful but once they've made their sale they are rude and done even look you in the eye.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyclaire80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were walk in guests and then only stayed one night. The room was small and still ok but the bathroom was poor, looked dirty and broken. Moreover, there was a large Vent hole between ours and the bathroom next door and you could hear each other . The mini bar was locked closed, but we were asked several times if we've taken something and was not allowed to even leave the hotel until after that was reviewed by the staff. The tone is friendly, as long as there is the prospect of more money. The dollar exchange rate was devised so that it is better to pay in dollars. There are definitely better places for the money and less!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

After having been to this hotel we really start questioning the recommendations on lonely planet! Okay, the room was quite spacious and clean (except for the bathroom). It was cleaned up every day. The shower always had warm water, the water pressure was nice and the beds were really comfortable. So much for the good stuff.
The staff is the worst however! We totally agree with the other reviews below - you cannot get in or out of the hotel without being pestered by the receptionist. There are several ones who speak okay English, as soon as you ask a question which is not related to a trip they just pretend not to understand and will try to sell you their trips over and over again. Furthermore the tours they sell are more expensive then anywhere else! Do not buy anything from them! The bus ticket to Hue is 4$, which is the same price you pay elsewhere - however we would rather not like to even see the bus you would be put on for this price. There are great sleeper buses by the Sinh Tourist we would rather recommend. We did the My Son Sunrise (5am) tour by bus which they first tried to sell us for 10$. After we told her we found the same tour in a tourist office for just 8$ she first said that's impossible for her to do but then sold us the tour for 8$ after all. Later, when we had the breakfast (which was included) in the old town, we saw that this place sold the exact same tour for only 120,000 VND. Not quite the price she wanted us to pay.. As soon as we told her we would leave the next day and booked the ticket already, we were no longer of interest to her.. Customers are treated like cashcows, not "friends" as she likes to call everybody.

After this experience we will no longer rely on any hotel recommendations in the lonely planet (this was not our first disappointing experience with these recommendations, but still the worst of them all).

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street in the front (we stayed in 307) will have to deal with very loud music u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmanuel_HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hoi An hotels
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
Hoi An Lilac Hotel
#121 of 152 in Hoi An
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
Hoi An Viet House Homestay
#104 of 152 in Hoi An
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hoa Binh Hotel
Hoa Binh Hotel
#115 of 152 in Hoi An
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phuoc An Hotel
Phuoc An Hotel
#102 of 152 in Hoi An
184 reviews
1.6 mi away
Trust Villa
Trust Villa
#100 of 152 in Hoi An
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hoa My II Hotel
Hoa My II Hotel
#91 of 152 in Hoi An
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vinh Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vinh Huy Hotel

Property: Vinh Huy Hotel
Address: 203 Ly Thuong Kiet, Hoi An 0084, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Nam Province > Hoi An
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 152 Hotels in Hoi An
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Vinh Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Locates In The Heart Of Hoi An City Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vinh Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing